We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taproom was Excellent”
Review of Skyland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our server, Matthew, went above an beyond for us. He was friendly and attentive. He gave excellent recommendations based on what we like. He waited on us twice while we stayed and he always had a smile and was extremely pleasant. Live music is performed in the Taproom at night. Listening to music, drinking a beer, and snacking on some food was the perfect way to end the day in Shenandoah NP. Don't miss the blackberry ice cream pie!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,525 - 1,531 of 2,305 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Fantastic location! Rustic and clean - the cabins are the jewel that you should grab up. Great place to create memories. Our Family enjoyed it so much that no one wanted to leave. We will be going back one day soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife won a two night midweek vacation to Skyland at a BBQ Festival last fall there. Our expectations were tempered since we had never stayed at any resort/hotel/etc, that wasn't a national or regional chain. Skyland is run by Delaware North, a small company that operates "resorts" at many National Parks.

We arrived to check in at around 3pm. The lobby of the check in office was nice, quaint. It was all wood, had a small lounge with a big screen TV and a few soft chairs. We checked in and were handed actual keys, not keycards like is the norm in hospitality industry. We initially thought this could be a security issue. But, moving on. Our room was in the Pinnacle building which is located next to the main office. We had one of the lower units, no deck, but still great views. We were pleasantly surprised by the room, at first. Laminate wood floors, freshly painted, huge 50" HDTV, bathroom had vinyl tile floor, and marbled shower/tub. Beds looked nice, seemed soft on first sit. Wall mounted AC. Based on appearance alone, the resort would get 3-4 stars out of me.

However, after a few hours we started to find a lot of major issues with the property. We booked 2 queen beds(I'm a big guy), the beds were full size at best. The door only locked with a deadbolt, that had a few screws loose. There were several large gaps in between the door and the floor and the door frame. A ton of sunlight, and thus bugs could easily get in. I kept the room at around 66 degrees to attempt to keep the bugs out. It didn't work. After a hour or so in the room, I went to use the bathroom and found two sizable spiders in the tub. After killing them, I went back to lay on the bed(no comfortable chairs), and found two large fireants crawling up the wall. I got rid of them and we got ready to go to dinner.

The dinner was ok. It was free. She got the NY strip which was good, but not worth the normal $25 price, same with my trout dish. Beer was good, normal price for local craft stuff. Dining room was extremely hot though. The AC was broken as was the ADA lift. Back to our room. I found another group of ants on the wall, and a roach in the bathroom. I watched the Virginia baseball, and finally went to sleep feeling like leaving at around 1am. We tossed and turned ALL night. Slept maybe 2 hours woke up at 9am to be greeted by an earwig in the bathroom. My wife awoke to find she had killed some sort of large black insect in her sleep and had be laying on it all night. That was the last straw. We checked out a full day early. Upon leaving the manager asked why we were leaving early. I tried to explain it to her and she cut me off and ushered me out the door.

Overall, if you are visiting Shenandoah National Park, stay in Luray or Sperryville. Save your mind and your back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jjuva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We traveled to Shenandoah for the first time and stayed at Skyland Resort for the convenience and proximity to hiking trails. The family loved our stay, with comfortable rooms, on-site restaurant and cafe. The resort is not fancy, but very affordable for a lodge within a national park. We were impressed by the beauty of the park, and enjoyed several half-day hikes to waterfalls and mountaintop viewpoints. The staff was very pleasant and welcoming, the atmosphere very relaxed. Definitely worth a visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the first building near the office, which looks out over the valley and is a short walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We just stayed 2 nights in the Pinnacle Bldg. The bathrooms have been totally re -done and are fabulous. The mattress was past its prime. There were no drapes in the room--although they had rods for them. The venetian blinds didn't darken the room for a migraine sufferer. We found 4 large, live bugs and killed them with tissues. One of the bugs was in our bed linens. No fly swatter was in our room. After that we didn't want to walk around in the room without shoes on.

The dining room was awful. Since Delaware North Corporation has taken over-- menus have been changed completely.Old favorites are gone. Very little choices and very high prices. Only one type of steak on the menu. Breakfast has a buffet or order from the menu. We chose the latter. Everything on my plate was stone cold. Coffee was excellent. Server was hurried and rude. Noise was terrible and the handicap lift is still broken.

Gift shop is very limited. No paperback books to read.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had a nice suite which was a combination of two adjacent rooms. The cottage location was away and so felt like we were in the middle of forest. Interestingly the room had a fireplace with wood, lighter and matches but being summer we were unable to actually use it. All rooms had a beautiful valley vista view. The front office was helpful in moving our reservation over to this larger place since we're a group of 6 and wanted a room with a nice view though we were charged a small extra amount. Also got to see a nice view of the sunset in the evening.

Room Tip: Google maps could not locate the place instead took us to another place. Just follow the Skyland dri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Unfortunately work responsibilities required me to check in and work online everyday. Thank goodness we had booked a cabin at Skyland. No wireless and no TV. The most relaxing stay we had on our vacation. Yes, the cabin's are rustic. The beds lumpy and creaky. Shower tiny and old. The service at the restaurant was slow, but the food was good and plentiful. These are all things that made this the best stay of my vacation. If you're not expecting much, you'll be happy. And the bear strolling by in the morning while I was drinking coffee on the porch, was the cherry on top.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
6.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,004 reviews
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
6.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
20.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland

Address: Skyline Dr Mile 41.7, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range: £107 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Skyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing