We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort to chill and relax.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tien Lai Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 188 Hotels in Xinbei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Room needs some upgrading though. Feels abit old n the Japanese style room is not Japanese at all to me, except for the soaking tub. Overall happy with this place, but be prepared for limited F&B options.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in Tien Lai last April 14 we had the quadruple western room which was very spacious with an amazing view of the mountain, we took a taxi in going but I guess the bus near the M8 exit of the Taipei Main Station is still the best bet. The place was very relaxing with the spa and great view, we all enjoyed it. During dinner time we had the beef noodle set which was delicious , then during breakfast, we really enjoyed it as we had it outside which was really refreshing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Along with my parents, we stayed in Taipei city for 2 nights and then Tien Lai for one night. It was too rush as this resort has so much to offer. Their spa is huge and with different varieties. It was in early March 2014 and was not busy. The weather was still a bit cold and could not hike around the hotel. ( I heard it is great for hiking and appreciating flowers). My parents loved the spa pool so much claiming their knees feel so good which was trying to quit on them some time ago! I would definitely return and stay at least 2 -3 nights. Highly recommend a place for a family holiday.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cancus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This resort got different kind of spa which we enjoyed very much. They also got wide variety of buffet breakfast. We stayed there for 1 night only which we think it's too rush. If we have time to stay for 2 days, we can enjoy the comfy room & the attached spa as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homecatconnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at this resort for 1 night. When we got there, it was surrounded in mist and was cool compared to Taipei. Unfortunately the mist never lifted so we didn't get to see much of the mountains.

The booking was easy and enough English was spoken to get by. We couldn't really find the bus to start our journey so took a taxi from Beitou (I don't think this was the best option but we were not sure and had two young kids with us and we weren't ubberly confident that the bus would actually go directly to the hotel - which we were wrong about). The bus trip back was fine, it comes to the hotel.

The hot springs were great. Heaps to choose from including one which had fish in it which cleansed your feet. There is a nude pool but the rest of communal and swimming costumes and hats are compulsory. There is a kids area which was fun for our children (2 & 4) but a bit too cold to really enjoy.

We had the buffet which was OK. Lots to try. The room was big and spacious (I think we got an upgrade) and the hotel staff friendly. When we got there we thought we might stay another night (hoping for the clouds to lift so we could walk the nearby paths and enjoy the cooler pools) but they didn't and the second day we could use the facilities even after check-out time.

There is piped music everywhere but I felt it wasn't needed. The sounds of nature are much more relaxing and a few of the areas need a bit of TLC, but overall it was a pleasant stay, which would have been better if the clouds had lifted - not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Folksyspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here in the summer of 2012. Not typically a time for hot springs; perhaps that was why my friends and I were the only ones at the spa. It was heaven since we had the whole place to ourselves. I had the famed Taiwanese beef noodles and thought it was delicious. My friends who don't eat beef ate the seafood variation of the noodles and that was also very tasty. I loved the room layout where the mattresses were laid out Japanese style and the bathrobes were Yukatas too. Overall a cool place to be (literally), and perfect for nature lovers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sobanoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife & myself visited the resort during June 2013. Overall, it is a very relaxing place to be.

Service : I have to say it is very good. We have wifi problem from our room & the management fixed it up by installing another wifi modem in our room. The initiative is a big plus, to make customer happy. A + here

Hotspring : We stayed in Japanese style room, which means we have our private hotspring in pur room. It is really worth it. Great privacy & perfect for couples. A + here

Sleep & Room : Our room is huge & environment is very quiet. Real taste of relaxation from busy city for a change.

Food : For us, it is very very very excellent dinner. We enjoyed it so much........Great dinner.
Breakfast is adequate. A Big Big Plus here.

Conclusion : Will we come back again? Yes, we will.

One special thanks to the gentleman who works there as Service/Driver........Thank you for the great hospitality you had shown to us, especially assisting us to & from Jin Shan town.......Great warmth from the host. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agnenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xinbei hotels
Jingshan / Wanli District
The Loft Seaside Suites
The Loft Seaside Suites
#109 of 188 in Xinbei
78 reviews
Jingshan / Wanli District
Tsuwu Hot Spring Hotel
Tsuwu Hot Spring Hotel
#22 of 188 in Xinbei
66 reviews
Xindian / Wulai District
Pause Landis Wulai
Pause Landis Wulai
#10 of 188 in Xinbei
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tamsui / Bali District
Fullon Hotel Danshuei Fishermen's Wharf
Xinzhuang / Taishan District
Sinjhuang Chateau de Chine Hotel
Xindian / Wulai District
Volando Taipei Urai Spring Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tien Lai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tien Lai Resort & Spa

Address: No.1-7 Mingliu Road, Chonghe Village, Jinshan Town, Xinbei 208, Taiwan (Formerly Tienlai Spring Resort)
Region: Taiwan > Xinbei > Jingshan / Wanli District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Xinbei
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Xinbei
#2 Family Hotel in Xinbei
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xinbei
Price Range: £126 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tien Lai Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BOUTIQUE RESORT IN TAIWANYangmingshan Tienlai Resort & Spa The best resort hotel in northern Taiwan-Recommended by Michelin Green Guide TaiwanTianlai Spring Resort & Spa fuses the macrobiotic concepts of heaven, earth, and people and returns with its aesthetics to the most original design philosophy. Succinct, modern design and Japanese style are combined to form the contemporary Zen-style unique to Tienlai.Become the largest Boutique Resort in Taiwan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Tien Lai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tienlai Spring Hotel Xinbei
Tien Lai Spring Hotel
Tien Lai Resort & Spa Taiwan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing