We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little better than average - just!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Lion Restaurant

The Black Lion Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 20 Restaurants in Ellesmere
Cuisines: Bar, British, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A little better than average - just!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Tried here on a Friday evening as been in the area for 6 months and had not yet been. There were approx 3 other tables in but for a Friday night not very busy at all. We could sit wherever we chose and given a menu. Enough choice on the menu, I really wanted cod and chips and asked if the skin came on the fish (I can't eat it if it does!). The member of staff when asked said "probably" but did not offer to ask the chef..... uum. I opted for the chilli instead and my husband had the gammon. The food arrived, generous sizes and reasonably tasty. My husband had no complaints but he hardly ever does! The chilli was ok but to be honest I could make it tastier myself. Cannot comment on the desserts as we never had any. Good value for money, staff were pleasant enough all round. Not a lot of atmosphere. Would I go again?? Possibly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gilldawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    32
    20
    13
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food with great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stopped for drinks - very comfortable bar area. And food on a Friday night - staff very good. It is a pub restaurant but very pleasantly decorated, with a good menu and very reasonable prices.
The staff are excellent and make the meal a pleasure - very accommodating to individual requests
Would highly recommend for a casual wholesome meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead - UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Depends on how hungry you are .....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We booked this restaurant 'blind' knowing our canal boat would be moored in this area overnight. It was our anniversary and were hoping for a special meal - good job we're not overly fussy because it was far from special. As we arrived, we found a man walking around the main body of the bar/restaurant asking if we had seen any sign of life since we arrived ! Not a good start. The place was deserted apart from a couple of people in the bar (no staff) and another two tables of four guests eating (again no staff) ! After a few minutes, three staff came along (!!) and we were shown to our booked table. The eating area was very bland, absolutely no atmosphere & there no decorations on the walls apart from a couple of comic merekat pictures hmmmmm. One waiter was most grumpy when we asked him for a wine list - it was like he hadn't been asked for one in years but the other waiting staff were nice and happy to help. The food was reasonable, we had a garlic bread to start and it looked like it had come straight out of a supermarket packet and warmed up. The mains were a good size,reasonably priced and tasty but when was the last time you saw a banana split on the menu for desert ? I can't decide what this place was trying to be - the building is obviously very old but they are trying to create a modern feel to the inside and failing. A bit sad really. All in all, good food, reasonable prices but don't go there unless you're really hungry and don't care where you eat. Sorry .....

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FPLOCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for meat eaters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Seven of us turned up without booking on a bank holiday Monday evening. The staff were friendly and helpful, the beer was good and the meat-eaters amongst us did well for food. My burger was tasty and cooked just right, served with chips and hand-made cole slaw and a choice of toppings and sauces (I had mushrooms, cheese and home-made barbecue sauce). There were a few vegetarian options on the menu but unfortunately nothing suitable for our vegan friend, who ended up having jacket potato and baked beans for the second time that day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KingAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Well situated pub with good food at reasonable prices. Staff were a little put out when we asked for a table for 9 and they had to put 2 tables together, but the food and real ale made up for grumpy staff!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lesecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Lion Restaurant also viewed

Ellesmere, Shropshire
Ellesmere, Shropshire
 
Ellesmere, Shropshire
Wrexham, Wrexham County
 

Been to The Black Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing