We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to get away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zion Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from it all”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Unfortunately, we stayed in Zion during the recent government shutdown, which closed the national parks while we were there. Fortunately, we were staying at Zion Mountain Ranch, and it helped us to still have a really great trip out there.

We stayed in one of the cabins that has a porch that looks out on the buffalo preserve. Nothing like sitting on your porch with a glass of wine and watching the buffalo roam by. The cabin was cozy - a good size for the two of us.

If you're looking for a place that gives you great TV reception and wifi in your room - this isn't the place for you. It would have been nice to have those amenities, but we found that it just didn't matter much.

The location is on the east side of the park entrance - which is away from the busier area of Springdale. You really have to drive through the switchbacks of zion to get to much, but we got used to it and just didn't drive it at night. If you want to be able to walk to a bunch of different shops and restaurants, you're better off staying in Springdale. But, we ended up eating in the restaurant at the ranch every night. The food was fantastic and they had some great wines as well. Everyone was friendly and we had a pleasant meal every time.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    276
    116
    56
    32
See reviews for
340
449
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary and rented one of the supposedly more upscale cabins. The setting is very serene and beautiful, with a large herd of buffalo roaming the field nearby, and numerous horses, ducks, chickens, etc on the property. We had never been to Zion before and were unfamiliar with how things are laid out. As a notice to anyone else who's never been in the area before: there are really no other restaurants/services for miles in either direction. There's a restaurant onsite (we ate there one night, and it was fairly good, but very expensive for what you got...$17 for an only average burger). There's a pizza joint about five miles down the highway, but we were told by someone working in the gift shop that they had closed early for the season due to lost business during the government shutdown. Other than that, it's either a 15 minute drive to Mt. Carmel Junction (with one very lousy diner with horrendous service), or a 30 minute drive through the park to the town of Springdale in the other direction (many good choices there). I enjoyed the quiet and relative expanse of space around the property, but should have done more research to see just how long it would take to get to anything else. Now, for the bad about the property: while I definitely love rustic accommodations and have no problem with trade-offs such as no cell service or poor TV reception, a place still needs to be clean. This place was most definitely not. While the log cabins are a nice touch and give a different feel than your average hotel room, there is innately more maintenance in keeping interior walls clean than with regular sheet rocked walls. The "nooks and crannies" created by the logs had not been cleaned in sometime. A fuzzy thick layer of dust was visible just about everywhere on the interior walls. Spider webs were in abundance as well (including a large dense web connecting the bed's headboard to the wall), and numerous spiders both alive and dead were found inside. However, the most unsanitary thing about the room was the bed. This place does not use the more modern method of triple sheeting, which allows for all linens to be washed between each guest. Instead there were standard sheets, a crocheted blanket, and a suede-like duvet (which appeared decorative, as in not supposed to be washed regularly). The duvet was downright disgusting. I lost count of how many thick, white crusty stains covered the inside and outside of this duvet. We shuddered to think of this thing touching us at all during the night, so we removed it from the bed and placed it in the corner of the room. The blanket had dark stains on it, but was somewhat shorter than the sheet under it, so we felt we could avoid having direct contact with it.
Despite really enjoying the property and beautiful views, I would likely not stay here again, unless significant updates were made to their housekeeping routine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunnyd_0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We spent four nights in a cabin facing the buffalo reserve. I loved the jacuzzi tub after a full day of hiking in Zion. It was wonderful sitting out on the porch watching the buffalo and at night looking at the stars. It is situated right outside the east entrance to Zion which was an ideal location for us. Felt very secluded and quiet. The gas stove kept the room a perfect temperature. We had kitchen facilities, but were told that they were taking them out of the smaller cabins and only the ones that slept 10 would continue to have them. I think that is a mistake because for us, having a small refrigerator and microwave was a big draw.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room facing the reserve. they are the most private and have the best view. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here during the government shutdown of the National Parks, which we didn't like much, but we really like our own little cabin! It was so quaint and comfortable, we loved having the little gas stove to heat it and it worked great even when it snowed! We loved the separate feeling and loved the chickens, ducks, horses and buffalo roaming the grounds. This was the highlight of our National Parks tour. Next time we'll hopefully have a chance to hike in Zion!

Room Tip: I'm sure they're all very nice, ours was perfect for the two of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent 2 nights in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom cabin with our traveling companions. Couldn't get into our cabin at the promised time.. Other guest hadn't checked out when we arrived at 2:00, so it was about 5:00 before we could check in. The view was very nice off of the back deck, had a good view if the horses & pasture where the buffalo stay.. We hit it at a bad time weather kept buffalo in the trees for the second day. The living room of the cabin was very small not enough seating for 4 adults. The cabin was nice & other than we couldn't all sit in living area well appointed. I liked the special soap in the tub area. The restaurant on site was pretentious & over priced. They recommended a reservation, which we made for an hour after we checked in, when we went back the person who took our reservation just an hour before greeted us and ask if we had a reservation, then acted like he couldn't find it! Not like the place was packed!!! That same person turned out to be our waiter too.. I dislike any menu that every dish had words that I didn't know the meaning of.. It was roasted chicken, just say that!!! We did get to see the campfire get started, that guy knew what he was doing, but was quickly put out by the light rain. We had dinner the next night at the Thunderbird, a few miles down the road..much cheaper more variety, good food. And I understood every word on the menu!!! The ho made
pies were delicious.. You need to go to read the history of the cafe & hotel. But I would recommend staying at Zion Mountain Ranch.It's an experience that is hard to beat!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macombsboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canandaigua, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in our ranch house! Room enough for four adults. Beds were very comfortable. Adequate heating with gas stove and another heater.
We had a nice front porch upon which we watched the sun set!
Restaurant was OK but pricey. I don't like feeling captive with only one choice for meals. Campfire at night was a nice touch. Shower curtain was broken but was replaced.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Located just outside the far end of the park away from town.

Use caution driving at night through the park, and regardless better by day when you can enjoy the views.

Breath taking sunset, vast open spaces.

Access to undeveloped wild west.

The cabins are super clean, the restaurant is romantic and cozy but I found fresher food outside in town, however the cobbler dessert was decadent perfection.

Without views of the buffalo our room was a bit depressing. The harsh dimming-light above the beds could be replaced by floor lamps or softer bulbs - but thats a minor detail.


  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianasotom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
8.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,916 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
11.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,115 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
11.0 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Mountain Ranch

Property: Zion Mountain Ranch
Address: 9065 East Highway 9, Zion National Park, UT
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Zion Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Mountain Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Mountain Ranch Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing