We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure pleasure”
Review of Meringa Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meringa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pure pleasure”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have now been back to this delightful resort in winter and spring on several occasions. it is a best kept secret. sparklingly clean, comfortable, owners are friendly and go out of their way to make your experience restful and truly enjoyable. Everything there is tasteful, highest quality, beautifully designed and thoughtful, and designed to captivate the beautiful, inspiring vistas of the Grampians and facilitate an appreciate of the National Parks wildlife and bird life.

Room Tip: Villa unit was beautiful, with beautiful peaceful Grampians outlook. I have been back to stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salli W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We used the Grampians as a handy stop over between the Great Ocean Road and the Barossa valley- and I am so glad our agent suggested a 2 night stay. The scenery was stunning and there were lots of walks, waterfalls and lookout points- our only regret was that we could not explore the unsealed roads because of our hire car contract. Meringa Springs is a gorgeous boutique hotel- family owned and run. The rooms in the main building are very large and beautifully furnished and equipped- the bed was particularly comfortable and the room has full glass doors so we could sit and have our morning cup of tea with fresh air and a lovely view of a mob of Kangaroos.
There are also villas with a living room as well as a bedroom- but given how nice the main house rooms are I don't know if you need to pay the extra!
There is a beautiful infinity pool with sun loungers - water was fresh in May but swim able.
The restaurant was a highlight with all food prepared to order by mine host. Because this is a small hotel the choice was between 2 starters, 2 mains and 2 deserts rather than full a la carte .Great wine list and the food was very well presented.
Nothing was too much trouble for the owners- they were a mine of information on where to go,and lovely people to chat to over a glass or two after dinner!

Room Tip: All lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

This is most perfect boutique luxury accommodation in the Grampians and if not the region. I was one of I believe only 2 people able to get married there and my 2009 wedding was amazing, with guests constantly commenting on it being such a stunning outlook.

I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmenz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east anglia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was an amazing experience, waking up to Kangaroos on your patio.
The food was fantstic with Paul and his family taking great care of everything you could ask for
They are great cooks.
The place is an old farm which has been laid out to give the guests an experience of Australian wild life and is all set in a terrific landscape on the edge of the Grampian mountains.
the accommodation is 5 star in every respect and being able to swim with Kangaroos grazing only yards away, what more could anyone ask for

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank exfarmersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Huge attention to detail has gone into planning this accommodation, with everything from the sunken fireplace to the proper shoe-and-luggage storage area in the rooms to the remote-controlled pool cover designed with quality and comfort in mind. The owners are discreetly helpful, and great cooks, with Paul's Swiss origins coming through very strongly in the menu choices. The dining area and infinity pool are both set up to catch the best possible view of the stunning sunset over the mountains, and it's worth getting up in the middle of the night to step outside and gape at the wonder that is the Milky Way. A couple of small points for improvement: the pre-packaged individual jam portions strike a jarring note when everything else is local/freshly-prepared; and why do so many upmarket hotels use Molton Brown toiletries? - they look stylish, but really don't smell nice. (I realise that this makes me sound spoilt and pampered: if that's the biggest problem in my life I really can't complain).

Room Tip: Our rooms had wonderful double showers, but not the spa bath that others have spoken about - specify...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank underw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The lodge here was the best accommodation we experienced in Australia with a large double bedroom, huge bathroom with twin spa bath and twin shower and a sitting room. A beautiful wood floor and meticulously tilled bathroom with no expense spared on fitments gave a luxurious experience in a very rural location. It was delightful to wake to watch kangaroos from our villa in the ealy mornings and again in late afternoons. We also enjoyed the infinity pool in the late afternoons after energetic hikes during the day. Paul, Gail and Bea made us very welcome advising on places to visit, walks and their wine list. Dinners were good but lacked choice and variety whilst the simple addition of a choice of cooked eggs would have made a big difference to nice breakfasts. It is a rural area and pretty isolated and a drive to other restaurants, however for a short stay the food was good.

Room Tip: The villas are superb and have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Location, setting, welcome, service and accommodation are all excellent, but dinner and breakfast are not up to the same high standard. The Hotel is secluded with bar, restaurant, swimming pool and guest rooms making the most of the stunning outlook with dusk kangaroo spotting and sunset wonderful. Our villa room was vast as described by other visitors and spotlessly clean. The family could not have been more helpful with suggestions for our daily walking and visit activities. Eating out is really not an option given the distance to the nearest towns and dinner choices are required in the morning to assist catering. Dinner is simple home cooking; good quality and tasty, but prices were more in line with City Centre Melbourne restaurants and breakfast was really quite basic and overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PASP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wartook
11.8 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
12.0 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Asses Ears Wilderness Lodge
10.1 mi away
Marwood Villas
Marwood Villas
#8 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
11.4 mi away
DULC Cabins
DULC Cabins
#5 of 42 in Halls Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meringa Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meringa Springs

Property: Meringa Springs
Address: 2974 Northern Grampians Rd | Wartook Valley, Wartook, Victoria 3401, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Wartook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Wartook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meringa Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meringa Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing