We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
59
5
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wood burner wood fired pizza compost toilets eco retreat projector screen hot water the kitchen water buffaloes pizza night local beaches extra blankets hartland point special place great getaway sat nav shower room wonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Just returned from an amazing stay at Loveland. We went along with 2 kids 11 and 9 and they cannot stop talking about it. The pods are spectacular and are kitted out and designed very smartly. With a large DVD projector it was like being in our own private cinema, a log burner and skateboard decks for steps!! It's quirkyness was great with everything eco friendly, including a compost toilet, which the kids found very interesting! Katrina, the owner, was wonderfully welcoming and nothing was any bother and made us all feel right at home. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay any longer. Highly recommend Loveland if you want a very different family bonding break.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank richlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Really lovely greeting and explanation from the staff - this is camping for people that don't like camping. The pods are fantastic inside and out, and the adjoining kitchens are great for cooking basics.

We stayed in the Poplar Pod which is the smallest but fine for a couple as long as you don't spend all day in there. But then why would you.

We went in September and so the weather was always going to up and down. It rained quite a bit and because of the pod design the rain clatters down on the roof. Also, while the woodburner is lovely and easy to use, the pod got a little chilly at night so maybe get extra blankets or some warm pyjamas.

Having said that, the location is beautiful and in the middle of nowhere, you're really close to Hartland Point and Quay which are beautiful. Also recommend eating at the the Pig on the Hill which isn't far.

The staff leave you alone as much as you want so you don't feel like you;re at a hotel but are on hand if you have any problems.

Also check out the sheep and goats, friendly lovely animal friends.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank benp777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stayed in the Loveland Pod.

From the A39, whichever way you go expect a maze of narrow winding lanes; coming from the south we passed through the quaint Hartland with two small but useful grocery shops. Unfortunately the postcode took my sat nav past the junction to Loveland towards Titchberry and Loveland wasn’t marked on my ordinance survey map (Gawlish Farm nearby is); Loveland do have directions on their website, which are helpful but not detailed enough; it wasn’t difficult to retrace to missed junction.
The potholes on the lane to Loveland were filled our first morning there, noisy, but better for our car.

When we arrived we were welcomed and shown to our pod (Loveland); a short grassy path to the east, across the lane from the car park, through a few apple trees, passing the hens, to a white dome with the main living space set on decking, with a short plank to get up to it; the wooden building next contains a small kitchen with an open side, rainfall type shower room with skate boards for hooks, and the compost/ drop toilet (which some may not find to their taste). The views surrounding are of fields with buffalo grazing, the hens/ a small pond, and trees. The outdoor decking part has a hammock, a table bench, and a barbecue.

The other pods are west of the car park, including the larger green ones, with campsite/ tipi’s above.

The Loveland pod was perfect for our needs. A great place to relax, hang-out. We thus didn’t see much of the other part of the site during our 4 night stay.
Inside the pod is a coatstand and a log burner to the left and a table to the right, 2 double sofa beds, a wooden settee, a chest of drawers with Blu-ray player on, a drinks cooller (we kept switched off due to buzz), bookshelves and a double bed the far end; several rugs; round windows on the white part and a large clear area to look out of towards the hens; above the table is a projector screen. It was all very comfortable and well thought out.
Free wi-fi worked throughout- fast enough for us.

Despite it getting light at 5am we all slept very well.
We stayed up watching projected movie’s each night- good selection of movies in chest of draws; the image quality is not up there with our 2016 model TV but the screen is much larger and was a nice way to spend time once it got dark outside.
We all enjoyed having the hammck outside.
During the day when sunny the pod was hot; after dusk it quickly got cool, needing us to light the logburner, which successfully warmed us up.
The kitchen was reasonably well equipped, only has gas hobs to cook on and heat a kettle. There is a toaster and a rather small fridge. The only thing I really missed was a wooden spoon.

They do offer a few things they will cook for you- meat and veg, and a pizza night- we didn’t find the time to have any.

The only problem we had was the gas running out when cooking dinner on our second night there- couldn’t find or speak to anyone to change it until the next morning, so had to abandon cooking- it was changed quickly once alerted.
I did also ask to have the fitted sheets changed as they were slightly too small for the sofa beds and the cold tap in the kitchen fixed (it was barely running)- unfortunately neither were done, but didn’t affect our stay.
Another issue was the shower floods, not draining away fast enough; shower is also at a fixed temperature/ flow, which was ok for summer..

We went every day to Sandymouth beach (1/2hr drive south) for body boarding, which we all enjoyed. Car park free to NT members. Short walk (10 mins; unless ovefflow parking in use) down to the beach. 2 short falls either side where you enter the beach, rock/shingle/ rockpools gives way to sand at lower tide; cliffs above. Lovely. Lifeguarded section.
On the way up we had also been to Crackington Haven, which had a lovely sheltered beach for a windy day (but not enough parking during nice afternoons).

We also walked round Hartland Point in the evening, lots of lovely places to watch the sun set into the sun beyond Lundy (nb- parking near the point is pay/ toll road and closes 6pm; use NT car park between Loveland and the point and walk for sunset); walked from NT Brownsham to Clovelly along coastal path and back via estate tracks inland (3hrs); and went to Hartland Quay (ok for sunset; pay to park again when toll booth in operation).

Overall we had a highly enjoyable time at Loveland and can recommend it to those who like glamping in a stylish pod.

Room Tip: Loveland Pod is in it's own secluded area of the farm the other side of the lane from the other pods
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Myself and a close friend stayed at loveland farm for two nights during the spring months. We had a fantastic time there, plenty of local activities and the coastline in the area is stunning. The rooms are particularly interesting and provide a very unique experience. A big thank you to Jeff and Karina for being amazing hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here numerous times now in both the geo domes and now the Tipi and it never fails to disappoint.

The amenities are both considered and fantastic and the owners are incredibly hospitable.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews