We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you don't like ants......”
Review of Zion Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zion Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“if you don't like ants......”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in a cabin. Woke up to find ants crawling over the work surface in what passesfor a kitchen. I even found them in my suitcase - not nice. This all follows on from the lady we first saw in reception who clearly sucks lemons regularly and has a helpful nature to match. The sheets in the cabin hadn't seen an iron, and this is the first hotel we've stayed in where this has happened. The rooms are tired and a fridge is desperately needed given the temperature in summer.

The upside is that the setting is beautiful. Sadly things go downhill after that. We won't be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy H, General Manager at Zion Lodge, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
I see your review and am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. I do wish that you would have had a warm welcome and that we could have provided a better experience during your time at Zion Lodge. We take your critique very seriously and will certainly strive to address and improve upon the concerns you noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    619
    143
    52
    14
See reviews for
611
890
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel room itself was ok, but the bathroom products dried out your skin. Although the hotel wasn't much to rave about, the location definitely was. There are stunning mountain views from the rooms. 7 Deer gathered in front of the lodge and ate by a tree. One even came up to the deck to eat! Breakfast was OK. Great Value

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed in cabin 520 which had plenty of room with a rustic western motif. Amenities included a hair dryer, soaps & lotions, Iron & ironing board, and a in-room safe. In one corner was a gas fireplace that I believe was actually the heater. It operated via a remote. We didn’t need a heater, so I never played around with it.

There was a coffee maker, but the coffee supplied must be the smallest portion of the cheapest coffee they could find on the face of the earth. It tasted like weak tea that had been filtered through an old gym sock. Absolutely vile stuff. For the price Xanterra charges for the cabin, you’d think they could provide something resembling coffee. My wife tried the tea and had a similar experience. We ended up tossing it all down the drain. This is penny pinching at its absolute worst.

The cabin had a desk for doing desk type things. However, it was right next to the air conditioner. When the A/C came on it was too cold to sit at the desk. Unfortunately it’s just the way the room was designed and I don’t see any solution to it. Just bring warm clothes if you plan to sit at the desk. For those with electronic gadgets, there were plenty of open outlets with easy accessibility.

There are no in-room refrigerators. Bring your cooler. Wifi was included and provided a good signal. No TV. And a nice feature was two sinks – one in the bathroom and one in the little room opposite. The porch boasted a bench for sitting and relaxing. The porch also boasted a soiled wash cloth apparently left by a maid. The wash cloth disappeared the next day, adding substantially to the overall ambience.

We ate dinner at the Red Rock Grill and found it to be quite good. Prices were a little high but not bad all things considered. The food in the café was simple fare but decent as well.

Lastly, something that mystified me was the landscaping around the cabins. I suppose there are two ways one could describe it. The generous way would be to call it natural. A less flattering way would be to simply state that the areas one might expect to find somewhat maintained are being completely overgrown with weeds. And there are lots of signs warning people to stay off and give the plants (weeds) a chance to grow. Really odd. If I were the facilities manager, replenishing the crushed rock, removing the weeds and planting a few attractive plants such as junipers would be high on my list. And to be fair, I’ll post a photo of the cabins and let readers form their own opinion of the current landscaping.

So would I recommend this lodge and stay there again? I don’t know. The location in the middle of the park is superb. But it certainly isn’t on a par with other National Park lodging we’ve stayed at. It seemed things were being done on the cheap, even though the lodging rates are high. I’ll give it three stars and leave it at that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillK1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Recently stayed one night in one of the cabins during our tour of the Southwest. Location can't be beat as it is awe-inspiring to come out of your little cabin and look straight up at gorgeous cliffs. After being at Bryce where we looked down at the canyon, it was very cool to be in the canyon at Zion looking up. Literally, a whole new vantage point.

Cabin itself was pretty tight quarters for four adults (parents and 2 college age "kids"). It's really a half a cabin as the other side is available to rent as well and there's a connecting door in between. With just two double beds in the part we'd rented, it was a cozy night's sleep to say the least. Very warm weather required us to use the AC, which was rather noisy, but certainly did the trick to make the cabin comfortable. Loved the convenience of walking across to hiking trails directly in front of our cabin. Also, the tram was a great way to zip around the park itself.

Dinner at the lodge's dining room was very good. All four of meals were excellent (steak, pork, pasta dishes). Wonderful desserts too (brownie sundaes, bread pudding)! Though I must admit my favorite was the yummy prickly pear juice and vodka drink!

We discovered the lovely little town at the other entrance (opposite the long tunnel we'd come in) on the day we were departing and were sad that we didn't have time to stop and visit. Looked like lots of cute shops and places to eat there too.

Staff at the Lodge were all wonderful, welcoming and very friendly. Big snack bar there as well. All and all a great location. I'd recommend renting both sides of the cabin (or connecting rooms, not sure what they call it) if you have a bigger family or if you are staying for more than a night or two. Otherwise, you will fill a bit cramped pretty quickly.

Room Tip: If you are more than 2 people, make sure you book adjoining cabin rooms. Too small otherwise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocoajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place is beautiful and the Lodge is the perfect place to sleep when you go to enjoy it. There is no TV, but a lovely bench to sit and stare at the beautiful rocks of the canyon. We loved this little place nestled in the beauty of Zion.

The room was a bit loud - we heard our neighbor's child all evening, but I'm sure they heard ours in the morning! Everything that goes on the bathroom area is shared with your neighbor.

There is plenty of space in teh little cabin - a little desk and two beds. I almost wish we'd been there in the winter to enjoy the little fireplace - I bet it's super cozy! Wonderful place that I'd go back to anytime :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pitterpat000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you really want to be in the middle of Zion National Park, this is your only choice, aside from the campground areas. Springdale UT is just outside of the south gates with plenty of motels and B&Bs. The park shuttle buses are there all of the time and it's easy to go up-canyon or down-canyon without worrying about where you're going to park. The cabins are laid out much like the ones at Grand Canyon North Rim, but these seem to have been updated more recently. The views are spectacular, the dining room is very good, and the staff friendly. There is a 'motel' section of the lodge which has televisions, but the cabins do not. And again, cell coverage is iffy.
Wi-Fi is available everywhere for free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Zion Lodge is without a doubt your best choice for lodging when visiting this park. The town of Springdale, just outside the park, has a lot of nice looking places to stay, but it's just not the same as staying on the property where you can enjoy the lodge and all that it has to offer. Also, staying at the lodge allows you the freedom of having your car with you and being able to move around the park at will. If you stay outside the park, you will have to depend entirely on the shuttle bus system (which is very good) to move you around.
We stayed in the main lodge and our room was very roomy, clean and well cared for. The beds were comfortable and all was quiet at night...great sleeping. We had a nice balcony with comfy rockers where we enjoyed coffee in the morning, wine in the evening and a beautiful view all the time.
The restaurant was lovely and the food was very good indeed (go early so you can enjoy sitting outside). Good food, good service and all in a beautiful setting. This too would be hard to manage if you were not staying at the lodge.
I'll not take up a lot of space on the park itself except to say it's a most beautiful place with hikes to satisfy everyone and hikes to challenge the most aggressive visitors as well. Loved it, but for us, two to three days was enough to see the highlights and wear us out.

Room Tip: We enjoyed an upstairs king suite. The best view is facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent-Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
4.4 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Lodge

Property: Zion Lodge
Address: PO Box 925, Zion National Park, UT 84767-0925
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Hotel Springdale
Zion Lodge Utah
Zion Utah
Lodge National Park Zion
Zion Lodge Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing