We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go early”
Review of Observation Point

Observation Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This overlook provides a great view of southern Zion Canyon if you're willing to climb the 2200 feet of elevation to get there.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Go early”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We went at 630am in June. Start early and the hike up is not hot, elevation can take your breath away. Very peaceful, lots of deer and cute chipmunks. Wear good shoes and bring lots of water and sunscreen. Once your at the tops it's awesome. Way back did. Can hurt your toes prepare with good shoes. Hidden canyon a trail near bottom is okay not really worth your time tho... Nice hike. Go Early early early

Helpful?
1 Thank totterd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    43
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome hike”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hike to Observation Point was simply awesome. It isn't for everyone, but is a very rewarding hike for those who enjoy views and challenges. We are 61 & 62, in reasonably good shape (work out regularly), are stimulated by a challenge, and not disturbed by heights. It was work, take plenty of water and wear shoes meant for hiking, and you will be rewarded. We enjoyed the various folks we met along the way, and felt that it was a great part of our visit to Zion National Park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Top notch hike to the top of Zion”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We thought the hike to Observation Point was the best hike we took during three days in Zion. At 8 miles R/T and 2200' elevation gain, it's not for everyone. But the trail is very well constructed, the switchbacks are not as steep as they look from below, and the views reward your efforts. Like many others, we paused for a leisurely lunch at the point, fending off hungry squirrels, and taking way too many photos.

During spring, when we hiked, the wild flowers alone were worth the hike. Whenever you go, bring more water than you think you'll need. We found hiking poles to be helpful, especially on the final rough half mile section. They add confidence on the steeper sections, which are reasonably wide in most places. An early start will avoid the heat buildup in the afternoon, when you should be walking back, mostly downhill.

We can't recommend this hike too highly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RenoBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very strenuous but the view is worth it”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is one of the most strenuous day hikes in Zion, but the view is unbeatable. Even the spectacular Angel's Landing is viewable from the point. The hike starts at weeping rock and splits away from the East Rim trail. It is hot and steep, with daunting switchbacks you can see across the canyon from Angel's Landing. And it's long for a dayhike--8 miles. So bring plenty of sunscreen and water

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AeneasAtSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Strenuous but enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We only intended to walk to the slot canyons but kept on as the walk was so interesting and we had all the right gear and water with us. Took about 2 hours 20 mins for the ascent which included lots of photo and water stops. Up hill ALL the way across rocky terrain over steep paths, rocks etc. well worth the. Jew down the valley from the top. 2 hours to get down again including even more photo stops as the sun had moved and was lighting up the slot canyons. Definitely go early morning as it's a hot climb.

Helpful?
4 Thank AlitNorthamptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Observation Point also viewed

Zion National Park, UT
Zion National Park, UT
 

Been to Observation Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing