We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be”
Review of Zion Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zion Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
208 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The place to be”
Reviewed 20 July 2009

If you're considering visiting Zion Park, this is the place to be. the rooms are not extraordinary especially if u're in the back of the buidings with a back view. it's very dark. Except that, its walking distance to a wonderful experience in the park. The service in the restaurant is fantastic, the quality of the food is outstanding and reasonable. It's worth spending the additional 50$ to get the best.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fgoblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    626
    143
    52
    14
See reviews for
625
899
47
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Stayed for two days in June.

The hotel met my exact expectations. A no frills experience with great location and spartan amenities. Staff was very nice, rooms were clean but could have had better attention to detail.

I booked a room with A/C and definitely recommend a room with A/C during summer. Zion is not as high in the plateau as Grand Canyon and so can be hot. Opening the window is not an option as million of bugs will get in.

As for food, I strongly recommend you to bring your own. Food inside the park is not very good and the closest to highway robbery I've even been. It is shamelessly expensive.

High speed Internet worked surprisingly well, but sometimes a few feet to the right or left inside your room (or lodge) makes a big difference.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

I agree with the positive comments about the Zion Lodge in the other reviews, and I just wanted to add/emphasize a couple of comments and logistical details.

Beyond a room in the park, staying at the Zion Lodge is the only way you are able to bring and store your vehicle (and stuff) into the park itself. The tram service is very efficient, but does a layer of inconvenience and travel time.

It was so nice being able to come back to my room and crash during the day in between hikes etc. And It feels like you have the park to yourself in the mornings and evenings, which adds a lot to the overall experience of tranquility and getting away from it all. I definitely think the splurge is worth it in this case, especially if you're staying for 2 or more nights (allowing you to take full advantage of your room during the day.)

To reiterate: the lodge is truly "in" the park, and much of what makes Zion special can be experienced directly from or very near your room (e.g. much more than, say, Bryce Canyon Lodge which has no views of the canyon itself, is 100 yards away from the rim, etc. The Zion Lodge is more like staying in Yosemite Valley, without all the traffic.)

The front desk staff has a few experienced hands who are invaluable resources for information on hikes, trails etc. In general, the staff really wants to help, but I found that they needed prodding to get things done (room changes etc.)

They have recently (May 2009) installed WiFi in all the rooms and cabins, and my experience was that it worked flawlessly and was surprisingly fast.

The food in the Zion Lodge restaurant was consistently good (a pleasant surprise) for the 5 meals I ate there. The service, however, was all over the place (from friendly and efficient to laughably aloof and incompetent). Think summertime resort staffed by high school students....throw in some Eastern European language barriers.....add confusion about whether they are an upscale and exclusive or casual and welcoming -- and you get a sense of the dysfunction... :-)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonymoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

As we passed through Springdale, I thought that perhaps I had made the wrong choice for our group of four - Springdale looked so charming. After checking in to our adjoining motel-like rooms at Zion Lodge and looking at the view from our balconies, we knew we'd made the right decision. You pay for the privilege of staying inside the park and having the stunning peaks right at your doorstep...almost literally...The rooms themselves are very clean and comfortable. The lodge is just a short walk away and has the amenities that you need - a comfortable sitting area, restaurant, coffee bar, cafe, and gift shop. Deer were grazing on the lawn in front of the lodge in the evenings. Directly across the road is the trail up to the Emerald Pools. Tram service is right at the lodge - to the rest of the park or to Springdale. Be sure to have your reservation confirmation when you enter the park; you will be given a red permit for your car. Only those staying at the lodge can drive in during the summer. In comparing it to other national park lodges that we've had the privilege of stating at, I couldn't give Zion Lodge a five rating, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We've stayed 2 days at the Zion Lodge with our 2 girls (8 and 7) and we loved it. The motel room (2 queen bed) was clean and quiet, with a view of one of the mountains. Staying in the park is amazing, since you are right there at early morning as well as the sunset and the beautiful sky at night. We had dinner twice at the restaurant and the food exceeded our expectations (for a National Park). - Great salads, entrees that were fairly priced and of good preparation. - Overall, we were all very happy with our stay and time at Zion NP!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeattleResident9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Great location for anyone wanting to visit Zion National Park. Being able to drive part of the way into the park and not having to deal with the MAJOR parking and shuttle problems for those not staying at the lodge was the main benefit/highlight of this lodge. You still have to use the shuttle system once at the lodge, but clearing the visitor center parking bottleneck is a major plus.

Hotel room (Inn) itself was clean, well-appointed (no TV... which was fine), mild noise but not a real problem. Free wireless internet was an unexpected perk. Great view of the canyon from the porch. Still basically your average motel, just set in a great location.

Price paid - $159/night + tax.

Btw, if you want bottled water once in the park, you won't find any (part of Zion's "green" thing). You can refill your own water containers from several spigot points.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiddleTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
303 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

MAin advantage to staying at Zion Lodge is its location. In the canyon and closer to all hiking trails. However, almost $200 for a spartan cabin is a bit much. It was clean, had a telephone and WiFi but, of course, no TV. Just wish the lodges would give you the option of TV or not. Private autos can drive to the lodge if they have reservations but must park there and ride the trams, which really is not a problem and benefits the park so much. If you stay in Springdale, there is also a tram to ride into the park, so either way it's a tram ride to get where you want to eventually go. Zion is beautiful and, if you can put up with the number of people, a great place to get a bit closer to nature. Lodge has a full service restaurant that recommends (requires?) reservations for dinner (we didn't try it for dinner) as well as a casual cafe with mediocre food (we did try it). Got breakfast at the restaurant one AM which was surprisingly good and reasonably priced. Also, after some confusion, got a sack lunch to take on a hike. Had ordered, by telephone the night before, the sack lunch to be picked up the next morning. Next morning at breakfast, the restaurant knew nothing about it. But they did fix one with minimal delay so no big problem. If we were doing it again though, think we would try one of the spots in Springdale outside the park.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,112 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,825 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Lodge

Property: Zion Lodge
Address: PO Box 925, Zion National Park, UT 84767-0925
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zion Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Hotel Springdale
Zion Lodge Utah
Zion Utah
Lodge National Park Zion
Zion Lodge Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing