We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zion campground was fun and clean.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zion National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watchman Campground
Certificate of Excellence
vegas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Zion campground was fun and clean.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

We went to Zion and camped in the watchman campsites. This was our second time and both times were fun. The campsites are large and not on top of each other and the bathrooms were clean. Not much more we need. The campground was very quiet and mostly rvs. It's a bit cold at night over spring break. It also costs 25 more per car to enter zion.

Zion park has some amazing views. They run a tram through there so you don't need to drive and have to park. We did a few trails each were fun and not too challenging for our young kids.

We stopped by the lodge cafe and grabbed a coffee. The prices there were not too bad if you need to grab a bite.

Good trip at a good campground.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptaker092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    126
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
98
108
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Watchman Campground is conveniently located near Springdale and Zion Canyon. On top of that, the view from the campground is great.
However, the sites are far from secluded and are arranged in a fairly compact manner. Noise from other sites is ever present.
Overall, I would recommend this campground as a base camp for exploring Zion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fontroy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Zion National Park is a pretty place. It reminds me of Marble Canyon of the Colorado River in Grand Canyon National Park. Of course, the only way to get to the bottom of Marble Canyon is to hike some darn tough trails for the better part of a day or commit to being on a raft for at least 5 days (both of which I highly recommend). The fact that you can drive right to Zion Canyon is no doubt why it is so popular. Unfortunately that also makes the place pretty crowded and touristy. Springdale reminds of similarly touristy places like Sedona or Moab. Lots of gift shops and mediocre restaurants (okay, there are some really good restaurants in Sedona). But back to the campground - NPS likes to pack people in like sardines. I know why they do this, their mission is, contrary to popular belief, not to protect these places, but rather to make these places accessible to a wide range of people and see that they have a good visitor experience (see Edward Abbey “Desert Solitaire”). Since the campgrounds are the most accessible part of NPS parks, this is where they really try and pack people in. We were in site A-16. It overlooks a very nice rest room and a parking lot. We often had people walk right through our camp. And I think this happens pretty much in whatever spot you are in, but probably more often if you are by the river as people are trying to get to the river. The Virgin River is the highlight of the campground, its beautiful and no one seemed into lounging on the beach when we were there on warm sunny days in early March, so we had the beach to ourselves right off of our campsite. The view of the Watchman and other mountains towering above you is tremendous also, and helps take the sting out of having so many neighbors. And our site had electricity, which is nice. But in general, I much prefer the less crowded campgrounds on USFS or BLM lands. These agencies have multiple use missions, and as such, usually structure their campgrounds to offer more privacy as opposed to trying to pack people in, and of course offer dispersed camping, non-existent on NPS lands. If I had it to do over again, I think we’d stay at the Cliffrose Lodge which is right across the river from the Watchman Campground. It looks very nice, has a nice pool, and all the same views and access to the park that the campground has. I think there are a number of nice lodges in Springdale as well. I think this would be a better experience than camping at this crowded park. Then again, as I said earlier there are very few places you can easily drive right to, camp, and have access to this kind of scenery. BLM lands around San Rafael Swell or Canyonlands NP are good bets though, if you are into exploring.

Room Tip: Book VERY early on recreation dot gov. The river sites are nice, but I think you might get a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fontroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

i caen in at dark worried that maybe I would be out of luck but even with only two loops open I had the run of the place. Spectacular place to wake up to. I picked a campsite away from the river with a clear view of the sky for my telescope. Súper.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank That_NASA_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were here in December, so it was freezing cold, and we were almost alone.
This camp site was the cheapest we were in on this trip (only 18$ per night), and possibly the most beautiful, as it is right inside the park, surrounded by the beautiful canyon that is Zion national Park.

Pros:
- Views. Beautiful doesnt do it justice
- Price - very cheap.
- Location - as I said - this is inside the park. Want to go for a Zion trail run as you wake up? no Problem!
- Clean

Cons:
- no showers
- ice cold water in bathrooms and dish washing station (very painful under freezing temperature)

Overall - if you can live without a shower for the night - this is a winner!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Yotam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Watchman Camp Ground and were really impressed with the overall cleanliness and easy access to the visitor's center/shuttles. The campground is the first right after you enter the park, just past the visitor's center. While a previous reviewer didn't like the hard gravel base in the camp sites, we really appreciated it because it kept down the dirt. We stayed in the tent-only "C" loop in space C-14. We were 2 spaces away from the almost-finished bathroom, which includes a utility sink outside for washing dishes/hair etc. We attended the Ranger program at 8pm in a really nice ampitheater that was excellent - there are well-lit trails to walk there. There are also nice trails to the visitor center/shuttle station. It only takes about 10 minutes to walk there from C loop. I've attached a photo - we had trees in the area just behind our camp site, and the sun didn't really get hot until after 9am (by which time we were off for the day exploring the park). There are group camping sites behind us - they weren't being used while we were there but it's something to be aware of due to potential noise. Also it can get windy in the evening - be sure to stake down your tent.The only negatives:
1.NO SHOWERS. The ranger told us there were 2 places in Springdale that had public showers, and one charged $5 for about 5 minutes. We just made do w/o, but if were staying longer than 2 nights it would have been a problem.
2. Yellow jackets - they came out for breakfast, and again for our steak dinner. They went away after dark, so we just ate late the 2nd night to avoid them.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SeattleOutdoorMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here two nights in separate locations; I found the group spaces better. When I had a single tent space, in the C loop, I was disappointed with the hard gravel base. Overall, nice views and enjoyed meeting friendly folks who run the grounds and camped here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mackey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
0.3 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
4.0 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watchman Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watchman Campground

Property: Watchman Campground
Address: Watchman Campground Highway 89, C Loop, Zion National Park, UT 84737
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of 228 campsites with restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watchman Campground Hotel Zion National Park
Watchman Campground Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing