We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location But Filthy & Old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wulai Naluwan Hot Spring Hotel
Ranked #131 of 181 Hotels in Xinbei
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Location But Filthy & Old”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Pros:
The hotel location is definitely the selling point. It is right in front of the Wulai waterfall and our room balcony had a perfect view. The dinner was decent located on the 2nd floor of a connected building. There is a big stage where you can watch shows which we did. It is a 20 min walk from the night market area which isn't too bad.

Cons:
Where do I start. First of all, this place is straight up filthy and old. Room has a lot of broken accessories such as window curtain and shower curtain. The bathtub looks absolutely disgusting so we didn't even try the onsen. The toothbrush looks used and it's actually not sealed. There is a dead fly in the closet with a spare blanket placed on the dirty floor. The blanket on the bed has numerous old blood stains so we were forced to sleep with our coats on and had to use our hoods too because we don't trust the pillows either after seeing all this. The breakfast was rather weak because it doesn't seem fresh. All this for at least $5,000 TWD.

Conclusion:
Avoid until they fire whoever is in charge of the place. Old is okay, filthy is not. Definitely when it's prized between $5,000 to $1X,000.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gesogeso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    2
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed there on a Wednesday night and probably because it was a weekday so there was hardly any guest except one tour group. Our 4-person room is huge with two queen bed and a balcony that faces that Wulai Fall. The direct view of the Wulai Fall is the best that this room has to offer. Upon entering the room, we were overwhelmed by a strong moldy smell. The room is in desperate need of refurbishment. It looks so dated and the bathroom is in a terrible state with moldy spots everywhere. Spring water is supplied in the room so you can have a soak in hot spring water in the bathtub.

Breakfast is served from 8.30 to 9.30 or 10am. We reached the restaurant around 8.45am and there was no food left at the buffet. The tour group arrived there earlier and finished most of the food. I asked the waiter if the food would be replenished and the waiter (there was only one) went to check with the kitchen. We waited for a long while and nothing came out so we resigned to getting plain toasts with jam. Then to our surprise the waiter brought us a plate of fried eggs. It was quite amusing to see such a big plate of fried eggs just for the 4 of us. When we were finishing our breakfast, the waiter brought us a bowl of freshly prepared chicken nuggets. Despite the poor buffet breakfast, we do appreciate the efforts made by the only waiter and the kitchen staff for preparing the eggs and chicken nuggets especially for us. Actually with so few guests, why not they just serve a la carte breakfast intsead of buffet breakfast? By the way, the restaurant didn't look very clean. The table cloth was torn and stained.

This hotel is right at the foot of the Wulai Fall and right next to the cable car station. But apart from that, its location is really inconvenient as there is no food around it after dark. We reached there around 6.30pm and we were told the hotel restaurant was the only choice we had unless we want to take a cab to the old street.

So my advice is to stay away from this hotel unless it is refurbished.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YiYi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xinbei hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Location: Located at Wulai, we took the train up and spend a night at this hotel. Minimum entertainment except for the waterfall scenery, cable car and couple of souvenirs stores. There are only 2 local eatery that close at 6:30pm if intention is to try local food other than eating at the hotel. Alternatively, taking a cab to the Wulai old street will offer more choice of food.
Room: The only complement about the room is the bathtub which can be fill with hot spring water is facing direct view of the waterfall. (don't take the room at the extreme end as the bathroom is block by wall without any view) The room is pretty old with aging spot at bathroom, bed sheet, even the vacuum flask. The room seriously need to be refurbish.
Service: The hotel was quiet, perhaps we were there during weekday. The breakfast was served immediately when we arrived. As there wasn't many guest, service was ok. Food was limited with local Chinese food (porridge, egg, vegetable) other than bread and buns.

If not for the train ride and the hot spring, we most probably won't stay at this hotel. Unless the hotel undergo a major re-ramp, give this hotel a miss.

Room Tip: Remember do not choose the extreme end corner as the bathroom has wall that blocked the view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyenne_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Checked in to suite spa 216 with my family. The room came with a karaoke system and the remote control has chinese characters which we are not familiar with, called reception for assistance but they were very reluctant to help.
Room came with buffet breakfast, but it was the worst breakfast that we ever come across from all of our travels.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the waterfall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happychako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xinbei hotels
1.6 mi away
Pause Landis Wulai
Pause Landis Wulai
#11 of 181 in Xinbei
132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yufuin Hotel
Yufuin Hotel
#54 of 181 in Xinbei
10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wulai SungLyu Hot Spring Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wulai Hot Spring Resort
Wulai Hot Spring Resort
#113 of 181 in Xinbei
16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Full Moon Spa
Full Moon Spa
#12 of 181 in Xinbei
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotspring World Wulai
Hotspring World Wulai
#80 of 181 in Xinbei
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wulai Naluwan Hot Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wulai Naluwan Hot Spring Hotel

Property: Wulai Naluwan Hot Spring Hotel
Address: No.33 Pubu Road, Wulai Town, Xinbei 233, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Xinbei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 181 Hotels in Xinbei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wulai Naluwan Hot Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wulai Naluwan Hot Spring Hotel Taiwan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing