We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
162
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barley cottage shipload cottage homemade scones cream tea bottle of wine bird feeders box of chocolates on arrival lovely week coastal path clean cottage watching the wildlife excellent holiday beautiful location places to visit welcome pack north devon
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2017

The cottage certainly lived up to expectations and more. It had all we needed to enjoy a great week's holiday. The welcome pack on arrival was very much appreciated. The location is great and we did not have to travel far in what was a heatwave to enjoy beaches, woods and other interesting places.

Maria and John, Liverpool

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jmb22017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Maria & John,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Yapham and that we, "lived up to expectations and more". So many guests tell us that they appreciate your welcome pack of little goodies. Although in a very quiet location, as you say, it is so easy to access all of the great attractions of North Devon. I do hope that you will stay with us again. Remember to book directly with us to avoid service charges added by accommodation websites.

Kind regards,

Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

DO NOT take any notice of the negative review, this was just bliss. Barley Cottage has everything that two people could need to have a wonderful holiday. The bed is so comfortable that it was difficult to get up to watch the pheasants have breakfast, generously dropped from the bird-feeder by the numerous enchanting visitors. Perfect privacy, and the garden and orchard to ourselves. The conservatory is heated so even early mornings and late evenings watching the wildlife are more than comfortable, and the dark skies! There really is nothing missing that you could possible need. As someone with permanent back problems the bed, and the conservatory and living room furniture, are so well chosen and comfortable that I felt better than I have done in ages. Martin is the perfect host, practically invisible except to top up the feeders, mow the lawns, and offer advice if requested.
I could write pages about the glorious Hartland Peninsula but I don't need to as there is a ton of information at the cottage and some personalised local walks, graded for difficulty. I told you there was everything you needed!
If you want Soho House, or a pretentious hotel, this is not for you. If you want cosy comfort, a blissful setting and perfect privacy -- don't think twice, go!!!

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ILoveMuseums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear ILoveMuseums,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review of your recent stay in Barley Cottage. It is always heartening to read such positive comments. I am delighted to read that you found the bed and furniture really comfortable. Thank you for describing me as the perfect host. I aim to give guests their privacy, but am always available if required. The Hartland Peninsula is a beautiful part of the country, with amazing local walks and stunning countryside views. I hope that you will be back again in the future for a second visit. Remember to book direct to avoid commission fees.

Kind regards,

Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

What a find!! A delightful location; a charming, well-equipped and clean cottage; the added bonus of a garden and orchard which the dogs were free to enjoy; a super conservatory; beautiful woodland walks; extensive sandy beaches . . . . and
perfect hosts! The attention to detail was amazing - all you could wish for , and more.
A warm welcome on arrival - including an offer to help with the luggage - and an
array of thoughtful extras, including home-made scones and jam, with cream; a large box of chocolates; flowers and even a TV magazine, along with treats for the
dogs.
The comfort and contentment of guests was an obvious commitment at Yapham
along with friendliness and the sense of nothing being too much trouble.
Thank you Martin and John for a most enjoyable week.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 502lorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear 502lorna,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay in Barley Cottage. It is always delightful to read such glowing comments. I am so pleased to read that you found the cottage to be clean, well equipped and that you enjoyed our welcome pack. We always leave a welcome treat for our four legged friends too. So many people mention how much they enjoy having the conservatory. It is a real positive feature of the cottage. I hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the future. Remember to book direct with us.

Kind regards,

Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in Windbury Cottage. The property wants for nothing. It is cosy, warm and comfortable. It is incredibly peaceful at the end of a country track. All we could hear were the birds and bees when we sat on our loungers on a sunny afternoon. The coastal walks nearby are spectacular. Highly recommended. The owner is very welcoming and we appreciated the scones, jam and clotted cream as well as the box of chocolates and the bottle of wine when we arrived.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Adventure623773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It is so lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the cottage to be cosy and comfortable. It is fantastic to just sit in the cottage and watch the birds on the feeders, and the bees buzzing around the flower pots. The walks on the coastal path are great at this time of year, with the flowers coming into bloom. I hope that you will be able to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

This is a charming, quiet, warm and clean super holiday cottage. We've stayed in many that are more modern but quite honestly, this is a fab little cottage(Windbury) and beats many trendier holiday homes hands down. It is run by sincere people - Martin clearly takes great pleasure in providing the flowers, chocs, wine etc and providing a lift so that we could start a section of the South West coastpath- so very kind. What a stunning location - we aren't bothered about the dog- friendly bit. We appreciate many are and we are probably aliens(!) but thankfully no doggy smell and others who had dogs there were fully responsible owners, didn't hear a peep which is how we like it! Thank you for a wonderful short break, Jane & Chris.

Room tip: we choose Windbury as there were only the two of us!
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank JaneMLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_the_Manager, Manager at Yapham Coastal Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Dear Jane,

Thank you for your superb review of your stay in Windbury Cottage. Yes, Windbury is a little treasure. So many people remark as to what a cosy cottage it is. I agree with your comments regarding dog owners. We have always found our guests to be responsible pet owners, and yes, I cannot recall there ever being any doggy smells whenever we have entered the cottages afterwards. We obviously clean them thoroughly anyway, but dog owners always seem to have a good hoover round before leaving. I do hope that you will be able to visit us again some time.

Kind regards,

Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews