We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero privacy”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zion National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watchman Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Zero privacy”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

The level of privacy similar to a New York City subway.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank GatoAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    126
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
98
108
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We enjoyed camping at Watchman Campground while we were in Zion National Park. I wish they would put in some showers, but there were nearby bathrooms (with no soap and an empty bottle of hand sanitizer sitting there). If fact, we were a little too close to the bathrooms. People from the group campsites were walking right next to our campground to get to them after we had already gone to bed. It was only annoying the first night though. Fewer people were using it as a walkway the next night. I must also say that the ground is extremely hard if you are sleeping in a tent. We didn't bring any additional padding besides an extra blanket, and we deeply regretted it and lost quite a bit of sleep due to discomfort. But, it is a well-maintained campground and we had no major complaints.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coulkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The sites in this campground are very close together, but the scenery is great and it is a short walk to the visitor center and Canyon and Springdale shuttles. The campground is under construction so we did not end up getting the site we reserved and were in a site with limited shade for much of the day. The new tent pad areas are gravel, which makes it a little hard to get tent stakes to stay in the ground.

The bathrooms are being replaced and are very nice. There is an ampitheater in the campground with evening programs. The park has water filling stations all over to avoid the use of plastic water bottles. They also have recycling containers for pretty much everything.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stacytina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We had reservations to stay in the new "D" loop of Watchman Campground, but unfortunately, the sites were not ready for us. Instead the rangers reserved two spots for us in the "B" loop. While it was not ideal that we were 500 yards from the street, it ended up being okay. We didn't spend much time at our site other than sleeping & eating and by night fall, much of the traffic supsided and only the vistor shuttles were on the road.

The toilets were very well maintained & I felt very safe letting our 5 year-old boys walk to the bathrooms alone (with our watchful eye on them). We did not have running water in the "B" loop sites, but there was a well by the restrooms.

Quiet time in the campground was from 10 p.m. to 8 a.m. and this was respected. The grounds were quiet each night by 9:30 and nobody really got started again until 9:00 in the morning.

The views were spectacular as was the wildlife! We had several very colorful birds visit our camp sites & at one point, we saw 4 does taking their daily trail through the site. We could have reached out and touched them.

This was our first trip to Zion and I couldn't have been more satisfied with our trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank JRMAZ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

1. Camped in the B Loop along the river. River was running high and we enjoyed listening to the river.
2. Sites B56 (not much shade) and B58 (more shade) afford the most privacy. Make sure to look at the map/photo before making reservations. B37 has a lot of privacy b/c of vegetation and it is in the middle of the loop. I did not view the other campground loops.
3. Since we camped in an RV, we liked the electric hookup.
4. No showers, but we had one in our RV.
5. Two water spigots and two dump sites at the campground (all in one location).
6. $20 per night was a great price!
7. Bathrooms flush toilets and sinks with cold water only. Typical National Park bathroom.
8. Very quiet after dark.
9. People friendly and pets were kept on leashes.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank joyinjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Great shade in the back row. There seemed to be fewer washrooms than normally in a National Park campground. Behind the trees that shaded our site were picturesque hills. It was quiet in the back row and the shade was a relief in the heat of the day. Close to town and the visitors center.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank heamars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Wish I had seen this website before we made our reservations. Happy camping!

http://picasaweb.google.com/parkcampsites.com

Sites are reserved at Reserveamerica.com

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
18 Thank southerngrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
0.3 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,073 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
4.0 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watchman Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watchman Campground

Property: Watchman Campground
Address: Watchman Campground Highway 89, C Loop, Zion National Park, UT 84737
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of 228 campsites with restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watchman Campground Hotel Zion National Park
Watchman Campground Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing