We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alishan Lauya Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A warm reception”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed in this set up for a night on 5 April 2014 during our visit to Alishan

The owner, Ms Tsui made us feel welcome and at home and did recommend a couple of good eats on the Fengqihu main street, as well as places to visit. All in all, we love our stay in Alishan, with forest and Taiwan charm magnificent scenery. Our quadruple room, amidst tatami style fit us well, and is spacious, comfortable and I must say it is very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifesacupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    22
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
48
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Best sleep and nap I've had in past 20 years was here in Lauya home stay.
Won't regret u made the trip... Owner couple are super nice super hospitable and one of the best home stays we've had the pleasure to stay in . Thanks for having us

Room Tip: Family room with tatamis and latex mattresses are the best sleep you'll ever have
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This must be a long overdue review but we went in December 2012 and it was our first time at Alishan. It was a very long journey from the train station to reach the place which made me rather carsick before we reached. However, upon reaching the place, I was simply awed by how beautiful the place is with the garden-like entrance and the view of the mountains from the room! The view is superb and we regretted not having to stay there longer! The room was rather spacious except that the lightings are abit dull.

The ownder was very friendly and took time to explain to us how we could explore the area as well as she helped us book a car to go up to the mountains the next morning. Her service was excellent and she was very friendly.

I would strongly recommend people who wish to go Alishan to stay at this B&B. It will be an unforgettable experience and you would wish you have stayed longer!!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the mountains if I'm not wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had an amazing time at Lauya Homestay. We arrived after dark, having driven up from Taipei and Taoyuan airport, and the lights were dimmed for firefly viewing just across from the property, which was hugely magical. It is situated by the main road but manages to cut itself off from the sound and chundering of tour buses (which don't pass through after hours anyway).

We were given impeccable and personable service throughout our stay, despite our initial reservations from reading some of the reviews here. It's a vegetarian homestay/B&B with rules for the comfort and enjoyment of other guests, so if you are unable to abide by them, you should choose someplace else.

The room is artfully decorated and very clean (with japanese-style futons to sleep on the floor), and breakfast is made available even if you have a 3am pick-up for the sunrise! The esoteric decor throughout the property is dustless and very cute and creative. Itineraries and maps available with recommendations for how to beat the hordes.

I felt so relaxed and happy by the end of it I did not want to leave!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honokaa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we tried to book this place via 'airbnb' because the calendar showed many vacant days for all rooms. According to the airbnb website, the calendar would be updated every 5 minutes. Since every room and every single day showed another price, we asked for the total price for 5 days because we wanted to stay 5 days in a row. We were put down very unfriendly by replying that all rooms are already fully booked, opposite to what the airbnb calendar showed. When we asked to please update the airbnb calendar consequently, we received a very rude email saying that they don't like customers who ask for a bargain and that they have the right to reject us. The point is that we simply had asked for a room, not for a bargain. Not a good attitude, if this person wants to succeed in the Tourist business then good luck. We now enjoy another place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank weltenbummler1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauyaGuesthouse, 業者 at Alishan Lauya Homestay, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear SIr

bargain or not ? How should we decline a request we don't want to accept?
We already have clear rate in airbnb for longer stay. Why should you get a special rate?
Be good at guiding airbnb principle or ignoring reading information first listed other's website?

Message from Wolf*:
we are looking for 1 room for 2 people, arriving May 14th for about 5 - 6 nights. Is this possible and could we """" have a special rate in this case"""" , please?
Some questions:
Is breakfast included or not?
Is ist really quiet / away from the main road?


Lauya reply:
Sorry ! No rooms available in May still! Thanks !

Message from Wolf*:
Then better update the calendar on your Airbnb website, it is misleading that it all shows ‘available’. """"Not a good behavior in the Airbnb community…""""


Lauya Reply:

We like the airbnb for we can decide which kind of guests we can accept.
And we still have the rights to decide should we close our calendar or not.
We really dont like guests who ask discount at his first request message ,that's why you got" No rooms available " circumlocutory reply immediately. It's not China or south Asia that you can ask discount everywhere. It's very impolite and not a good behavior in Taiwan. We already have clear rules for long stay and map in airbnb. Please save your time first before you teach someone's behavior.


Best Regards,

Lauya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Laura is such an amazing home stay - excellent blend of design and hospitality. The host goes all the way to arrange for our itinerary. You can also enjoy daily cut fruits alongside the great mountain view. The place is so tastefully decorated it feels like we were in a secret garden! We were here for 3 nights and it was not enough! We will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sin-Kwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The moment you step in, you will be welcome by the nicely decorated garden and their friendly staffs. They will helped advice you on the places of interests and how to get to these places. The whole place is nicely and homely decorated. We came back from dinner and the minsu offered us free tea, fresh fruits and some little snacks. The owner is very friendly and if you get the chance to talk to her, she has good knowledge of the plants in their garden and can give good advice of what herbs can help you. She noticed 1 of the travellers has slight cough and got him a nice drink that really stops his cough for the rest of the night! It's a MUST to go back again!!!

Room Tip: Required climbing of stairs, so best to carry light. Water heater will takes a while so need to wait...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesslyn2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiayi County hotels
6.9 mi away
Alishan House
Alishan House
#1 of 33 in Chiayi County
327 reviews
5.2 mi away
Alishan Shermuh International Tourist Hotel
Alishan Shermuh International To...
#22 of 33 in Chiayi County
89 reviews
6.4 mi away
Da Fong Hotel
Da Fong Hotel
#20 of 33 in Chiayi County
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
F Hotel Chiayi
F Hotel Chiayi
#3 of 33 in Chiayi County
43 reviews
11.1 mi away
Yundeng Landscape Hotel
Yundeng Landscape Hotel
#2 of 33 in Chiayi County
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alishan B&B - Aliscenery
Alishan B&B - Aliscenery
#1 of 142 in Chiayi County
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alishan Lauya Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alishan Lauya Homestay

Property: Alishan Lauya Homestay
Address: No.301-3 Leye Village, Alishan Town, Chiayi County 605, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Chiayi County
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Chiayi County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the geographical center of Alishan National Scenic Area.All buses to Alishan can align at our door.(ShangHudi Station)Free Breakfast and free pickup to lunch or dinner.2mins car distance to ShiJhuo. (7 restaurants,2 CVSs)10mins car distance to FenqiHu small train station.30mins bus distance to Alishan Forest Park.90mins bus distance to Chiayi Railway station.100mins bus distance to HSR Chiayi station.No smoking ,No pets. No children under 10 years old,No Additional Beds!Free Wifi,Free Breakfast,Free Parking,Free dancing clouds!Free tourism information services.Good:Rooms with great view around our quiet nature garden.Bad: Simple Breakfast,Small Bathroom,Need pickup service and share car cost if want to see sunrise at ChuShan in the early morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alishan Lauya Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alishan Lauya Homestay Taiwan/Chiayi County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing