We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mothers Day camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zion National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watchman Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Perfect Mothers Day camping”
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Spent 3 nights in loop D, tent only area (loop C is also tent only). We love it here. Camp ground is clean, has great views and all around great experience. There are clean bathrooms with running water & toilets, no showers. I found the camp ground to be very quiet. People seemed to respect the "quiet hours".The campground is a quick 2 minute walk to the Visitors Center and the shuttle stop. Also from Visitior Center you can walk out to the town of Springdale. This is area where the Zion movie is, groceries, and a few dining choices. You can also catch shuttle to Springdale. Zion is very well thought out and easy to get around. Know that they do not sell bottles of water in the park, so pack your own water bottle and fill it with the natural spring water at the filling stations.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Norgetroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    127
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
102
111
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We tent camped here for 3 nights. It was a lot warmer at night than round Escalante and Bryce and different scenery again, with more vegetation and towering rock faces. We camped in Loop D I think, it was tent campers only so did not hear any generators etc. The ptich was not huge but big enough for our large tent, truck and then space for us to picnic. The toilet was clean and had running water. The drinking water was nice and didn't have that funny chemical smell you sometimes get in the parks. Zion is a very popular park so the benefit of this camp is you can park your car here and make a quick walk to the visitor centre to catch the shuttle through the park (very frequent). Also, you can walk, or take the shuttle in the other direction to go out in Springdale which is a lovely town, with quaint shops and restaurants. (though a little pricey)
There was a little bit of noise at night, and music, which i think was coming from the kids on the group site, but you come to expect that in a tent so always travel with ear plugs!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We stayed in a site near the Virgin River for two nights. We were in an RV, so the lack of showers was not a big inconvenience for us. There was a dumpstation and the toilets were reasonably clean.

The kids loved finishing the day swimming in the river and later preparing the BBQ at the campsite. The view of the Watchman was a plus.

It has a good location near the Visitor Center and the Shuttle Bus stop.

If you are visiting Zion in an RV, this seems to be one of the best locations, specially because it accepts reservations.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromAuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in our tent. Unfortunately we booked so late we had to book 2 different sites and move our tent (not recommended!).

First night was in Loop C. Absolutely no privacy between sites, we had friendly neighbours so that was okay. There is a large field in the middle of the campsites - good for kids to run around/play ball.

Second night we stayed in the riverside site, this had power so the area was mostly RV's with a few tents. No problem with noise, but you couldn't actually see the river as there is a large mound of dirt all along. You have to climb up the mound to see the river, then you can walk along this, or go down the other side to have a swim. Didn't feel the extra money was worth it for a river site.

No showers as the NPS reservation site says. Most people seemed to just have a dip in the Virgin River. Mightly cold but was bearable in June. You can also bring a tube or hire one from Springdale and float down the river - this was great fun for us and the kids.

Location is superb, close to everything, beautiful scenery, saw deer/squirrels everywhere which kids loved.

Not my favourite US campground, mainly due to lack of showers and privacy, but was fine for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheAussieBeachBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We had a very good site, on the outside of the first loop. So we had no problems with noise or RV generators. Great views of the surrounding canyon walls. We liked that it was a 5 minute walk to the visitor center and 10 minutes to the big store in Springdale -- it was great for getting ice and supplies without having to drive anywhere. The shuttle worked out great.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Intheshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

This was the first of 5 campgrounds we stayed at over a ten day period and we were pleased we stayed here first, as this was only beaten by Grand Canyon Trailer park for lack of everything, no full hook up no pull thru, just tired and needing TLC. However if the emphasis is on back to nature and maintaining the 'earthiness' of the area, then I feel this is a poor excuse. However the views of the Watchman were unbeatable and the rest of the trip just got better and better. We stayed here 2 nites out of Vegas and were glad that is all. These NP just seem to have no competition and we're just glad they cant arrange the views...........

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My husband and I camped at Watchman Campground a few weeks ago. Out of the many NPS campgrounds that we've stayed in, this was BY FAR our least favorite. The noise within the campground was ridiculous. There was zero enforcement of the 10PM to 6 AM rule. We woke up multiple times between midnight and dawn due to car alarms going off, people shining their headlights on our tent at 2 AM so that they could find a suitable spot for their tent in the site next to us, drunken yelling at the site across from us, and the blowing up of air mattresses in both sites surrounding our tent. The noise lasted all night and we both were not able to get more than 2 hours of sleep. If you enjoy camping in a quiet place, then this is not the campground to book. If in the past you've enjoyed a good night of sleep on the floor of your local fraternity house, then this is the place for you.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mandj1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
0.3 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
4.0 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flanigan's Inn
Flanigan's Inn
#5 of 16 in Springdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watchman Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watchman Campground

Property: Watchman Campground
Address: Watchman Campground Highway 89, C Loop, Zion National Park, UT 84737
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of 228 campsites with restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Watchman Campground Hotel Zion National Park
Watchman Campground Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing