We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zion National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watchman Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This campground has a great location because it's right next to the visitors center where you can pick up the shuttle for the canyon. The downside as other people have stated is lack of shade for some sites and the ones in the middle are close together. Luckily I heard our neighbors talking about swimming. Down by the amphitheater there is access to the river, so that is where we cooled off. For $4 I walked outside to a store, bought a tube and the kids had a great time for hours. The bathrooms are old, but they are building new ones.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    135
    35
    8
    4
See reviews for
113
117
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Did tent camping in July. We reserved a site, but it didn't have shade, but we brought our own. We had just set up our tent and shade and wind and rain came, but we had not put in the stakes yet. Thankfully a couple of people came over to help hold stuff down in the wind while my husband and I held the tent until we got staked in. Too hot and weather was unpredictable to tent camp in July. Nice, newer bathrooms, loved having a sink to do dishes in!! We camped in the A loop and played in the river at sunset time with others trying to cool off.

Room Tip: make a reservation online
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights and most of our neighbors seemed to stay only one. If its summer and you get a full sun site - you are going to hate it. Temps were over 100 during our stay in early July. The camp sites are level. Fire danger was extreme so they were not allowing wood or charcoal fires. THERE ARE NO SHOWERS and the BATHROOMS are BASIC but looks like a new one is under construction. People were lined up to wash their hair and do their dishes at the pump outside the bathroom. So having said that, the location is really good and it is really cheap and you can walk to the river to swim and cool off. Also an easy walk over the bridge is an Imax type theater, adventure outfitter, and market - loved that!

Room Tip: We were in D loop - the furthest loop. it would be nicer to be in a loop closer to the visitor cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

It had been more than 20 years since our last trip to Zion. We were pleasantly surprised by the upgrades that have been made to this park. We were in the "A" loop of Watchman Campground. The sites are all large and level with plenty of room between them. Lots of trees and shrubs, too as well as a native plant restoration project that is ongoing. They have added electricity hookups to each of the sites in this loop. We camped here in a 5th wheel, so that was really handy. It's nice to be able to run your air conditioner without disturbing other campers with generator noise. There was a brand new bathroom in our loop. Zion has a fabulous, free shuttle service that is convenient to use. We'll go back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

This is one of the most scenic campsites ever! The canyon is spectacular with hiking trails within walking distance. Despite the 90+ degree weather it was quite pleasant and relatively quiet given the number of campsites. The only downside is there are no showers.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 12345jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We visited Zion National Park during a road-trip and stayed at the on-site Watchman Campground. The site is tucked behind the visitor centre at the Springdale side of Zion, but we entered through the stunning mountain road to the east which we'd definitely recommend for the views.

The campground's location puts it within an easy walk of the town, the visitor centre (including shops and cinema) and the Zion Bus stops which run free services into town and through the park's riverside drive (on which cars are not allowed). It is at the edge of the site, behind the visitor centre and car park so is nice and quiet, particularly compared to Zion's walk-in site which is nestled between the entry road and car park.

The pitches are on gravel with no chance of getting pegs in, but rocks are provided to hold everything down, and each pitch has a picnic area and fire pit. There could perhaps do with a bit more shade on hot days, but the site was tranquil and scenic, if not quite as private and spread out as other NPS sites. The restroom facilities are modern and clean so no complaints there, but the site has no shower block - something which came as a disappointment after a day of hiking in 90°+ temperatures.

The warden directed us to a place in Springdale which offered a pay shower at $5 a time, but when we drove up there in the morning, it was closed with nobody around. We drive out to the next private camp site and asked if we could pay for showers there, but were told this was not possible and directed back to the same place in Springdale, meaning no showers until we reached our next road-trip destination 170 miles later.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We drove from Bryce to Zion through the Carmel tunnel what a beautiful drive. The campground dosnt have as much shade as we had become accustomed to in fact sparse is the word. There are toilets but dont expect much, Gents= 2 sinks (cold water) 1 urinal and 1 toilet, Ladies= 2 sinks, 3 toilets but this for all of our area of 37ish campsites. there are other toilets but they are for the other loops! No where to wash up and they dont like you throwing the water on the land so you have to boil a kettle wash up and then carry the water to the toilets and either down the loo or by the standpipe. To be fair there is a building being built but not sure for what could be more toilets or maybe a shower block as there are NO showers on site at all!! If you want a shower you have to go to the local town and us ethe RV site or a cycle hie shops owner has a shower in his flat above the shop $7 for a shower!!! I think I may buy a log cabin and just put showers in and hire them out then retire!! Dont get me wrong the canyon and sorrounds are awesome. Go to the emerald pools really nice does get a little crowded so go early and you just have to do the narrows, take spare clothes as it get a little deep in places but we loved every minute. As others have said Springdale is a great little town with everything you could need, as for food shopping we found the Sol Market at the far end of town far better than the one by the park end more choice and real prices too. Theres a little internet cafe and if you use it outdoors with your own laptop its cheaper and you can use the power socket to charge it no charge, sorry no fee!!

Room Tip: if you want a shower have one before you get there as there are none in the campground. Get your foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
0.2 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,838 reviews
4.0 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watchman Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watchman Campground

Property: Watchman Campground
Address: Watchman Campground Highway 89, C Loop, Zion National Park, UT 84737
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of 228 campsites with restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watchman Campground Hotel Zion National Park
Watchman Campground Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing