We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, wifi depends on your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gao Shan Ching Hotel
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Chiayi County
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, wifi depends on your room”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We booked the last room in the hotel, the VIP family suite. Check-in and check-out were fast and painless. Take note that the free breakfast is Chinese-style, rice porridge and savory dishes at a nearby restaurant which was no issue for me but don't expect a continental breakfast. The room and water heater only comes on from 5pm to 7.30pm which is fine because we were out hiking but problematic if you decided to stay in. The room floor is really dusty which we noticed when the soles of our feet turned black. Finally, the wifi is fast when it works but our room was located in an odd corner so wifi only worked when I was standing at our room door or in the hallway.

Room Tip: Don't pick rooms behind the elevator if you want decent wifi reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    8
    25
    20
    18
See reviews for
22
24
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel is near the bus station, where the tourist can take a bus up to Alishan. The best part about the hotel room is that it has heater facility. It's also convenient to obtain hot and cold drinking water from the common corridor. The proprietor is also very helpful with travel tips. All in all, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GontNooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a night during our trip to Alishan. The hotel is near to the bus station (is actually a open space car park, with many restaurants and shops in that area), about 5 mins walk using a staircase. When the bus arrived at the bus station, I gave the hotel a call, and within few mins the van came and picked us up. When we reached the hotel, the lady at the counter was very kind to explain to us regarding the Alishan forest and the train timing etc. They also have optional tour to see sunrise at Yushan which cost NT300 per person. However, we decided to take the train and go for the sunrise at Alishan, so we did not join the optional tour. If I had stayed there for 2 nights, most probably I will join this tour on the second morning. The room we stayed is a family room with 2 queen beds. The room is very basic, but towels, slippers, toothbrush, shower gel, shampoo were provided. The room is not very sound-proofed, so we could hear people talking ourside. Hot and cold water dispenser is available at the corridor, so guests can get drinking water or make tea / cup noodles easily. Free Wifi is also available in this hotel, the signal is good therefore I could Skype my oversea friend. Breakfast was included in the room rates, so we took our breakfast after seeing the sunrise. Do not expect too much from the breakfast. As I like porridge with pickles and salted eggs, so these were enough to fill my stomach. After we checked out from the room, the hotel van drove us and our luggages back to the bus station, where we waited for the bus to sun moon lake. Without luggage, one can walk up to the bus station using the staircase.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We arrived at night after a day of travelling from Taoyuan International Airport. Not sure if it was because we were rather late in our booking, we were given the suite, '山景', which was at the top floor of this establishment. Indeed, our room had the view of the mountains around Alishan area which was very beautiful. Initially, we didn't expect to squeeze all 5 of us in the same room, however upon checking with the reception, yes, we were booked for that one room. All 5 of us. The suite was rather big. However, there were only enough sleeping beds for 3 persons while the other 2 had to use the tatami bed which was together in the living room. One plus point was that there was jaccuzi bath tub in the toilet. However, since there were 5 of us, waiting time to do our business was lengthened. Even though this hotel provides basic conditions for staying a night for us, it does the job of giving us a good location in terms of visiting Alishan Recreation Area and to watch the sunrise at Zushan since it was near the train station where the train departs at between 4am and 5am to take people there. The breakfast was however mediocre and did not give me the appetite to eat upon just looking at the food. Had to go to the 7-11 to get some tea egg and cup noodles to fill myself for breakfast. Overall, don't expect luxury to stay in this hotel. Just enough for a night stay to explore Alishan.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckzx93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

要去往酒店,必须上下阶梯,很喘,不适合老人家。但房间不错,很清洁,也设有无线上网服务,也有浴缸。
Have to walk some distance to the hotel.Not suitable for the old person.But the room is clean,and got wifi.It also provided a bathtube in the bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The only plus point is its location. It is near the Alishan train station where you take the train to the peak to watch sun rise or to any other stops within the compound. The room is super small. Hardly any space for you to place your luggage. The bed is small too. It would be uncomfortable if you are of bigger size.

Breakfast is served in another building 5 minutes walk away. When the weather is cold, the walk matters a lot. The hotel does rent out warm clothing if you need one at NT100 per day.

Stay away if you can. However, there aren't many options on Alishan anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yapahloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chiayi County hotels

Bangkok
Level Contributor
214 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We booked this hotel via the internet, so we had to stay after arrival as it was prepaid. Expect a little dirty and old chamber with a small bed, right enough for two. The view is on the next building, two meters away. Staff hardly speaks English and is quite unfriendly. Breakfast is served in another building, 5 minutes walking distance: A dirty and run downed hall with Chinese dishes and sweet, watery coffee (only until 8.30am). The hotel is run-downed, common areas dirty and warm water only available from 6pm until 6 am. Internet was not working on our 2nd day, but the reception did not care about it. Around Alishan village are much better and nicer options than this old bunker.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiayi County hotels
0.0 mi away
Da Fong Hotel
Da Fong Hotel
#20 of 33 in Chiayi County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alishan House
Alishan House
#1 of 33 in Chiayi County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wankou Hotel
Wankou Hotel
#12 of 33 in Chiayi County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Alishan Shermuh International Tourist Hotel
Alishan Shermuh International To...
#22 of 33 in Chiayi County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
17.2 mi away
F Hotel Chiayi
F Hotel Chiayi
#2 of 33 in Chiayi County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
6.9 mi away
Fenchihu Hotel
Fenchihu Hotel
#7 of 33 in Chiayi County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gao Shan Ching Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gao Shan Ching Hotel

Property: Gao Shan Ching Hotel
Address: No.43 Jhongjheng Village, Alishan, Chiayi County, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Chiayi County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Chiayi County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gao Shan Ching Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gao Shan Ching Hotel Taiwan/Chiayi County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing