We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely easy 5 mile hike”
Review of Taylor Creek

Taylor Creek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic creek that flows through a secluded, shadowy canyon with steep, high, red cliffs offering an abundant variety of plant and animal life.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely easy 5 mile hike”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

After a strenuous previous day walking Angels Landing..the 40 min drive to Kolob Canyons and taking this quieter more remote trail was a great contrast. Lots of steps at the start, but then it's a straightforward hike, through beautiful Mesa crossing the stream numerous times ( it was not deep when I did this trail) with lovely views. ... And passing two 1930s cabins.... You eventually bump into the cliff face of a mountain...which is formed into a massive two arch amphitheatre......cool and inviting... And hopefully peaceful stop for lunch and photos ( I had a flute player and a rather loud conversation resounding doing my stop) .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    23
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lago Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
194 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Don't let the stairs at the beginning deter you....”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The most difficult part of the hike are the few stairs at the beginning of the trail, it is an easy trail 5 miles RT. We liked the trail more towards the end where the canyon narrows some. It is not far to drive here from the freeway but still is peaceful and quiet (the overlook trail down the road you can hear some traffic in the distance. An easy day hike, not much planning necessary.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lakechiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“We'll be back”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

While been in Utah for mainly hiking Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park, we discovered Kolob Canyon. It's a part of the Zion Park, but they are not connected. Kolob Canyon has it's own entrance on the north of the Zion. It is not as huge as Bryce and main Zion, but has amazing views and relatively easy hikes. Unfortunately we only partially hiked on Taylor Creek trail up to the Larson Cabin because it was getting late and we didn't want to be caught in the dark in the wilderness. It's one of the secluded trails - it was no one on the trail but us. Even guided hike from Zion does not allow groups more than 10 people on this trail not to disturb the nature. Round trip is 5 ml and takes 4 hours, but you definitely want to stop and meditate is some places. Fist part of the trail is very steep with the man-made steps. Middle part requires many (I've lost count) small creek crossings, it was very refreshing to be near the water. Taylor Creek ends up in unique double alcove formation and I think it worth to come back to. So it definitely on out next To Do List.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yelenaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the best side of Zion's”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We took our family of 6 up Taylor's Creek. IT WAS AWESOME. Our kids, 9,7,5 and 1 did great. The little one was in a child carrier backpack but the other kids had a blast exploring all the different areas along the trail. I was continually amazed at the scenery. Hiking up between two gigantic towers and all the different reds and oranges was truly amazing. On top of that the leaves are just about to drop so the colors were crazy awesome.

I highly recommend this hike and Kolob Canyon over the South/Spingdale side. There are little to no people on this side and you can drive up and down the canyon in your car versus taking the shuttle up and down on the other side.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cbarnes9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“5 minutes off the freeway and you're into incredible scenery”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My wife and I couldn't resist the increasing awesomeness of the Taylor Creek hike. The more you hike, the more fantastic the scenery. We ended up going all the way to the double arch alcove, which is where most people turn around and go back. It took us an hour and 45 minutes on the outbound leg, and an hour and twenty minutes on the return. There are a few spots where the trail is hard to find, or with 2 or 3 foot drop-offs, usually where the streambank and part of the trail has been eroded by high water, but if you pay attention, you can avoid ankle-sprains and stay on the trail. Getting lost is not a big problem, since the canyon is narrow and the trail is never very far from the stream.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blaze84093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taylor Creek also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 
Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Taylor Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing