We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A relaxing break!”
other travellers have booked this property
Indoor heated swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Indoor heated swimming pool
Homemade cake with complimentary tea and coffee is waiting on arrival.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Indoor heated swimming pool
Homemade cake with complimentary tea and coffee is waiting on arrival.
Modern spacious lounge with TV/DVD, free wi-fi and underfloor heating throughout.
Super-king sized beds with the best cotton and anti-allergy bedding.
Super-king sized beds with the best cotton and anti-allergy bedding.
Original features are left untouched, the bedrooms all have storage, vanity tables and mirrors.
Well stocked fitted kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, freezer, oven and microwave.
Fluffy large bath sheets are provided on heated towel rails in the bathroom.
Beautiful paved access with plenty of private off road parking.
The Courtyard has its own outdoor seating area with access to a BBQ.
We are proud of our 4 Star Gold Award status from Visit England.
Our pet lambs and chickens just love a bit of fuss!
North Shropshire has plenty of places to discover, here is the Mere at Ellesmere, perfect for a walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ellesmere, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Warwicksh...
warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A relaxing break!”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed in The Courtyard which sleeps 4 for 4 nights. The cottage is lovely and well appointed and the beds are very comfortable. The onsite pool and spa facilities are great. The owners are very nice and are onsite if you need help with anything. The cottage (one of 3) is situated in the village of Burlton which is close to Shrewsbury and Wem. Great pubs to eat out in such as the Dickin Inn in Loppington. Lovely walks at Ellesmere and you can stop off at the Boathouse for coffee on the way. I would recommend the cottage and we will definitely look to return in the future. We had a lovely relaxing stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you and we do hope you return again soon. We are great fans of The Dickin Inn too so glad you enjoyed going there too.
Regards,
Rachel
Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed here last week for 5 nights and had a lovely time. The cottage is absolutely gorgeous and has all the amenities you need for a short break away. Rachel was really friendly and helpful when we arrived and the Victoria Sponge cake was lovely. The fenced outdoor space is great - especially as we have a toddler. The cottages are in a great location for getting to lots of different places and we'd love to visit again in the future when the swimming pool area has opened!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2017
Thank you for such a lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you stay here. Just 42 days until the indoor pool and Spa opens, we are all very excited. Thanks again, Rachel Burlton Cottages.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoppyColl...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you want a very modern barn conversion, thought of everything holiday rental in the beautiful Shropshire countryside, well you will find it at Burlton Cottages. I rented the Stables cottage, which has it's own picket fence garden and patio area, my pooch and I couldn't of asked for a more idyllic place to stay. A welcome Victoria sponge cake on arrival is a very special touch.
Rachel and Clara are doing an outstanding job.
Highly recommend the Burlton Inn for a place to eat, varied menu, the food was delicious and a very warm welcome from the staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, I shall ensure Clara and The Burlton Inn get the feedback too. The cake is no trouble, and we are pleased you really enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, many thanks Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaynie57
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat - Rachael thought of everything”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! My husband, our two Golden Retrievers and I visited for three nights last weekend and stayed in the Stables. Perfect for us, as there was an enclosed garden, so that the dogs could come and go from the property as they pleased, but were safe too. There was a beautiful home made victoria sponge waiting for us, which if it had not been in a tin, would surely have floated to the ceiling! Everything in the property was of the best quality - the sheets, towels, kitchen equipment etc, and Rachael had thought of everything! She even bought us a cloth to wipe the chairs in the garden, as the weather was nice, although they didn't need it. Everything was spotless! We visited the Dickin Arms in Loppington for a couple of very nice pints, where the dogs were made very welcome, and had a super walk at Carding Mill Valley, where the dogs enjoyed splashing about in the waterfall and stream. There were also good walks direct from the Stables, and as the farm is arable, there was no worry that we would certainly come up against livestock, although the dogs gave a hare a run for its money!!
Many thanks Rachael

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words, it really is appreciated after a busy summer. There are so many hares on the farm this year, lovely to see but every dog owners fear! Great to meet you all, thanks again, Rachel, Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gez5644
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“I've found my perfect rural retreat.”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just returned from a 2 night stay in The Courtyard at Burlton Cottages and felt right at home from the minute we arrived. I was visiting my brother in Shrewsbury and wanted somewhere for myself, my parents and 2 dogs and this property looked petfect and it certainly didn't disappoint. Rachel made us feel very welcome and the homemade Victoria Sponge waiting for us went down very well - a lovely gesture. The properties themselves are done to a very high standard with everything we needed. We couldn't fault anything, it was perfect. There is plenty of outside space and walks, ideal for me and my dogs.
We all enjoyed a relaxing stay, including Nala & Mia my 2 Ridgebacks and look forward to another visit. Next time will stay longer. Thank you Rachel and Gerry.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments, we look forward to having you stay again. Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui S
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic warm and cosy cottage with all mod cons.”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The best nights sleep in a long time, the beds were so comfortable and the pillows were divine! My feet luxuriated on the warm floor throughout the whole cottage. I love cooking and found everything I needed to be able to cook with ease.
Rachael was a delightful hostess, my son loved the flapjacks and liked the warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and felt a little luxurious
Liked least: not staying longer
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it was lovely to meet you. Best of luck with your plans, Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theflooze
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High Quality”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of October. Accommodation very well equipped to a high standard. All rooms are comfortable and spacious. Rachel was very welcoming - complete with cake! My only gripe was that there were no instructions for either the oven or the underfloor heating, so we could not use the oven and at times the cottage wasn't warm enough. The nearby pub had just been taken over and, whilst virtually empty on our three visits, the food was of good quality and good value. A nice quiet setting and a visit to the sheep is a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Lack of information about cottage facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing