We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for tent campers.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, Ohio
2 reviews
“Not for tent campers.”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The pool and showerhouse were nice, but if you aren't spending the big bucks on a cabin or vacation home, find your accommodations elsewhere. The tent area seemed like an afterthought - A few sites crammed together under the light and noise of the huge showerhouse and pool area... and it cost 50 bucks for a family of 5 to tent camp. If you want to do anything other than swim, you paid even more (which to their credit I knew going into it). Our site became the walkway to the bathroom even while we were sitting at our table eating dinner. My tent was a glowing orb all night long from the showerhouse lights. They only had "community firepits" (which were actually charcoal grills), so sitting around the campfire in the evening with your family wasn't really possible. Zion Ponderosa is not a place to enjoy a camping experience while visiting Zion National Park. I should have either stayed in the park itself, or used Bryce as our base for visiting the area. Bryce was beautiful and had a great looking private campground (Ruby's) just outside the gate. Live and learn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    252
    99
    70
    46
See reviews for
385
225
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2010

I really want to like this place.

The GOOD: 1) location near Zion; 2) activities for pre-teens to enjoy (from ping pong, pool, swimming to more active stuff like horseback riding, cayoneering, etc); 3) the room (cabin suite for the space & air conditioning & private bathroom).
The BAD: 1) The food (we arrived around lunch time for early check in & the people checking us in were talking about "anything good back there?" - "uh, not really". Breakfast had days old biscuits; lunch buffet had stale chips for nachos & school-food hamburgers; and you eat with the staff, so I'm sure ZP doesn't want to offer anything too good, otherwise it'll hit their bottom line); 2) the service - if you call to reserve an activity, they transfer you to the "activity" barn, and they may transfer you too somebody else. I called 3-4 times to nail down horseback riding & canyoneering. I had to leave messages most of the time (during the day) & never got a call back. When I asked the difference between the 1 or 2 hour horseback ride vs. the 4 hour, the response was the 4 was longer and would see more - duh); 3) Location - with the tunnel closing at 8 pm between ZP and Zion park, you need to be done by then or you face a long detour.

To wrap up - if you bring your own food or don't mind high-school cafeteria buffets; and if you can give up some service quality for the location/activities, then you'll have a good time. It is a beautiful area after all. However, I wouldn't recommend it to a friend due to the issues above.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoutheastBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The staff was talented and they are doing what they love, resonable rates on the activities and found in person the adventure package much more straitforward then it appeared to be online, We loved the place and found it to be a great vacation for 3 kids 8,6 and 5 years old, loved the free yoga/pilates classes!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Our stay at ZPRS was what we needed after a long trek across the country. From an active couple's perspective; the ranch could not have been a better place to rest and relax before hitting the trails at Zion Natl Park. Michael, the ranch's manager, was knowledgeable extremely helpful (as was the rest of the staff) and went out of his way to answer questions and make suggestions. By the end of our weekend stay, we felt we left Zion with a few more friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gauchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fredericksburg, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed here in a motorhome and were quite disappointed. Although the pool is wonderful and the activities are fine for teenagers, there is very little for small children. The public bathrooms in the Activity Barn and restaurant area are dirty. The road in the entire camping area is unpaved and - with the wind always blowing - the park is really dusty all of the time. The buffet restaurant is disorganized and understaffed. The food at the buffet is subpar. To be fair, we didn't try the Bluebelly Grill (the fine dining restaurant on site) which looked OK. The summer help seem inexperienced and not overly concerned about customer service. Finally, if you want any flexibility (as most campers require due to moving around a lot) forget it! The 30 DAY cancellation policy is firm. If we ever camp here again, we would stay on the other side of Zion.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Zion Ponderosa Ranch exceeded our expectations in all areas. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We loved all of the activities and bonfires. The pool was beautiful and clean. Our dinner at the Blue Belly was great -- best filet I have ever had. We have been raving about our vacation since we got back home! Would highly recommend staying here if you are doing a National Park vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phelpsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Not exactly what I was expecting for the price. The pool is not open yet, and the only meals available are buffet at specified times only, at a fixed price. The other restaurants are not open for the season yet. Not much of a seating area in the "lodge." The front desk, gift shop, fireplace and seating area all run together. Not a place to sit and visit with other guests or enjoy a good book. I've traveled extensively both in the U.S. and abroad. Don't think I would recommend this or stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singletraveler22043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
4.7 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
8.1 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
8.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort

Property: Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort
Address: Twin Knolls Road, PO Box 5547, Zion National Park, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the top of Zion National Park amidst a forest of Ponderosa pine trees, Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort offers great lodging options; Vacation Homes, Cabins Suites, Cowboy Cabins, Western Wagons, and RV / Tent Campground. We offer excellent dining services at our Blue Belly Grill and Gus & Rosey's restaurants. We offer more activities on-property than any resort in the region, including horseback riding, jeep tours, zip line, climbing wall, canyoneering / hiking excursions, ATV tours, miniature golf, paint ball, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Ponderosa Hotel
Zion Ponderosa Resort
Zion Ponderosa Ranch Resort Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing