We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked a room for 3 adults!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of MRT Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MRT Hotel
Ranked #81 of 177 Hotels in Xinbei
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Booked a room for 3 adults!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

A non-smoking room for 3 adults was booked, but receptionist Mr. Leon Cheng insisted it was for 2 adults, even 2 breakfast vouchers, 2 pillows and 2 towels were initially offered.

Had to get travel agent to clarify with receptionist before all amenities were catered for 3 adults.

After the check-in saga, some of the staff became very rude - especially breakfast staff, who was most impatient. Non-smoking room also smelt slightly of cigarettes.

The location of the hotel is good (opposite metro station), but overall stay was made terrible by the staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
9
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My supplier booked this hotel for me because all the surrounding hotels are fully booked. Not a bad choice. The hotel is located very near to a MRT station (I guess hence its name). There are big shopping centre and eateries around. A good location indeed.

The original reservations was for two nights but I had to stay 3 nights, as a result, I have to change room on the third day because of prior bookings.

Spent the first two night in an Executive Suite. Other than stains on the carpet, the room is very clean, nothing to complain about. It faces the main road but surprisingly the traffic noise is not that bad.

The 3rd night was spent in their Deluxe Suite. The room is a much bigger. One thing I find odd is to have such a good room located opposite the lift lobby. So much for privacy. The cleanliness of this room is not up to standard - dust and chips crumbs under the cushions and sofa. Lucky for me I do not have to use the sofa. This room faces an alley but traffic noise is much louder than the other side. This comes as a surprise to me.

Overall, if not because of the cleanliness problem encountered in the last room, I would say I have had a very good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caslek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here twice while in Taipei. It has a great location right beside the Fuzhong MRT station (exit 2). The rooms are very clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and they cleaned it each day. Everything in the room worked well. We were in a room beside the Main Street but we didnt hear any noise. My only complaint is that every time the cleaner came she turned the ac down really low and we couldn't get it set nicely again because the controls were in mandarin.

The rate includes breakfast but it was a bit average by western standards. There is toast for a simple breakfast. The staff were friendly but didnt speak much English. They let us keep a bag at the hotel while we toured the rest of taiwan, which we appreciated. It is a bit out of the city center but there are lots of restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onelife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

This Hotel is a super affordable way to stay conveniently in Taipei. It is only a 2 minute walk from the Fuzhong Metro Station and has a convenience store across the street.
The room was clean and larger than I expected. It had a refrigerator and tea/coffee. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KosMarkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Right above Fuzhong MRT station, and a stone's throw away from a myriad of shops across the road. Rooms are small but extremely comfortable and the price is definitely worth it. Accessible to all parts of Taipei (with the trains, you can pretty much get anywhere) Definitely coming back to stay here the next time I visit Taipei again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

A small funky little hotel right next to the FuZhong MRT station. It's pretty basic, but the rooms are clean and there is free WIFI in the rooms, and breakfast included between 6AM to 7PM. The basic rooms are pretty small, with the bigger suites only slightly more expensive. Worth the upgrade. Ask for a non-smoking room/floor if required.

The rain-head showers are reliably hot, and room service is friendly and well done. There is a convenience store directly across the street, and a couple of cafes/restaurants right downstairs.

Overall - it's a great place to stay if you're looking to save a bit of money, but want the convenience of the MRT. Also - it's right across the street from a lot of shops/restaurants/karaoke bars/gyms which open till 11PM most nights.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking if required, and also the Suite upgrades are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piper1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We usually stayed at Grandforward which is about 300m away but took MRT Hotel due to GF is fully booked. This year we tooked 2 family rooms on the 5th n 6th Floor.

This Hotel is small as compared to GF, total of 9 floor(actually 8 as no 4th floor) w about 6 rooms each floor.

The room is clean and the bath room is big and they provide all the neceassary items including tooth brush and comb.

However, there are no WIFI in room and you have to go to the 9th floor to access to wifi. There are also no washing machine in the hotel and there is no laundary shop within 1km.

The lobby is also very small and you basically had to wait outside the hotel as there are no seating arrangement in the lobby.

If there are room available at GF, i will not hesitate to pay 1K NT more per night to at GF instead of MRT

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jsbyssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xinbei hotels
0.1 mi away
Yi Su Hotel
Yi Su Hotel
#25 of 177 in Xinbei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Forward Hotel
Grand Forward Hotel
#14 of 177 in Xinbei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morwing Hotel II
Morwing Hotel II
#15 of 177 in Xinbei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel
#96 of 177 in Xinbei
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chengdian Hotel
Chengdian Hotel
#72 of 177 in Xinbei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#65 of 177 in Xinbei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MRT Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MRT Hotel

Property: MRT Hotel
Address: No.9 Fuzhong Road, Banqiao District, Xinbei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Xinbei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 177 Hotels in Xinbei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MRT Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your MRT Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MRT Hotel Taiwan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing