We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“26th anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Skyland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skyland
Certificate of Excellence
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“26th anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The reality is undergoing renovations, but is still an excellent get away. The staff does an excellent job even in the pouring rain. Recent changes in management companies are both good and bad. A great stop along the way or a quick get away. Nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawridr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    859
    266
    92
    40
See reviews for
772
992
96
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This resort was incredible. Views and wildlife were incredible. It is a great place to come and relax. You can go hiking and see some waterfalls. The wildlife was unbelievable. We saw deer and chipmunks. They came so close it was great.

Room Tip: A room overlooking valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first visit to Virginia & Skyland was our last stop on a road trip so we were looking to chill out before returning to the UK. This was just what we needed, we stayed in one of the cabins (Pine Grove) and had the rear portion of the property, which was fine for the 2 of us. Pine Grove was built in 1911 but isn't the oldest property, it had some modern amenities but still had that rustic & simple feel. The beds were very comfy & it was so quiet at night, partly because we couldn't figure out how the air-con worked or even if there was any but the nights were nice & fresh so we opened the windows & didn't miss the air-con at all. The shower cubicle was a little dated but clean and the shower pressure/temperature were just fine.

The setting is fantastic, although the cabin didn't have views directly across the valley they are never far away, and we did have a resident chipmunk that seemed to live just outside our door! And the lack of light pollution meant we spent time each night just star gazing from the chairs outside the cabin.

Check in/out went without a hitch, we didn't use the restaurant but did eat in the Mountain Tap room a couple of times & would certainly recommend the turkey burger. One 'must have' is a torch, this was essential for the walk back down the path from the Tap room to the cabin.

There are plenty of hikes to choose from, with a few starting within the Skyland area, the Stoney Man trail is well worth doing for the views and no too taxing. Others such as Dark Hollows Falls & Millers Head are a bit more tricky and a sturdy stick will help with some of the steeper & more uneven sections.

Overall this was a great way to unwind at the end of a busy trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneMc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed at Skyland this past weekend. I booked my trip very last minute and after reading reviews, I was a bit apprehensive about what my room would be like. I was very pleasantly surprised. I had a wonderful view of the valley, the bed was great, and room very clean. I think if you have noisy neighbors, it would be a bit loud as the soundproofing is not great between rooms, but I lucked out. I booked the Spectacular package and received $50 in food vouchers which came in very handy as I hadn't even thought about what to do for food.

The hikes the rangers recommended were great--my favorite was Rose River Falls. There are a great range of hikes in the park, but know that most start from Skyland drive so you will be walking downhill first and then uphill at the end.

I ate at the Taproom in the evening. The bartenders Matt and Eric are great guys--very funny and friendly even when things get really busy. The menu isn't huge, but it's fine...my favorite was the cheese plate--it's enough for 2 or 3! They have a small but good selection of beers on tap, and the nightly entertainment was a bonus.

This was my first trip to the park and I will definitely be going back--hopefully during fall foliage season.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the upper level rooms facing the valley for the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinityNYC301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I traveled here for a wedding with my girlfriend. Wonderful experience, and great views! Can't beat the accommodations in this area for the price! I loved the room (we stayed in Trout) and had an incredible experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_noteable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My first visit to Skyland and this particular area of the U.S. The resort setting was fantastic with some great vistas from the main lodge and cycling the skyline drive did not disappoint. The staff were friendly in all areas of the resort and worked hard to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as possible. If I were to visit again I would request one of the rooms with a view over the Shenandoah valley.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobsonsVelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Awesome natural beauty and rustic charm. Stayed in cabins 2 nights. It didn't bother me not having TV, but it bothered me not having Internet. Even the connection in the lodge was down half the time we were there. For that much money I would like a refrigerator and microwave. I was told you can rent a refrigerator for $11/night. Very comfortable and relaxing, except kids were kind of loud on the playground, and workers started making all kinds of racquet at 7:00 both mornings! Otherwise, I slept great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elysium816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shenandoah National Park
6.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skyland

Property: Skyland
Address: Skyline Dr Mile 41.7, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shenandoah National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Skyland 2*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skyland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skyland Resort Luray
Skyland Hotel Luray
Skyland Resort Virginia
Skyland Virginia
Skyland Resort Shenandoah
Luray Skyland Resort
Skyland Va

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing