We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zion Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Appalling service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First day we returned to find they hadn’t made up the bed – because my wife had left a pyjama on it. So we made sure not to leave anything on the bed the next day. When we returned at 6pm that day, we found that they hadn’t made up anything in the room. The explanation? Housekeeping was too busy; but they would come right away... They finally arrived at 8pm

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    285
    121
    62
    32
See reviews for
361
453
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Temple, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed sunset over the park w buffalo racing across the pasture. Log cabin w modern features and very clean. Fridge, coffee maker, microwave and walk-in shower. Great location serves as base of operation for Zion, Bryce, Red Rock , Kodachrome and Petrified Forest (about one hour away). Great buffalo steak at lodge and okay breakfast buffet

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DocBobTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My husband and I booked the Canyon Rim Suite, which is considered a premier cabin and the only one on the entire site with a wood-burning fireplace, which is what we wanted. The decor was lovely, the cabin very roomy, the view beautiful, the grounds quiet and peaceful.

However, we were very disappointed in a few things. The dining experience, for starters. Since there are very few restaurants in this area, one is more or less a captive audience, and we expected more. The website presents an entirely different "picture" of what you have available as a guest. The on-site restaurant is called the Buffalo Grill, not Chez Bison, and sits on the roadside next to the lobby office, which required driving from our cabin. The website shows some lovely photos of "high-end" type dishes from the menu. Not true. This is a seriously CASUAL restaurant almost a picnic-style setting. There were only five items to choose from on the dinner menu, a couple of which involved bison. (bison burger and fries for dinner, for instance) And when I asked whether the menu changed daily, I was told no.

Next the room cleaning or lack thereof: On the first full day there, we had to go to the lobby at 5:30 to inquire why the room had not been tended to throughout the day while we were gone. We were told the staff was still out working in the rooms. During our four days there, never once was the soot and dirt from the fireplace cleaned up. Cleaning of the cabin was very basic. Additionally, we had to request more firewood be delivered to the room and a fire-starter or matches, things that should be tended to by the staff without our having to ask.

Any coffee lovers out there will be sorely disappointed with the coffee offered in the room. Horrible. Powdered creamer only. There is a coffee maker provided, but I would recommend bringing your own coffee and cream, etc., since there is a small refrigerator available.

All the above being said, we still enjoyed our stay because of its closeness to both the fabulous national Parks Zion and Bryce and the general beauty of the area, the animals, the quiet, etc.
The staff and people at Zion Mountain Ranch in both the lobby and restaurant were very nice. Things just did not live up to our standards for the money we paid.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I stayed there with my grandchildren, ages 6 and 10. They loved the Meadow View Cabin. They were able to see many bison, but also enjoyed the chickens as well as the baby chicks. The staff was very helpful and I have no complaints at all. I would stay there again if ever in the area. We went horseback riding the next morning. The guides were wonderful. The horses were gentle. It is definately the place to go if you are looking for a place for children that have not had experience riding horses and want to give it a try.

Room Tip: Just let the staff know what you are looking for, and they will be glad to accommodate you. I reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7979ARET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What an exquisitely beautiful setting! My husband and I had a cabin high on the ridge with romantic, panoramic views of sunrise over Meadow Creek Canyon. Our cabin was luxurious (loved the spa tub & sauna) with aromatic wood paneling in a majestic great room that opened onto a deck with the same awesome view. It was an enchanting and soothing escape after a full day of spectacular hiking along ridges, thru river washes and into slot canyons. Zion Park is only 15 minutes away but we also loved Red Canyon (on the way to Bryce) and The Grand Staircase.
We liked to have breakfast at the popular Café Soleil in Springdale and then end the day at the ranch’s Buffalo Grill. The grill’s atmosphere and staff are warm and friendly, the food is delicious, and you can’t beat a front-row seat for sunset over the buffalo pasture and adorable pony corral. We saw a comfortable mix of families and couples at the ranch taking horseback rides, hanging out at the fire pit and playing with the baby ducks and chicks in the gift shop. Thanks to Kevin, Tim, Brandon and all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband booked our cabin on-line and I saw pictures, but didn't really know what to expect.
We were surprised to see they had buffalo on the ranch. Our cabin had an unobstructed view of the buffalo herd and great views of Zion. Loved the front porch swing...we enjoyed our wine in the evening while watching the buffalo roam by. The interior of the cabin was very nice; loved the bathroom. The only issue we had (which wasn't a big deal), was the fact that the TV only had about 4 or 5 channels that worked...and 3 of those didn't come in clear. But, since we weren't in the room that much, it didn't really matter. the location is perfect for those visiting Zion.
We also enjoyed a horseback ride around the ranch. Staff was very friendly.
The restaurant offered a small menu, but what we did have (buffalo) was cooked perfectly.
The morning buffet was also very good. Overall we loved our stay and would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin#158. Perfect view of the ranch/buffalo herd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaT1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked our cabin on-line and had a basic idea of what to expect. Our friends assured us we would not see any buffalo. How wrong they were! The herd was feeding when we arrived. it was an amazing first impression. We booked the honeymoon cabin (#176). We tried to have a bath and ran out of hot water. I made the mistake of running both hot & cold. The second time I used only hot, and we did manage to have just enought hot water. We definitely will go back, but to a regular cabin. The views are incredible - so peaceful. It wasn't too busy in March, so we had few distractions. I haven't got to the best part, so hang on!. We went for a 2 hour trail ride which I recommend. Our trail boss, Braden, was great. around 5pm, we went back and helped him feed the buffalo! What a thrill. Of course, I had to pay close attention to them. I was on the back of the truck doling out the hay. At times my fingers were inches from their heads. The next day, we went back and did it again. Tim, who I believe is in charge of the animals was working alone, so I was alone feeding them. We went across the road & fed the horses, and learned a ton about animal care. We did day trips into Zion National park and Bryce National park, which was incredible, and definitely try the Bison steaks at the restaurant. We had to be very careful to avoid the deer on the road. Thanks to all the staff for giving us such a memorable adventure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
11.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
8.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,859 reviews
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
10.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Mountain Ranch

Property: Zion Mountain Ranch
Address: 9065 East Highway 9, Zion National Park, UT
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Zion Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Mountain Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Mountain Ranch Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing