We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of The Kauri Museum

The Kauri Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$1,869.90*
and up
Private Tour: 5-Day Auckland and Bay of Islands Trip
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Matakohe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Kauri Museum tells the story of the mighty kauri tree, its fascinating gum and pioneering past. The Kauri tree is the focal point and theme of this museum, showing the different stages of how this giant wonder fueled industries that sustained communities of the early settlers. The Museum has over 4,500 sq mtrs of undercover attraction, and is a 'Must See'! Visit our heritage Museum en route to the ancient kauri trees in the Waipoua Forest. Visitor Information Centre on site with main focus on the western route of the Twin Coast Discovery Highway and Northland. Disabled friendly, lots of free parking spaces available, accommodation and cafes nearby. Location: 5 Church Road, Matakohe, New Zealand 0593 Hours: Mon - Sun: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm (Open every day except Christmas Day)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

At first we were a bit shocked at the price but honestly it is worth it. I think this is the best museum I have ever been too. We took our boys aged 3-5 and they loved it as well. There is so much to see - the collection is amazing. There are interactive bits where you press a button to hear information and/sounds. And I loved the life like displays using mannequins. There has been so much work put into the museum that you don't mind paying to support it and it really is huge. Don't miss the school house and other buildings outside. Cafe across the road is great too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    110
    17
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The best in the world?!?”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

How can I even begin to rate this place but honestly it is really one of the most fascinating museums I have ever been in, in my life.
From the moment we stepped through the door in to the hands of one of the most talented and sincere customer representatives I have encountered "Tristan" the experience was brilliant. The museum is full of wonderful and historical stories and pictorial displays that you could spend hours looking over plus there are working displays of the machinery that were used in the milling of the Kauri Forests and the gum diggers. The other fascinating side to this museum is the recreation of a 2 storey boarding house and a 6 room home and the attention to detail of the models and their dwellings is incredible. Loved the whole place and we spent 5 hours there with a break in the middle at their cafe over the road.
Do not drive past this place - you must go in.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PennyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A very good museum to visit, lots of different features with audio, video & replica examples (ie cutting wood).
You can see different varieties of native trees in varnished slabs, history of the area, fine pieces of kauri furniture & there is a room full of Kauri gum.
A great place to visit, though kids were slightly bored as they don't see the value of history yet.

Helpful?
Thank TischlerAndHubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“You are REALLY missing out if you don't go to the Kauri Museum!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived before the doors opened at 9.30am. We had a busy day planned & thought we would pop in here for an hour to break our journey.

It was recommended to us by a friend's parents & they kept stressing how good it was, so we felt obliged to pop in just to show them photos that we had been there! Before we went in we both thought why do they need a museum to the Kauri tree? Its only a bit of wood! We were VERY wrong, we were blown away!

We had no idea that this was such a gigantic museum! Every time we turned a corner would see another vast hangar full of Kauri related items. This place really shows EVERY angle of Kauri production...... & what surprised us more is that it was all very interesting! Honestly we were NOT bored, in fact we had to drag ourselves away at midday & it still took a half hour to leave. Needless to say we had to rearrange other parts of our day - but to be honest we didn't mind, the Kauri Museum was well worth it!

It certainly is the most comprehensive museum I have ever been to. The displays are very well organised & it is a treat to read the random historical facts! They even rebuilt a huge 2 storey hotel in a corner of the place! The Kauri gum was fascinating & we even purchased a tiny piece of it in the shop.

Go, I know you will enjoy it!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bodmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Museum Ever”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This museum was a delightful surprise for us. It was great, with history, hands-on exhibits, working machinery, period exhibits, depth and breadth of coverage of the Kauri wood, its uses and how it affected the region. We recommend it to everyone we hear is going to NZ. We have been to hundreds of museums around the world and this one is one of the best we have ever seen. Went several years ago but the visit button won't let me enter our trip date so I put their latests date of August/13.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kauri Museum also viewed

 
Dargaville, Northland Region
Dargaville, Northland Region
 

Been to The Kauri Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing