We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly good with some quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zion Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
334 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Mostly good with some quirks”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in a Buffalo Vista cabin for 4 nights. Very quiet and beds comfortable, I liked the gas stove heater, cabin generally in good condition. The kitchen nook is helpful with microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. Windows in multiple directions allow a lot of light which is nice since some of these log cabin establishments can be quite dark. Quirks: no shower curtain liner so the water sprays all over the bathroom floor unless you put the cloth shower curtain inside the tub - which by the way is a shorter width than the tub so there is still water leakage, the log walls are not very clean - very dusty and with cobwebs though no spiders were seen. I noted a fly swatter is provided in the room - not sure that means there is a bug problem when it gets warmer, on a related note I noticed the window screen was broken so if the window is opened there is no screen to keep the pests out - not a problem when I was there with temps as low as 40s but not sure about when things warm up. In response to other TA reviews I would note a few things:
1. TV channels - we picked up a dozen or so stations DVD/VHS combination player in room. Who comes to Utah high country for TV anyway?
2. Beds - we found them comfortable and large (2 kings in cabin)
3. Wifi - they made no claims about wifi in cabins so we did not expect it, it is available free in lobby and in restaurant if you need it.
4. Housekeeping - came everyday and made bed and provided fresh towels, no issues. Even provided extra toiletries by request
5. Hot water - works well once you figure out their deal. Everything turns backwards. I started with barely lukewarm shower and thought "oh no here is what the TA reviewers experienced" but I realized if I turned it the opposite, counter-intuitive direction it got hot. Very hot - and plentiful. The sink hot and cold are backwards as well. Once you figure this out and it works fine.

So there are some quirks but it is still a luxurious cabin, roomy, quiet, and with sublime views. Very relaxing once you get yourself settled and situated. You may also consider location. I know about the location and understood it was a good 30 minute drive to the main Zion Canyon area, it also means you are a good 30 minutes or so closer to Bryce Canyon, as compared to establishments in Springdale, if you seek to go to Bryce. The 30 minute drive is quite spectular and dramatic, you could certainly stop and took lots of pics and scramble up the rocks and make the drive longer - 30 minutes to Zion Canyon and Springdale would be the minimum given road speeds and occasional waits at the tunnel entrance. The Thunderbird Lodge in Mount Carmel, only about 10 minutes east makes a handy breakfast alternative if you tire of eating breakfast on-property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    262
    113
    53
    32
See reviews for
326
427
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Ranch during Springbreak. Beautiful ranch and cabins. We reserved a 3-person cabin but were placed in a King cabin which accommodates only 2. We called and the receptionist immediately upgraded us to a 1-bedroom with separate living room. There are 2 pull-out bed in the living room, so we were very happy. The cabin has all light wood moldings inside and out. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub. There's a small kitchen with sink, microwave, coffee maker, small fridge, and china, but no stove. Very convenient and useful for family with kids. My teenage children had fun with the chicken and rabbits in the ranch. Buffalo Grills on-site is a small cozy restaurant with a very small and price menu.. Dinner entree is between $16-$30. Servings are in small portion but food was delicious and service was fantastic.

Down sides: furnitures were old. The pull out bed has old mattress that was falling apart, soft and badly indented in the middle. We didn't use it. TV didn't work, no cables, no phones, but we're not there for the latest technology, right? The Ranch has wi-fi but it wasn't advertised. I have Verizon 3G but could not get good connection and wasn't able to call the receptionist from my cabin. I had to just drive there instead.

We would stay there again definitely.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick a room that could accommodate all members in your party. Kids will love this plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcv179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Ok so Zion National Park is a must if you're nearby, talk about huge and awe inspiring. You probably want to stay at Zion Lodge if you can as you're right in the middle of it, but if like us, you can't, this is you're next best option. We were kinda bummed there were no buffalo anywhere near while we were there, but we did get snow! A complete surprise when we woke up, and so cool. The cabins themselves are lovely, toasty warm log cabins, rustic, nice comfy bed, big windows so good view. Food and restaurant were ok, they were understaffed when we were there. Cute ponies, ducks and hens right outside make for good photos.

Room Tip: Try get a cabin on edge of buffalo paddock for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank job1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Meadow View cabin across the street from the lobby and the Buffalo Grill. The air is so fresh that you will not mind walking around the ranch and enjoy the great scenery.

The staff were really helpful and friendly. We took a horse ride and our guide gave us good tips on hiking trails in Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks.

We also love the food at The Buffalo Grill. The bison steak was cooked to perfection and the breakfast buffet was so good! Pancakes, sausages, and yogurt were amazing.

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SayaQueenbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Zion Mountain Ranch the 2nd weekend in April, and loved it so much that we booked it again for May. I was really pleased with our cute little cabin, as well as the ranch itself. It was such a nice getaway from all the city lights, traffic and smog. We were able to relax on our cabin porch under a beautiful sky full of stars while listening to the wind blow calmly through the trees. Our next trip cant come soon enough.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tactical-Goat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First day we returned to find they hadn’t made up the bed – because my wife had left a pyjama on it. So we made sure not to leave anything on the bed the next day. When we returned at 6pm that day, we found that they hadn’t made up anything in the room. The explanation? Housekeeping was too busy; but they would come right away... They finally arrived at 8pm

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple, Tx
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed sunset over the park w buffalo racing across the pasture. Log cabin w modern features and very clean. Fridge, coffee maker, microwave and walk-in shower. Great location serves as base of operation for Zion, Bryce, Red Rock , Kodachrome and Petrified Forest (about one hour away). Great buffalo steak at lodge and okay breakfast buffet

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DocBobTemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
8.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 2 in Zion National Park
1,853 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#2 of 16 in Springdale
1,073 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,767 reviews
11.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites at Zion Park / Springdale
11.1 mi away
Quality Inn at Zion Park
Quality Inn at Zion Park
#12 of 16 in Springdale
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Mountain Ranch

Property: Zion Mountain Ranch
Address: 9065 East Highway 9, Zion National Park, UT
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelClick, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Zion Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Mountain Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Mountain Ranch Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing