We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view, nice cabanas which would need a new coat of paint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
OMZ Olas de Matanzas
Ranked #1 of 3 Matanzas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing view, nice cabanas which would need a new coat of paint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

It is the second time in two years that we have stayed at the cabanas "Olas de Matanzas" and we enjoyed it, once again.

In two years the little village of Matanzas has developed quite a bit. Whereas two years ago there was literally nothing but the beach, the Hotel Surazo, the cabanas Olas de Matanzas and lots of surfers, there is now a small paved area with a parking lot and a small "caleta" with little shops and restaurants as well as more summer residences . There are more people at the beach (still as windy and chilly) of Matanzas itself, but if you cross the dune, there is hardly anybody.

Our cabana was still as comfortable and rather well equipped, but it would need a new coat of paint. The service was very good. The staff was nice and smiling. The cleaning ladies came once per day por the general cleaning and for the exchange of towels and another time, to wash the dishes. The overall cleanliness of the cabanas was good, though a little superficial. We were not happy at all, though, about the cleanliness of the premises in general. The sandy areas around the cabanas as well as the kids' playground of the complex were full of cigarette butts which were steadily renewed by the other guests, but not cleaned by the staff. Not very relaxing for the parents of a 17 months old and terrible for the environment and a little bit disappointing for a place which is still quite pricey.

Apart from that, we had fun and relaxed in the Hut Tub and enjoyed the beautiful view as well as the fresh fish we could buy directly on the beach from the fishermen.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeGe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    35
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
77
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

With a group of 8 we had a terrific stay of 4 nights at OMZ. We had 2 hotel rooms and a 2 bedroom cabin- great combination for all and allowed us to use the cabin as a base with the decks, hot tub and living room /kitchen. Rented surf and bogie boards. We walked the beach, dunes and the surrounding hills. Wonderful scenery, weather and food. We also had terrific dinners at the Hotel Surazo right next door. This was a great start to our central Chile tour by Knowmad Adventures.

Room Tip: Ocean views everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipperdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Superb site with good clean facilities, friendly staff and campsites tucked away from the wind. Overlooks Matanzas beach where you can watch the windsurfers ride the waves. Cost CHP28,000 per night and well worth it. Also includes luxury cabins and a restaurant. WiFi in reception and restaurant.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chilebyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have stayed at the hotel 2 night last Feb 2013. I have no words about this hotel and the personal there. Patricio could not be more kind and close to us.....We could surf, horse riding on the beach at the sunset, have amazing breakfast at the bar.....Do not hesitate in booking at this wonderful complex, you will not regret.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anxoangelito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed in a hotel room (not a cabana) & thought it a good size, nicely decorated, with a large bed & a private sun-deck looking out to sea.
The staff were very friendly, welcoming & helpful right from our arrival. They sorted out a couple of niggles with our room (room-safe & plumbing) immediately.
We opted for the half-board option and were pleased we did. Breakfasts always began with cake! But eggs, ham, cheese & fruit follow. Dinner was excellent. You can chose two courses from their menu, and it includes a Pisco Sour to start, water & a glass of wine, and coffee to finish. All with a beautiful sunset view.
The hotel has convenient parking at a place where public parking is at a premium at busy times.
OMZ has a small zoo for kids, horse-riding, and a tennis court (you can borrow rackets & balls).
The beach is right there, and easy to take a morning/evening stroll once the crowds have gone.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electra88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This place is incredible. The location, the facilities, the superb attention, and the majestic views will make this vacation unforgettable. Also, if you enjoy surf, kite surf, or windsurf you will not got wrong going to Matanzas. We stayed in the hotel, but you can also rent a cottage. All of the rooms in the hotel have ocean view,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is the perfect weekend getaway from Santiago. I can not say enough good things about Olas de Matanzas.

The view from the room is spectacular, and every room is clean, modernly designed and has a very comfortable bed. The hotel is walking distance from the beach and also offers surfing classes, horse back riding and other activities.

The breakfast in the morning is delicoius, with fresh fruit, bread, eggs, ham, coffee and some fresh baked pie.

The management at the hotel was incredibly nice, allowing us to do a late check-out on Sunday at 4 in the afternoon. We also saw them delivering roses to a newlywed couple that was staying in the hotel.

This is a place to escape for the weekend and disconnect. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaritaSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matanzas
0.1 mi away
Roca Cuadrada
Roca Cuadrada
#2 of 6 in Matanzas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cabanas Bosques de Matanzas
0.0 mi away
Entre Rocas De Matanzas
Entre Rocas De Matanzas
#5 of 6 in Matanzas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Del Bosque
Hostal Del Bosque
#4 of 6 in Matanzas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cabanas Dunas de Pupuya
Cabanas Dunas de Pupuya
#2 of 4 in Navidad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ruca Lodge
Ruca Lodge
#1 of 3 in Puertecillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OMZ Olas de Matanzas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OMZ Olas de Matanzas

Property: OMZ Olas de Matanzas
Address: Fundo San Luis Lagunillas s/n, Matanzas 3230000, Chile
Region: Chile > O'Higgins Region > Matanzas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matanzas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to OMZ, Olas de Matanzas, a comprehensive turistic center set in a privileged place for sports, enjoy the sea and the connection with nature. With a relaxed and cosmopolitan environment, an active and recreational concept that promotes a safe space to share with family or with friends away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A place where children have a space that allows them to learn and obtein healthy entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your OMZ Olas de Matanzas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing