We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserved reputation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AJ's Diner

AJ's Diner
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Crossgar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Cuisines: Diner, Irish, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At AJ's Diner you will find something for everyone! Always fresh and always the best locally sourced ingredients teamed with fantastic service. For breakfast, lunch and dinner, we are here for you! We have a huge menu with breakfasts, fresh roast dinners every day, 28 day dry aged sirloin steaks, burgers, sandwiches, salads, seafood, chicken, starters and sweets. We've got it all! Everything is cooked to order. There's no such thing as frozen food at AJ's unless of course you are talking about the Maud's ice cream! You can even bring your own bottle of wine for our free corkage service! AJ's truly is famous for food! Our customers come from far and wide for delicious meals served in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere! We are the perfect choice for families and friends. No need to book! We have expanded our floor area twice to accommodate our customers and now are spread over two floors and three rooms so there's plenty of room for everyone! Having a bigger get together? Call us to book a private function. Nothing compares to AJ's Diner! Or in the words of our owner Alan as he plates up yet another culinary treat, "Sure where else would you get it?!"
Downpatrick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deserved reputation.”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Called in here for dinner friday evening. Place was jumping and this at 5pm. Fortunate to get a table right away. Service was outstanding as menus provided orders taken and large jug of iced water all sorted inside 15 minutes.The food did not disappoint, promptly served and perfectly cooked.All this and very competitive prices make this diner worth a visit. Many of local restaurants littered with award plaques could learn from A.J.s.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    50
    18
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth theWait”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Visited this establishment on Saturday pm about 8. Quite a queue, but when seated the staff were very efficient and pleasant and the food was good. Starters and desserts quite pricey, but good quantities all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanQueen3712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hearty portions - great food!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Staying in delamont country park camp site. They recommended here. Very satisfied. Arrived at half seven on a Wednesday night, very busy, which is a good sign. Seated quickly, fast efficient service and food was presented well, tasted great and good value for money. Kids roast of the day were large portions, well worth the £4.95 paid. Would recommend to anyone. They've a five star food rating too which is very hard to achieve. Well done aj's!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favourite eatery”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have dined in AJs Diner on a regular basis over a number of years and I have always enjoyed an excellent meal. If I dine elsewhere I always compare with AJs, and quite honestly, there is no comparison for value, quality, quantity, presentation, extensive menu, service, pleasant and efficient staff. The number of people dining in AJs on any day and at any time is recommendation in itself - the tables are only vacant for very short periods and, if it is necessary to queue on occasions, the food is worth the wait. Definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely hearty food, excellent value for money.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I adore this place and have been many times, I love that you can go there at any time and get an excellent quality 'sunday roast' type meal. Tried the Vegetable broth this evening for the first time and it was totally scrummy as well. My only bugbear is that you go up and pay at the till and its harder to leave the staff a tip like this, it would be good if they had a little tip jar on the counter as all the staff were lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AJ's Diner also viewed

Ballynahinch, County Down
 
Crossgar, Downpatrick
 
Crossgar, Downpatrick
Downpatrick, County Down
 

Been to AJ's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing