We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon Experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon, and what a wonderful experience we had. The manager, Michael, found us the perfect campsite with a gorgeous view. The receptionists at the front desk were friendly and helpful. The restaurant was delicious. The whole experience was memorable and we plan on coming back for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    252
    99
    69
    46
See reviews for
385
225
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'm torn on how to review this place. We came in an RV and got a spot which was one of the 'back in' spots. Bummer, but my husband backed in like a pro (it was a rental RV, we aren't used to this!). Most others were pull in spots. My In-Laws decided to splurge on a cabin because spending two weeks in an RV with 6 people, they wanted a little break.

So we spent $35'ish a night for an RV hookup and they spent $200 a night for a cabin.

Here are the cons:

- back in spot which wasn't level
- The sewage was FULL (eww!) so we couldn't connect and dump
- no maintenance for the sewer, they never came
- breakfast was bad for the in-laws - we didn't get it being in the RV hookup
- front desk were not up to standards (talking among themselves and not helping)
- Run down conditions in the bathroom, showers, and pool (more on this later)

Here are the pros:

- Beautiful place and views
- Bathrooms received maintenance after I noticed things breaking down
- So many activities for kids
- Short drive into Zion

I would completely come back here for a family vacation and do more pool time, hikes, ATVing, and spend a few nights not even leaving Ponderosa Ranch.

The first night I was a bit disgusted though. The bathroom sink faucets were broken, one soap dispenser didn't work, they have paper towels instead of dryers (save the trees!), the showers were slightly gross with hair clogging everything... As I mentioned above, the sewage was full and no one ever came out to empty it or apologize.

However, the next night I noticed that they fixed the faucets! The morning I walked up to go to the bathroom, the cleaning crew was scrubbing out the showers.

So I'm not sure if they need MORE OFTEN cleaning of the facilities or what? It's not cool when you notice that stuff though.

The pool was freezing but it was 90d out so the kids got used to it. They LOVED the slide. The pool walls were disgusting and there was notices up that they were fixing it but it was the beginning of summer. When will they fix it?

When we checked in, the guy was super helpful. He didn't seem to know anything about backing in, or helping us... but he was nice. The next morning there were three people up in front and the girl sitting there didn't seem bothered to raise her head and ask how she can help. My Mother in Law wasn't happy with it.

So for OUR price, it was great. I would come back. For $200 a night, maybe not. :) Really beautiful area though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My friend and I used the Livingsocial voucher at $119 for 2 nights including 4 activities vouchers for the cowboy cabin. I bought 1 voucher and my friend bought the 2nd = 4 nights at Zion Ponderosa. The check in process was quick and pleasant. The cowboy cabin consisted of 2 queen bunk beds and a pulled out couch. Pretty much better than expected. You will use shared restroom and showers (not a big problem for us on the first 2 days, but on the 2nd and 3rd day there were more guests so you might have to wait 30-45 mins for shower room availabilities). There is a continental breakfast included with your stay, however don't get too excited....the options are limited and most people won't considered this "continental". For our activities vouchers, you just need to go straight to the BARN and sign up for your desired activities. My friends and I paid $11 each to buy one more ticket to do the ATV 2 hrs drive (there is an option for 1 hr). It was pretty fun and allow for you to explore the other side of Zion.

Overall Zion Ponderosa Resort is a reasonable place to stay during the off season - I wouldn't recommend to stay here during Peak Summer Travels since I can foresee issues with too many guests. It is a lot cheaper than staying near the park, but you will need 30-40 mins drive from Zion Ponderosa to get to the Visitor Center - Zion National Park. I highly advise against driving to the resort late at night (after 9pm) because you will miss signs pointing to the resort (there is no lights on these paved road to the resort).

Room Tip: If you have any disabilities, request for your room to be near the restroom/bathroom upon reservatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Staff were polite, the cabin was clean and tidy but the place was run down. It's clearly not what we saw in the brochures. Only stayed one night and got a refund on the second after seeing the poor condition of the horses.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZionPonderosa, Public Relations Manager at Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Recently our wrangler rescued a horse from another location and is bringing it back to health, and this is one of the horses that was seen by this guest. We have spoken with the humane society about our methods for caring for our horses and they have assured us that we are doing a great job. They are well fed twice a day and are well taken care of.

We are a mountain ranch and not everything at our resort is flowers and curb and gutter. We have made additional recent efforts to enhance the grounds on the ranch, and to improve any worn items.

We appreciate feed-back and are always willing to make improvements where possible. As you can see by our overall rating, most of our guests are very pleased with their experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff here are super nice! Our rental home, "Sunrise," was fabulous. The activities we selected, horseback riding and ATV riding (twice) were absolutely spot-on. However, the place does need a clean-up. I have never been to a "resort" where so much of the operational aspects of the place are visible to guests. Staff housing, their ATV shop, extra wood storage for campfires, etc, need to be shielded from view of the guests. Having these things visible to guests makes the place look cluttered and unkempt. The restaurant was just "so-so." It was open for business, but service was slow, the food quality was low and to quote a restaurant worker, "we are out of everything." In fact, we ate in Orderville on our last night there. The road inside the resort needs work. Give me a month, and I could clean this place up to make it look more like a "resort."

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in a rental home called Escape to Zion and it was wonderful. We had a family reunion there and the house was big, beautiful and just perfect for all 12 of us! We did participate in some of the resort things - like the pool but is was early May and not really warm - the boys did skeet shooting that was fun - I am not really rating the resort but the home in which we stayed!! Hopefully we can come back in 10 years and stay again - the house can sleep 22 people!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun4running
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Everything about our experience was WONDERFUL. We initially wanted to stay in the RV park but there wasn't any availability. The reservation agent asked if we would like to be placed on their waiting list. We were. When it got closer to our arrival date and I didn't hear of a cancellation, I called and asked if it was possible for us to dry camp at their facility since our RV has a generator and is fully self-contained. They were able to accommodate us.

When we arrived a nice gentleman by the name of Hunter welcomed us at the entry. He escorted us to the Frontdesk and then to our dry camping area. Usually I don't remember people's names but I remembered Hunter's name because we kept seeing him and he always stopped and asked how we were doing. He was so friendly with our two boys.

We participated in the mini-golf as well as the zip line activities. Both were wonderful. The staff at the Activities Barn were so nice and sympathetic when my youngest son decided not to do the zip line.

In closing, I can't wait to go back and spend more time enjoying the resort and saying "Hi" to Hunter! What a great trip.

The Harhays.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.7 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Property: Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing