We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful slice of nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skyland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyland
Certificate of Excellence
SC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a beautiful slice of nature!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a stop about mid way down Skyline Drive. We booked a regular room, but we were upgraded. Beautiful upstairs rooms with very nice touches. It also had a fabulous balcony facing the valley. Unfortunately we were socked in with fog the whole time we were there.
That too has its own beauty, being in the midst of the clouds floating by!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if available and second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMaySc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    856
    266
    92
    40
See reviews for
769
985
96
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (808)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The title says it best. We've stayed here numerous times in various rooms, and while this review will be specific to one room, this review will be typical of the resort. Travelers should understand that this is a resort in a National Park. You can expect a room that is quite dated, ours was in a cinder block building painted red, it was a bit musty, there were, and always are, crawling insects, caterpillars, and other non dangerous crawlers as found in all damp mountain cottages. You'll have to walk or drive to the restaurant, but again this is a national park setting. The old shower head is not up to standards, and the shower curtain will constantly blow inward to stick to you. The mattress is not the newest, but we did get a good nights sleep. There was a TV in the room, but it was at least 15 years old and not very good. One pet peeve is with the idiot group that planned, bought, installed, and approved the installation of the air conditioner. They installed it below the knee high window, blowing upward into a very heavy curtain. As a result, the window is cold, but the room is warm. You really can't leave the curtain open on ground floor rooms, because people walk right buy your large window when you are changing or sleeping. Only and idiot crew would approve of such an installation. Of course, the fix is simply to remove the curtain and install blinds that aren't in the way of the AC air flow. Ok, now that I've turned you off, remember that this is a beautiful national park stay, and yes we would and do return often. Do I wish someone would buy this resort and upgrade it the way it deserves? Yes, of course, but come to Skyland, enjoy, and just know what to expect. Above all, don't drive back down to some busy town in the valley to avoid these accommodations, just know what to expect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RangerBob204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Skyland twice, once in a room in the lodge and most recently in a cabin. We prefer the cabin for the privacy and the space. Our cabin had a bedroom with two twin beds and a bedroom with a double bed, joined in the center with a bathroom. Anyone choosing to stay in Skyland should be aware that lodging in a national park is intended to be rustic...no TV, no air conditioning and no phone in the rooms at Skyland. The rooms are simple and clean, and the view can't be beat. Skyland is a great location for hiking and horseback riding. The dining room is lovely and the gift shop has nice goodies to bring home. We love Skyland and would return in a heartbeat!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Beautiful nature, nice view, great Skyland Drive. Good Rangers programs for kids, gift shops.
Pony riding for kids, adults. Opportunity to buy food at shop at Big Meadows. Evening programs at tap rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calhoun, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our server, Matthew, went above an beyond for us. He was friendly and attentive. He gave excellent recommendations based on what we like. He waited on us twice while we stayed and he always had a smile and was extremely pleasant. Live music is performed in the Taproom at night. Listening to music, drinking a beer, and snacking on some food was the perfect way to end the day in Shenandoah NP. Don't miss the blackberry ice cream pie!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Fantastic location! Rustic and clean - the cabins are the jewel that you should grab up. Great place to create memories. Our Family enjoyed it so much that no one wanted to leave. We will be going back one day soon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My wife won a two night midweek vacation to Skyland at a BBQ Festival last fall there. Our expectations were tempered since we had never stayed at any resort/hotel/etc, that wasn't a national or regional chain. Skyland is run by Delaware North, a small company that operates "resorts" at many National Parks.

We arrived to check in at around 3pm. The lobby of the check in office was nice, quaint. It was all wood, had a small lounge with a big screen TV and a few soft chairs. We checked in and were handed actual keys, not keycards like is the norm in hospitality industry. We initially thought this could be a security issue. But, moving on. Our room was in the Pinnacle building which is located next to the main office. We had one of the lower units, no deck, but still great views. We were pleasantly surprised by the room, at first. Laminate wood floors, freshly painted, huge 50" HDTV, bathroom had vinyl tile floor, and marbled shower/tub. Beds looked nice, seemed soft on first sit. Wall mounted AC. Based on appearance alone, the resort would get 3-4 stars out of me.

However, after a few hours we started to find a lot of major issues with the property. We booked 2 queen beds(I'm a big guy), the beds were full size at best. The door only locked with a deadbolt, that had a few screws loose. There were several large gaps in between the door and the floor and the door frame. A ton of sunlight, and thus bugs could easily get in. I kept the room at around 66 degrees to attempt to keep the bugs out. It didn't work. After a hour or so in the room, I went to use the bathroom and found two sizable spiders in the tub. After killing them, I went back to lay on the bed(no comfortable chairs), and found two large fireants crawling up the wall. I got rid of them and we got ready to go to dinner.

The dinner was ok. It was free. She got the NY strip which was good, but not worth the normal $25 price, same with my trout dish. Beer was good, normal price for local craft stuff. Dining room was extremely hot though. The AC was broken as was the ADA lift. Back to our room. I found another group of ants on the wall, and a roach in the bathroom. I watched the Virginia baseball, and finally went to sleep feeling like leaving at around 1am. We tossed and turned ALL night. Slept maybe 2 hours woke up at 9am to be greeted by an earwig in the bathroom. My wife awoke to find she had killed some sort of large black insect in her sleep and had be laying on it all night. That was the last straw. We checked out a full day early. Upon leaving the manager asked why we were leaving early. I tried to explain it to her and she cut me off and ushered me out the door.

Overall, if you are visiting Shenandoah National Park, stay in Luray or Sperryville. Save your mind and your back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jjuva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
6.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland

Property: Skyland
Address: Skyline Dr Mile 41.7, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing