We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Warm bubbles and relaxing loungers
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Warm bubbles and relaxing loungers
Indoor heated swimming pool Leather seating for four people at the dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Warm bubbles and relaxing loungers
Indoor heated swimming pool
Leather seating for four people at the dining table
Tastefully decorated to a high standard throughout.
Four Star Gold Award from Visit England
The girls at the bottom of the farmyard.
One of the many meres to discover at Ellesmere
The local pub is walking distance away
Pontcysyllte Aquaduct, towering 126 feet above the Dee Valley.
Ironbridge, with 10 award winning museums.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ellesmere, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nigel L
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Immaculately clean cottage with excellent facilities. The owners made us welcome on arrival and had provided a delicious cake and supplies of tea and coffee etc. The cottage is newly renovated and with an excellent standard of fittings. It was very warm thanks to under floor heating with instant hot water. The location is good with Shrewsbury, the nearby lakes and many gardens and NT properties within twenty miles. This is an upper floor cottage. Anyone less able worried about access might prefer the ground floor cottage on the same site which also has a larger bedroom and windows but is not as private.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review. So many guests have said how much they enjoy The Granary because it is so private - a true rural retreat!
It was lovely to meet you both, and thanks again. Rachel - Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm Welcome”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very high quality cottage, spacious and comfortable. Made to feel very welcome, the owner had even baked us a cake. Lots of personal touches, we certainly hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality, cleanliness, comfort, friendly welcome.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
We would be delighted to see you return and thank you so much for your kind comments.
With Kind Regards,
Rachel
Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
1 review
“A lovely welcome to a well-equipped, comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A superb clean and airy cottage with all the equipment of a much larger property. It is a very well thought out property with many added extras which made our stay especially pleasant and comfortable.
Rachel warmly welcomed us and left us her delicious homemade sponge cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you both and I wish you a lovely time over the summer months.
Many thanks
Rachel
Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean_Norm...
Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent few days”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We spent a really great 3 nights visiting Shropshire and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Granary. It was an excellent cottage and had been furnished with care, every need was catered for, even down to a lovely Victoria sponge. Rachel was very welcoming and explained everything in the property.

We loved the property and really enjoyed Shropshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Unable to get internet access, although I believe a booster is being installed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
Dear Norma,

Thank you for your kind words, its very much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Shropshire, it really is a hidden gem!

Kind Regards, Rachel Mee Burlton Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sjf8723
Royal Tunbridge Wells, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rural retreat”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just returned from a 5 night break in Shropshire, staying in The Granary in Burlton Cottages. It was a great holiday and excellent value when considering the standard of the accommodation and the lovely rural setting.
On arrival, we were greeted by Rachel who showed us around and having also made a lovely sponge cake for us.
The cottage was spacious and light and decorated really tastefully.
Being located on a farm was really nice too, with local walks available from the door step which could always start with a quick visit to see the lovely lambs.
These cottages provide a perfect retreat, there was nothing that we needed that wasn't taken care of, from a luxuriously furnished apartment, to the simple, yet vital things like a tin opener!
We didn't want to leave and hope to return in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to meet you both. The Granary does offer a sense of space and tranquillity, perfect for that rural getaway.
The lambs are loving this bright weather and seem to be growing so quickly. They are getting quite a force now at bottle feeding time!
Hope to see you here again soon, thanks again. Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
467gb
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is our second visit to Burlton cottages. Last time we stayed in the stable cottage which was really nice however it was booked up so we booked into the Granary. The cottage is very well furnished and thought out,we would have no problem staying in any one of the three cottages as they are all so well finished. We are hoping to get to stay there again later this month but sadly for the last time as we love the area so much we have bought a house nearby. If you stay here you will certainly want to come back.You even get one of Rachel's yummy cakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing