We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zion National Park South Campground”
Review of South Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zion National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
South Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Zion National Park South Campground”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Zion National Park South Campground is one of the nicest campgrounds I have ever seen in the world! The campground is just on the Virgin River and you have a great view on some red sandstone walls.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I've been to a handful of other national park campgrounds and was disappointed by cramped sardine sites where the snoring you hear might be your spouse or your neighbor a few feet away.

However, the South CG at Zion is pretty awesome for a Nat'l park campground. The sunrises and sunsets surrounding the campground are worth the price of admission alone. At night you hear the Virgin river roaring by. Cottonwoods fill the campground. Yes, you can see your neighbor's campsite, but the individual spaces are large. We had a space with large boulders for more ambience.

And right from the campground there are two great walks/hikes. The Pa'rus trail goes right thru the campground, up the canyon along the river to the Canyon shuttle stop; instead of walking to the shuttle stop, take this trail for a nice 30 minute stroll. The Watchman trail is a stunner, climbing three or four hundred feet up to a view north and west.

While I didn't visit Watchman Campground, the reserve only campground at Zion, it's location seemed odd, right across from the town of Springdale. The South campground is solidly in the park with amazing sights and sounds all around.

Room Tip: Like the host said a few posts ago, if you get here around 9am or so, you'll score a beautiful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dogbuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This camp made the score because of the surrounding towering cliff faces of Zion and wildlife. There are sites closer to a stream which are probably nicer.
There is little privacy and most sites are close together. But it's first come first serve and there are tons of deer that wander into camp. I sat both nights having dinner in the company of 5! baby deer.
Gets a bit windy at night but nothing serious.

Room Tip: Try getting a site on the outskirts by the stream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We have been volunteer campground hosts at Zion South campground since mid-June 2013. This is a first-come first-served campground. There is a nearly 75% turnover of sites every day. It is very important to come early (before 9 am) to find a site. Here are a few tips: find a site with no tag and nothing in the site. Make your tag and PUT SOMETHING in the site. The drop the fee envelope in the big canister at the entrance BEFORE you go hiking. This campground gets very heavy use due to the proximity of the beautiful Virgin River, the nearby visitor center, the excellent shuttle bus system, and the gorgeous hiking trails. The employees work really hard to keep the restrooms clean, and we work hard to help campers understand how important it is to preserve the native vegetation by not hanging things in the trees and not trampling the vegetation. We love Zion and want to help everyone appreciate and enjoy it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
51 Thank CHmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at South Campground. This was partially due to the fact that we got a corner site closer to the river that had a large tree for shade, but there were many nice spots in the campground. I enjoyed the irrigation canals that watered the many native plants and the proximity to the river and the shuttle that served the rest of the park. We brought a shade structure with us that was really nice to put our chairs and coolers under. Many lizards around which were fun to watch, but also lots of ants! Definitely bring chairs to get yourself off the ground, and make sure your coolers lock closed, or keep your food in the car as the squirrels can be very ambitious and fearless, haha. Overall a very nice place to stay in the heart of Zion canyon - come early to find a good spot!

Room Tip: Closer to the river the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LianaAulii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Without reservations, it is difficult to be too choosy. On the other hand, they could have given the spaces a tiny bit more room so you did not feel you were on top of your neighbor. The bathroom facilities were average as well and serviced many campers. On the whole? We were happy to be staying inside the park rather than the other campgrounds in Springdale. They looked far worse.

We did appreciate an 11am posting of campsites that were available. All that was asked is you cross it off the list if you decided to take it. Very civilized and it appeared campers adhered to this request.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This place is pretty large and crowded. Get there early in the morning to reserve a spot. They have water and restrooms. Camping in Zion is pretty limited so crowded is to be expected. It is by no means a miserable experience, it just simply "did the trick." The shuttle and visitor center is close by so it's easy to wake in the morning and then get your day of hiking started ASAP. Also, if you want to go into town it is a short 10 minute drive out of the park for whatever you need be it camping gear, food etc...
While you're there DO THE NARROWS hike. Rent yourself some water boots and a walking stick and take the first shuttle in the morning to get there way before the crowds. You will encounter them on your way out of The Narrows but going in you'll barely see anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
0.4 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,841 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#13 of 16 in Springdale
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,951 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Campground

Property: South Campground
Address: Zion National Park, UT
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offers 139 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
South Campground Hotel Zion National Park
South Campground Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing