We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely seaside location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
OMZ Olas de Matanzas
Ranked #1 of 4 Matanzas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed in a hotel room (not a cabana) & thought it a good size, nicely decorated, with a large bed & a private sun-deck looking out to sea.
The staff were very friendly, welcoming & helpful right from our arrival. They sorted out a couple of niggles with our room (room-safe & plumbing) immediately.
We opted for the half-board option and were pleased we did. Breakfasts always began with cake! But eggs, ham, cheese & fruit follow. Dinner was excellent. You can chose two courses from their menu, and it includes a Pisco Sour to start, water & a glass of wine, and coffee to finish. All with a beautiful sunset view.
The hotel has convenient parking at a place where public parking is at a premium at busy times.
OMZ has a small zoo for kids, horse-riding, and a tennis court (you can borrow rackets & balls).
The beach is right there, and easy to take a morning/evening stroll once the crowds have gone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Electra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

This place is incredible. The location, the facilities, the superb attention, and the majestic views will make this vacation unforgettable. Also, if you enjoy surf, kite surf, or windsurf you will not got wrong going to Matanzas. We stayed in the hotel, but you can also rent a cottage. All of the rooms in the hotel have ocean view,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cuky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is the perfect weekend getaway from Santiago. I can not say enough good things about Olas de Matanzas.

The view from the room is spectacular, and every room is clean, modernly designed and has a very comfortable bed. The hotel is walking distance from the beach and also offers surfing classes, horse back riding and other activities.

The breakfast in the morning is delicoius, with fresh fruit, bread, eggs, ham, coffee and some fresh baked pie.

The management at the hotel was incredibly nice, allowing us to do a late check-out on Sunday at 4 in the afternoon. We also saw them delivering roses to a newlywed couple that was staying in the hotel.

This is a place to escape for the weekend and disconnect. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Just 2 hours from Santiago - Matanzas is a breathaking beach hamlet - with majestic views and a kite surfers paradise. Whats better - is that its only just developing - but very chilled. Olas Matanzas - on the elevated north end of the beach - has stunning views and the best lodging it town. Christian - an affable local - runs a professional, attentive team in the restuarant - and my wife an I found all the staff to be kind, thoughtful and professional. An real jewel in Chile's varied landscape - and a very pleasant cruise from the Capital.

Room Tip: Ask for the top (second floor) - for a little more elevation - but each room has stunning 200 degree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jovoyvanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Just back from a Chile Trip, where we stayed 9 days at the OMZ.
The hotel is brand and has very nice rooms with a perfect view, very friendly personal and a good restaurant.
You can also book bungalows (2-6 persons i think), they are even more beautiful situated than the hotel. The whole facility has a perfect location with views over the whole bay. You can also use a campsite if you want.

The facility is protected from the wind but it are only some meters down to the beach, no problem to carry the surf gear from the hotel to the beach. Now in October it was very quiet, during the week we were the only guests. On the weekends and in high season it will be busier, so you should do a reservation.

It's not a cheap place but worth its price. I would again chose the OMZ if i come back to Chile.

Room Tip: All rooms in the hotel have basically the same view. Bungalows are situated even more nicely with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Armin_F_Tirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We visited Matanzas and stayed 2 nights at OMZ. It was a little confusing booking our room, but once we arrived it was amazing. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The hotel room is very modern with a wonderful view to the ocean. We walked miles on the beach, collected seashells and had delicious dinners/breakfasts in the new restaurant on property.

Room Tip: Loved the hotel but the cottages also have hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashvilleExplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I Have been windsurfing in that spot all my life, and I can assure you that is unique!!! Such a cosy small village with just friendly people and nice vibe. I stayed in OMZ when it was just a camping site, but now it has supperb accomodation. I recomend you to book ahead, since usually is overbooked.

Matanza has a left wave which runs for about 100 mts. During the Spring/Summer (Nov-Mar) you can windsurf almost every day. Moreover, you have like 4 different spots withing 15 minutes drive. For Kitesurfing is also an incredible spot.

Come to Chile!!!!

Room Tip: Cabins are exceptional!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pirinolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matanzas
2.6 mi away
Cabanas Bosques de Matanzas
0.2 mi away
Alba Hotel Boutique
Alba Hotel Boutique
#3 of 4 in Matanzas
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entre Rocas De Matanzas
Entre Rocas De Matanzas
#5 of 6 in Matanzas
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Don Mario
#4 of 4 in Matanzas
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque
Hostal Del Bosque
#3 of 6 in Matanzas
1 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabanas Dunas de Pupuya
Cabanas Dunas de Pupuya
#2 of 6 in Navidad
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OMZ Olas de Matanzas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OMZ Olas de Matanzas

Address: Fundo San Luis Lagunillas s/n, Matanzas 3230000, Chile
Region: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Matanzas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Matanzas
Price Range: £144 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to OMZ, Olas de Matanzas, a comprehensive turistic center set in a privileged place for sports, enjoy the sea and the connection with nature. With a relaxed and cosmopolitan environment, an active and recreational concept that promotes a safe space to share with family or with friends away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A place where children have a space that allows them to learn and obtein healthy entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your OMZ Olas de Matanzas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing