We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and close to home!”
Review of The Villager

The Villager
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Crossgar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$41
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Crossgar
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food and close to home!”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just had a magnificent lunch in the restaurant. Very welcoming staff and great service throughout our meal.
Menu was very reasonably priced and had a good selection. Food was presented well and plenty of it!!
We hadn't been in the restaurant for many years but we will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineAnnCrossgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    8
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co Down
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Went here on a Living Social Lunch Deal . Great service , very attentive waitress. Both starters were large in portion, my prawn cocktail could have had more Marie Rose sauce but the bang bang chicken was very tasty. We both had the steak sandwich which we both enjoyed. Definitely worth a visit. Decor is a bit tired but told the restaurant up stairs is worth trying. It is not always open.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great lunch”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

went to the villager for first time in 20 years on 30 th january.we were very pleasantly surprised with our meal.a lovely prawn cocktail for starters was packed with prawns,and sourdough to accompany was excellent.This was followed by steak sandwiches perfectly cooked medium,with salad & freshly cut chips.The steak was generously covered with bacon ,cheese.The whole meal was vey good indeed,with the friendly & attentive staff made eating at the villager a pleasure.We will certainly be back in the near future to try their evening weekend meals.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christina094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Slightly reluctant to go as we had heard bad reports about the food but must say we had a delicious meal and great service. Well worth a go and not over priced at all. Very friendly and helpful staff and compliments to the chef. He was not afraid to come out from the kitchen to get our feed back on our meal. Great to see a chef interested in his customers to often I've seen it being left to the service staff to take the feedback.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THE-DOWN-CLAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic food, fantastic service”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I recently had dinner in the Villager, located at the roundabout just as you enter the village when travelling from Belfast. Plenty of free, easy access parking at the rear.
We were both very happy with the food and the service (it's worth noting that we very rarely write reviews - but the Villager merits the effort).
Our intentions were to have main and desert - I ordered lamb and my wife ordered steak. Unfortunately they didn't have the lamb and suggested goat as a a possible alternative. However, they needed to check if the goat was still available. Note it was 8.30 in the evening, so of course there can be occasions when this happens.
After checking with the kitchen our server suggested fillet steak to share along with a bottle of Borsao red.
We were not disappointed!! Honestly one of the best steaks we've had in a very long time. A good size and absolutely melt in the mouth. A 'proper' portion of pepper sauce,
Garlic fries and champ.
For desert we had the panacotta and the brownie. Both were delicious! However the 'brownie' title doesn't do justice to the desert. Yes, it tastes rich and luxurious like a brownie but it has a light texture. Superb!
As for the service, it was like having our own personal butler. We weren't the only customers to be served and yet the service was personal.
We will be back very soon.... Must try the goat.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Villager also viewed

Crossgar, Downpatrick
 
Downpatrick, County Down
Killyleagh, County Down
 
Crossgar, Downpatrick
Strangford, County Down
 

Been to The Villager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing