We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a relaxing break”
Review of Downe Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Downe Cottages
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We have been going to Downe cottages for the last 4 years and must say how much we enjoy it.
The cottages are spotless and the owners are friendly and very welcoming.
Overall a great place to visit to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

We had a family break from friday to monday, & wished we could have stayed on. We were in Vine Cottage, spotlessly clean & comfortable & well equipped in every way-soap, showergel, tissues, dishwasher soap, teatowels all good quality etc. The surroundings are beautiful with lovely views over the sea to Lundy island from the childrens play area. We especially loved the walk to Berry Beach down the cliffs (very safe & easy as rails all the way!). All detailed info about local amenities, walks, activities is provided by Jeremy & Linda whom we found incredibly friendly & helpful. Infact we didnt need to venture out that much as just sitting by the lilypond with my book & soaking up the peacefulness was an experience in itself. You can even order food to your cottage & prepared dishes will arrive that can just be popped into the oven & be ready with half an hour or so. Lovely food at reasonable prices. The spa & staff seemed lovely, but we didnt make as much use of it as we could have in such a short time, so will have to go back! My daughter loved it too as there was a playground & beaches & lots of activities so close by. Well done Jeremy & Linda is all I have to say!!

Room Tip: Vine Cottage suitable for a couple with one child. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Having spent a long weekend with friends, I would love to go back and spend at least another week.
The cottages have everything that you might need to spend an enjoyable break away from the hustle and bustle of work life, comfortable, well-equipped and very, very quiet.
More than that, you only need to go a few miles for stunning beaches, and the countryside is all around.
Within a stone's throw, the lovely village of Hartland can be found, make sure you get the chance to enjoy the fish & chips on the square in front of the church...
A must for people looking for either a quiet break, or the more challenging looking for aquatic adventures!

Room Tip: ask for a better deal!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We rented two adjoining cottages, which we found very convenient and enjoyable. We found the cottages very comfortable, very well equiped and the location was stunning. We received a warm reception from Jeremy and Lynda, and they were very helpful in terms of providing local information. There was plenty to do in the area, and will certainly be staying longer next time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Really lovely place and very well run. The food brought in each evening was fantastic. A great place to unwind.

Jules and Katherine

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have just returned from Downe, following a week staying in Wisteria cottage. Must say the standard of the cottages is excellent, well equipped and roomy, took my elderly parents so ideal having downstairs bedroom and roomy en suite. Cottages are nicely furnished and well equipped with everything you need even if the weather is not on your side. Gardens are beautiful, as is the surrounding countryside. Enjoyed our treatments at the spa. Thanks Jeremy for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June12338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stated at Downe Cottages for two weeks. Jeremy and Linda the owners very helpful and welcoming from the moment we arrived.

We stayed in Ivy Cottage which was just right for two people. We slept well every night , with nothing to wake you up in the morning.

You are surrounded by great places to walk and eat cream teas!!!.
A Great place to stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4chins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartland
1.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
370 reviews
4.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hartland Mill B&B
Hartland Mill B&B
#3 of 11 in Hartland
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cheristow Farm Cottages
Cheristow Farm Cottages
#5 of 11 in Hartland
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copps Castle Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Clouds Bed & Breakfast
Clouds Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Hartland
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downe Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downe Cottages

Address: Hartland, Hartland EX39 6DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Hartland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hartland
Price Range: £71 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A courtyard of luxury cottages with glorious sea views.The cottages are located on the tip of the Hartland Peninsula in a designated area of outstanding natural beauty. Charmingly situated they have glorious sea views looking north to Lundy Island and west over the Atlantic.They are set in the midst of rolling farm land that slopes gently to the coast. In the distance the stone tower of St. Nectan's Church rises above the picturesque village of Stoke.. All around is peace and tranquillity.The sea, Berry Cove and the North Devon Coastal Path are a brief walk away along a quiet single track road. Hartland, an unspoilt North Devon village, is a mile away.The immediate area is ideal for walkers and cyclists with a maze of footpaths and single tract lanes on the doorstep. The cliff top walks are simply stunning and lead you to secluded cove after cove.Ideal for couples and families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Downe Cottages Hartland, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing