We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zion Mountain Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in mid-May. If you are seeking something close to the park entrance, this is not for you. It is about a 30 min. drive east of the park through some of the most beautiful scenery you will ever encounter. Expect a delay at the tunnel as they clear oncoming traffic but even that should not deter you. Once at the Ranch you will be greeted by a friendly staff in a very quiet rustic setting. We reserved an accommodation overlooking the canyon behind the ranch. It was a huge two room cabin with a fireplace, dining table, kitchenette, 1 1/2 baths, and large bedroom. Outside was a big deck and your very own fire pit. The restaurant is good, not great, with decent food and quick friendly service for breakfast and dinner. There is a selection of craft beers and wine, no liquor. From the restaurant windows you can watch the roaming herd of buffalo or the many other animals on the grounds. All in all, if you want to be away from the noise and overcrowding of Springdale, enjoy a little family time in a private ranch setting, you will love it here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

The rooms are all individual cabins of quaint character. Well-built and clean they are not close together so there is a sense of privacy and the porch is delightful to sit and relax overlooking the ranch lands dotted with bison, chickens, which roam freely and horses. The front desk staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. The slight down side was the restaurant, which is immediately next door to the office. My dinner meal was just okay, but certainly edible. Breakfast was a disaster! Cold tea water, tepid breakfast sausages, skimpy scrambled egg, which was warm at best with zero flavor. I think the egg was scrambled on a flat top griddle with no butter, salt or pepper....dry and so tasteless they could possibly have been powdered eggs. Not sure. Spotty service, but friendly service. Not an exceptional place to stay, especially for the money, but decent.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual cabins and all are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catcat6327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Favorite of our daughters! Fell in love w/ Elvis (silkie chicken), ponies & newborn colt, horses, buffalo & ducks, so much fun. 2000+ acres: rolling hills & beauty. Cabin comfortable for us; we're not fancy folks. Huge king beds, very comfortable.

Really enjoyed horseback ride over the property. Boots & Ashley; very friendly.

Restaurant: interesting, too pricey for our budget.

4 miles to the park provides peace/quiet, but drive back/forth. Extra driving not as convenient as Springdale. Trade-off: peace or crowds/convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 573eileenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

For the price we paid , we were disappointed in the quality of the cabin we stayed in. A year ago we stayed in a similar "log cabin" Inn next to The Bad Lands National Park in So. Dakota which was very nice. Our cabin here was VERY basic and not well appointed. But...... the restaurant is VERY good. Had a wondeful meal and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: If all cabins are appointed the same - I would not recommend staying here. I am a retired VP of Hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We went here because of a friends pictures and comments on "BookFace" (as Boot called it - see below) were so impressive. What a pleasurable experience! We were only here for 3 days and truly had a wonderful time. The property has +/-30 units from 1 bedroom cottage to 3 bedroom homes horses, roosters, chickens and rabbits. There were also 51 Buffalo and 1 cow that roam the 2,000 acre property which are pretty much regularly within view from your cabin or the Restaurant. I was concerned about the reviews that were not too happy with the staff. To the contrary, we felt like we made some friends! They are not there to cater to your every whim, but were very down to earth and were very accommodating.

We expected basic accommodations yet they were a step above. The cabin was clean & comfortable. It had a nice big fridge with a tiny but adequate coffee maker. The cabin also has a nice gas fired wood stove style heater that took the edge off the brisk night air. The wall mounted air conditioner roared. One bar of cell service and wi-fi spotty in the room but reliable in the restaurant is a challenge. The TV service was from Dish Network with maybe 8 channels. I've now seen enough "Dinners Drive-Ins & Dives" for a while. The TV was also not at the foot of the bed which made it difficult to watch. Very satisfying views from the lovely little front porch with a bench swing, a little table for drinks and such would have been nice.

We did the 2 hr horseback trail and highly recommend it. Our guide's name was Boot (he said that was the name in his Birth Certificate). He was entertaining, knowledgeable and seemed as if he genuinely enjoyed the process. He was very service oriented. Oh and something we feel is very important when doing something like this is the temperament of the horses. Our trail horses were very well behaved and made the ride extremely enjoyable. One can tell that they are well cared for and like/respect Boot.

All the restaurants are in Springdale on the "other side" of the park. The road Park is about 13 miles long and it can take you 45+ minutes to transverse because of the winding mountain roads and the (sometimes) one way tunnel. So if you want to go to the restaurants "in town" plan accordingly. We went to the Buffalo Grill on property for Breakfast but not dinner. Breakfast was good and the wait staff was friendly/competent.

We are NOT wilderness, camping types. The area did not offer us a lot inline with our normal interests so 3 days was plenty. The park is impressive, the formations are impressive and the park system makes it easy to experience everything.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a great place to stay if you want to be away from the crowds because it is at the opposite end of the park from Springdale. No crowds, easy access to Zion park, private cabins, nice people. The only drawback is that the restaurant has a limited menu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHERYL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed in a Buffalo Vista cabin for 4 nights. Very quiet and beds comfortable, I liked the gas stove heater, cabin generally in good condition. The kitchen nook is helpful with microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. Windows in multiple directions allow a lot of light which is nice since some of these log cabin establishments can be quite dark. Quirks: no shower curtain liner so the water sprays all over the bathroom floor unless you put the cloth shower curtain inside the tub - which by the way is a shorter width than the tub so there is still water leakage, the log walls are not very clean - very dusty and with cobwebs though no spiders were seen. I noted a fly swatter is provided in the room - not sure that means there is a bug problem when it gets warmer, on a related note I noticed the window screen was broken so if the window is opened there is no screen to keep the pests out - not a problem when I was there with temps as low as 40s but not sure about when things warm up. In response to other TA reviews I would note a few things:
1. TV channels - we picked up a dozen or so stations DVD/VHS combination player in room. Who comes to Utah high country for TV anyway?
2. Beds - we found them comfortable and large (2 kings in cabin)
3. Wifi - they made no claims about wifi in cabins so we did not expect it, it is available free in lobby and in restaurant if you need it.
4. Housekeeping - came everyday and made bed and provided fresh towels, no issues. Even provided extra toiletries by request
5. Hot water - works well once you figure out their deal. Everything turns backwards. I started with barely lukewarm shower and thought "oh no here is what the TA reviewers experienced" but I realized if I turned it the opposite, counter-intuitive direction it got hot. Very hot - and plentiful. The sink hot and cold are backwards as well. Once you figure this out and it works fine.

So there are some quirks but it is still a luxurious cabin, roomy, quiet, and with sublime views. Very relaxing once you get yourself settled and situated. You may also consider location. I know about the location and understood it was a good 30 minute drive to the main Zion Canyon area, it also means you are a good 30 minutes or so closer to Bryce Canyon, as compared to establishments in Springdale, if you seek to go to Bryce. The 30 minute drive is quite spectular and dramatic, you could certainly stop and took lots of pics and scramble up the rocks and make the drive longer - 30 minutes to Zion Canyon and Springdale would be the minimum given road speeds and occasional waits at the tunnel entrance. The Thunderbird Lodge in Mount Carmel, only about 10 minutes east makes a handy breakfast alternative if you tire of eating breakfast on-property.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friendlyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zion National Park
8.6 mi away
Zion Lodge
Zion Lodge
#1 of 1 in Zion National Park
2,076 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springdale Zion National Park
11.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Springdale Zion National Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springdale - Zion Natl Pk Area
11 mi away
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
Cliffrose Lodge & Gardens
#4 of 16 in Springdale
1,961 reviews
10.9 mi away
Cable Mountain Lodge
Cable Mountain Lodge
#3 of 16 in Springdale
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zion Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zion Mountain Ranch

Address: 9065 East Highway 9, Zion National Park, UT
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Zion National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Zion National Park
Price Range: £99 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zion Mountain Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Zion Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zion Mountain Ranch Hotel Zion National Park
Zion Mountain Ranch Zion National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing