We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, relaxing and enjoyable”
Review of Full Moon Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Full Moon Spa
Ranked #11 of 187 Hotels in Xinbei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and I spend a Tuesday night at this establishment.

We paid $3,900 NT (~$130 CDN) and got room #306, which appeared to be the 2nd last room of the third floor.

The room had 2 sofa chairs, tv, WiFi, 2 slipper sets, shoe horn, hot water boiler, 2 tea, 2 coffee packs, 2 cups, makeup mirror/vanity (which turns into a closet, cool!), 4 hangers and most importantly a * hair dryer *!

The mini fridge is cool, not cold, and had 2 bottles of water.

The hot tub has spa jets (on/off buttons for them) and sitting bench inside. The temperature gauge is in Celsius. To soak, you have to call the front desk to turn on the water, which I guess is to prevent needless waste.

The tub and washroom are combined into one. There were 2 toothbrushes, shampoo, bath foam packs and one small soap bar. A razor, brush and q-tips are provided as well.

The view was not the greatest and the circulation of air was almost non-existent. It would have been great to have a fan, that would have made the stay near perfect.

The television has blurry channels and the air conditioning is somewhat noisy. Things are a little old here but still adequate for a pleasant stay.

The bed and toilet are set low, so not the greatest for those that problems getting up from a low position.

Dinner was included in our stay, there is indoor and outdoor seating available.

I had the mackerel fish meal ($280 NT if bought on its own), there are also beef, pork or chicken meals available ($290 NT). My wife had the vegetarian meal and scored it an 8.5 / 10.

We were given tickets to the soaking tubs. For those that are new to the hot spring thing in Taiwan, people go fully nude. I'm not sure if they allow people to wear swimsuits in, but be sure to ask if you plan on going.

On the men's side, there are 2 hot pools at 37 and 41 Celsius, a steam and infrared room. There are numerous lounge chairs, shower nozzles lined up bull pen style and a water machine with paper cups available.

Upon entry, a staff member gives you a key to a locker to store your clothes, a hair towel and a body towel. Don't get them wet because those are the only ones you get. I found the hotter pool and infrared room most enjoyable. There's also a small cold pool to re-invigorate your body.

At its busiest that night, there were a total of 7 men (including myself) using the area which made for a pretty crowdless fell.

After enjoying the "public" pools, my wife and I talked about our experiences. She says she found the plumbing noises on the women's side too noisy to make for a truly relaxing experience.

Both areas have shrubbery and bamboo fencing that are half height which, if you only half sit into the pool, allow you to view the building across the river and vice versa. Although, someone would need binoculars to really pry.

I asked my wife to compare this spa to the other, Landis, that she'd been to and she said she likes the other much more, it's quieter, less people, more private, more airy circulation, unlimited drinks, lounge chairs and unlimited towels available. I haven't been but for sure next year.

Breakfast was also included in our stay and you'll have the option of western or eastern styles. Re-fills on coffee and tea. Staff also asked if we wanted re-fills on food which I did partake on to a slight degree.

Pretty much 99% of everything is in Chinese, the only thing in English is the massage services price list. So brush up on your Mandarin.

All in all, this place offers a pretty decent package in my opinion. A private room, public pools, steam/infrared rooms, dinner and breakfast for two.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank easyHwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed 1 night here and they have a stunning view at the breakfast area, wooden type hot spring in the room and a general public pool as well.

service was good, location was near the main street where you get lots of food stall and shop area.

overall ok, but pricing was on the high side for this area, simple breakfast & dinner but i enjoyed the breakfast view lots!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VKLiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

With excellent location, you found it so convenient to go to Wulai old street for food, for drinks and for shopping souvenirs.

The atmosphere of the hotel is traditional. The decoration is a little bit old but still comfortable. Inside our room, we had a wooden hotspring tub with a nice view next to a soothing river. We had tried the hot spring tub inside our room... and the public pools also.

For the ladies public pools, there are 3 pool with 3 different temperatures, with water massaging devices, you would found it so relaxing.

Dinner & Breakfast are included, the meals are simple but nice.

The hot spring water is comfortable & healing and we enjoyed our stay there so much!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaiko0419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Spent 1 night and enjoyed its homeliness & simplicity. It was not crowded during our stay (weekday). Decided on this hotel due to the great location, awesome room view (and soothing river flow at night) and private hot spring tub.

Meals were simple and decent fare. Reception aunties were patient in explaining all the details (need to call them to turn on the hot tub water). All in all, it was a relaxing stay.

The only downside is that the start/stop of the water is pretty loud and you can hear the piping when this happens for any of the rooms. But it was not a problem as it dies down during sleeping time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin_ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We spent one night in Full Moon Spa Wulai during our trip to Taipei. Location is perfect as it is in the middle of the Wulai Old Street.

The hotel is a traditional style spa hotel with two communal spas (one each for men and ladies). The ladies communal spa has 3 pools (one cold spa and two hot spa) together with sauna & steam rooms and the spa is somewhat half open space with fresh air (that is what I prefer). It is similar to Japanese style, i.e. clean your body and soak nude.

You can also have private spa inside your own room which is handy and good for shy people. The room is in traditional décor and a bit dated, but still comfortable. The included breakfast and dinner is simple but tasty. The only thing I dislike is the noise of the water pumping machine which pumps the spring water into the rooms.

Considering that the hotel provides good facilities for spa and its location, it is recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forestee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The best time to visit is on weekdays (working days) as it is less crowded and rooms are generally cheaper. But if you are here for pure rest and relaxation then it's worth considering the pricey hotels to indulge yourself.

SERVICE
Staff are friendly and prompt in attending to you. Our request for room upgrade was promptly attended to (top-up needed of course) and the staff even allowed us to view the room before we opt to take it up.

They also gave us tips on how to get to the waterfall and highlighted that we can use the public hotspring around 10pm if we feel awkward.

VALUE
Wouldn't say they have the best value but are considered reasonable as the better hotspring hotels (Volando and Pause Landis) are charging a lot more. Our room rate includes 1 Lunch/Dinner and 1 Breakfast for a one night stay. Also includes 2 x entry to the public hotspring pools within the hotel grounds (male and female pools separated).

SLEEP QUALITY
Sleep quality is good since we are in a mountainous area hence hardly any night-life to disturb your night. The hotel provided a UV Light Mosquito Killer in the room as there are quite alot in this area (and huge ones too).

CLEANLINESS
If you are particular about cleanliness then its better to opt for the pricey hotels/spas as those are definitely better maintained.
The private hotspring tub (ours made of unfinished cypress wood) doesn't seem to have been cleaned/scrubbed before hence you can see dark water stains (that looks like algae to me). The hotel and rooms look old and in need of some renovation.

LOCATION
Located just next to the old street which makes it really convenient and easily accessible. The log cart rail (which brings you to the waterfall) is located right at the other end of the old street which you can easily reach via a short walk from Full Moon Spa.

ROOMS
Opt for the Superior Room if possible for a slightly higher price as the difference is quite big compared to Standard Room. The Standard Room is not only small but really pathetic with no space to walk, small CRT TV & wardrobe and toilet bowl just beside the bed (separated by metal framed glass door which can be closed but very difficult to open).

OTHERS
We took a cab up to Wulai as we wanted to travel in comfort but its quite costly at TWD500/trip (there is a board that says it will cost TWD600/trip but we managed to bargain with the driver since they were waiting for business anyway).

Taking the public bus back to Xindian is fast and cheap but you must leave Wulai early as we heard the queue can be quite long during peak hours and weekends.

Room Tip: Get a Superior Room towards the back (Room 207 or 208) as its nearer the river/stream below and offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripbuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

very charming hotel with friendly and warm hosts.
We booked the deluxe double room appartment with our private big hot spot and we had lots of fun.
The view from the appartment to the forest and the river is just amazing.
Its a small town but with some attractions, so use the cable railway to explore everything.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xinbei
Xindian / Wulai District
Pause Landis Wulai
Pause Landis Wulai
#10 of 187 in Xinbei
143 reviews
Jingshan / Wanli District
The Loft Seaside Suites
The Loft Seaside Suites
#88 of 187 in Xinbei
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tamsui / Bali District
Fullon Hotel Danshuei Fishermen's Wharf
Xindian / Wulai District
Platinum Hotel
Platinum Hotel
#6 of 187 in Xinbei
120 reviews
Xindian / Wulai District
Spring Spa Hotel Wulai
Spring Spa Hotel Wulai
#20 of 187 in Xinbei
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Full Moon Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Full Moon Spa

Address: No.1, Lane 85, Wulai Street, Wulai District, Xinbei 233, Taiwan (Formerly Sun Moon Bed& Breakfast)
Region: Taiwan > Xinbei > Xindian / Wulai District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Xinbei
#4 Romantic Hotel in Xinbei
Price Range: £76 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Full Moon Spa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Full Moon Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Full Moon Spa Taiwan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing