We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Gulf Islands National Seashore - Florida District
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 150-mile stretch of seashore, which runs from Cat Island in Mississippi to Santa Rosa Island in Florida, offers sparkling blue water and many beautiful beaches along the way.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
387 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We spent a few glorious days here! When you get to the post pay the $8 for the week pass! It's SO worth it. Day 1 we drove all the way to the end to see Ft. Pickens and then made our way back around to Langdon Beach. If you are a family with children this is a beach for you, actually it's a beach for everyone! It was very secluded compared to the beaches you don't have to pay for which was a huge plus! Park next to the Pavilion. You can store your lunch in your car until ready to eat and then head straight for the covered picnic tables. There isn't anything around here to get lunch from do make sure you pack a cooler. There were bathrooms and showers to wash off in, lifeguards and you could also rent an umbrella with chairs if you didn't bring your own. We swam in the ocean and saw dolphins in the wild which was incredible. Day 2, once we got through the post I walked the 4 miles to the beach with my camera while the rest of my family travelled on and set up. It was a beautiful peaceful experience. Seeing crabs, birds and hearing the waves crash and just enjoying God's beauty. I recommend everyone do this!

Helpful?
4 Thank Williamsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    762
    95
    15
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We paid $8 to get into the national park area. While there we snorkeled with a ranger guide, had another ranger show us "island treasures" (molds of sea animal skulls, shells, etc...), went to the beach for a few hours, and did a self guided tour of the fort. We can go back all week using the $8 pass we already purchased. Totally worth it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
982 reviews
239 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“beautiful stretch of beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just beautiful. Spped limit is 20 throughout because of protected bird nesting and there are 3-4 speedbumps you must slow down to 15 for. We saw crabs crossing the street at night too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SmurfySmurfette80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pay the $8 and enjoy a very nice quiet spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

It's beautiful. We came early with our suits on. We had our ice chest and beach chairs and umbrella. We stopped at Fort Pickens first (came right when it opened) then found a spot on the beach. Stayed out there for several hours. Nice bathrooms, there was even a shower which was very nice. We saw dolphins playing in the water. There were little crabs walking on the beach. It was just excellent. Not crowded, but quiet and beautiful. Would definitely go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bnkb1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very interesting park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

first time visitor to Gulf NS park which is at the western end of Pensacola Beach. $8 entrance fee for 8 day pass. Fort Pickens has visitor center which shows history of fort and offers books, etc. about its history. Fort visitor center opened about 8:30am, park is sunrise to sunset. fort has a lot of places to walk around and see... bring a good flashlight to help light up dark rooms and some inner walk areas. Atop fort has some very beautiful views. Spreadout over good amount of ground so you'll drive to the different outlying batteries that protected the fort. Arrive early to minimize the impact of the heat but walking inside the fort areas were very cool. a lot of interesting history. between the fort and end of island is a museum which is a must see and talks about fort, storms, nature, kid friendly. we parked the car at the end of the park drive (north/inland side) and walked around the shoreline to the other side (about 50 mins walk) and once you come around the gulf side, look for a path near the dunes and inland pond that will take you up to a knee high concrete wall to walk atop back around to where you parked by fishing pier. There is a campground store for refreshments as you approach the fort. there are some short hiking trails which we didn't walk. Take time to stop and walk up to each of the different batteries surrounding the fort. Kids will enjoy the climbing around.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Steelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gulf Islands National Seashore - Florida District also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Gulf Islands National Seashore - Florida District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing