We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
49
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ultima thule bush pilots unique experience my wife and i high expectations wrangell st each evening true wilderness an adventure the entire staff elias national park remote location sandwich daily excursions can't wait to go back claus paul
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

If you want to see the real wilderness Alaska, go to Ultima Thule. We set very high expectations for our trip and Ultima Thule exceeded them. This is a 5 star resort located in nature's most beautiful setting. The experience is unbelievable. The Ultima Thule family/staff are devoted to making your stay exceptional, and they succeed. The food, the cabin, the service, every detail was excellent. But the most incredible part of the trip is flying into a wilderness few people ever get to see. The bush pilots are some of the best in the world. Our pilot Steve created memories that we will never forget and experiences that we may never surpass. Thanks to everyone at Ultima Thule for the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBawcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

From the moment we were greeted by the Claus family and their team with a glass of bubbly we were made to feel completely at home. At first I had reservations about flying in small planes but these fears were immediately allayed after our first Super Cub flight with our exceptionally experienced pilots that literally take off and land absolutely anywhere.We were a group of 7 friends and our daily customised flights took us to places only fantasies are made of.
The comfortable, luxurious cabins and the wonderful home cooked meals were beyond expectation.The evening stories told by Paul were fascinating.
All in all this was truly an amazing experience and I can recommend this holiday to anyone looking for a wilderness flying/hiking/rafting/fishing experience. The Claus family and their team leave nothing unnoticed and create a truly exceptional environment.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Paul and Donna Klaus, and their family, are the most extraordinary hosts....you feel that you are arriving home when you return each day from a Super cub plane experience. The family from Ellie, Jay, Ben and Granny are at your service in the nicest possible way, giving a you stress-free holiday. The pilots take you to areas where possible no other man has set foot, and and you get a true sense of the wilderness.
This is an expensive experience, but worth every cent!!When you see where you are and how everything needs to come in by plane, one can understand that this is an amazing operation. There is absolutely nothing that goes unnoticed, and we felt privileged to share this experience with some truly good friends.
Don't even question not going, book it today, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All fabulous
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Full disclosure: I am a safari lodge owner in Africa and I paid full rate for my stay.
I have built, opened and operated over 60 luxury lodges across Africa and India but I have never in my 35 year career experienced a lodge such as Ultima Thule.
For starters it is as absolutely in the middle of nowhere as you can possibly get - and only accessible by air.
Everything is brought in by air - think generators, airplane fuel, propane gas, building materials, front end loader, tooth picks, tractors and more ... and the planes are small - an 8 seater being the biggest.
This is hardcore operating but the guest experience is sublime.
The Claus family welcomes guests into their home with arms open wide. It truly is their home but every guest touchpoint is perfect throughout the lodge: service, food, wine and accommodation - I could fault nothing.
And all out here in the deep Back Country of Alaska.
Ultima Thule's luxury comes from the following (it is pricey so guests do have high expectations):
High owner touch (what a blessed change from group owned establishments)
Just the right amount of everything- more would not seem right out here
Pristine wilderness with not another soul in sight - priceless
The natural beauty of Alaska is legendary but has to be on this list
Story telling by Paul Claus at every opportunity - huge, hair raising, hilarious, scary and all true ...
And then there is the flight seeing in Super Cubs. Now this has to be without equal anywhere in the world. Seven of us had four planes flown by extraordinary pilots. Remember these planes are made of plastic stretched over a steel frame and are hand started by pulling on the propeller. Then you fly amongst the snowy peaks, skimming glaciers, down through deep gorges and up up up again. Landing? No problem - anywhere the pilots decided.
Oh my, words fail me except two: please GO!

PS - and when you do please be sure to ask Paul how he was nearly done in by a grizzypede

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank NickyFitzKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

It's hard to put into words just how exceptional, magical and fun our adventure was with the Claus family at Ultima Thule Lodge. It's the definition of "luxury", in the sense that an experience like this is incredibly rare and we feel so lucky to have been able to stay at Ultima Thule.

Your daily excursions are customized to your taste - care to fly in a Super Cub and land on a glacier to hike and sled down it? Get picked up by the DeHavilland Otter after floating the Chitina River and learning how to pan for gold? (my 12 year old son's choice). Fishing? Wildlife spotting? It's all available to you. Truly, the 4 days of exploration we had at Ultima Thule are unmatched by anything we have ever done. Our 12 and 13 year olds thought it was, in their words, "mind-blowingly cool".

It's the stuff of fantasy for anyone who loves the outdoors and wants to experience Alaska and all it represents - wild, stunning and exhilarating. We felt so lucky to be able to spend time with true Alaskan adventurers in the pristine Wrangell- St. Elias National Park.

A generation ago, the Claus family had a dream to settle in this remote location and honed their skills as bush pilots, explorers and guides. Guests at Ultima Thule are the lucky beneficiaries of this dream, as the Claus family are our guides, hosts and friends in this magnificent setting. As a family, we loved seeing our kids embrace this spirit of adventure throughout our stay. Everyone at Ultima Thule is expert at their vocation - we loved flying with Paul, Steve and Loni and the planes are like "magic carpets" that open up this amazing landscape to you to explore.

The blend of exhilarating outings every day, jaw-dropping views when we stopped to set up fantastic picnic lunches, and the comfort of our lovely cabins is amazing, given that everything on site has to be brought in by plane. Despite being in such a remote location, there's no "roughing it" at Ultima Thule. The cabins are very well-appointed with everything you need, the hot tub and sauna are terrific and the lodge where meals are served is surrounded by a stunning perennial garden. Meals are outstanding, with the freshest ingredients and wonderful execution.

I truly can't say enough about this amazing experience. There are simply not enough stars to rate Ultima Thule. We can't wait to go back. Our family left inspired, moved and grateful for our time there.

Room Tip: Every cabin is charming - with only 12 guests at a time, you can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews