We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting fort and scenery”
Review of Fort Pickens

Fort Pickens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take a self-guided tour of this authentic fort active during the Civil War and later used as a jail to hold the infamous American Indian chief Geronimo.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Interesting fort and scenery”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a federal park area and there is an admission fee, but if you have a senior park pass it's free. There is a self guided tour of the fort and a small visitor center with some interesting exhibits about the fort and the seashore area. Some secluded beaches and an area directly across from the naval air station. Worth spending a few hours if you're in the area. Was built as a coastal defense, but had a battle during the civil war and used as a prison for Geronimo.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nabman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    385
    58
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford City, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Scenic”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A really cool Fort to visit while in Pensacola. The kids loved running around & there's some awesome views from the top. The drive there alone, along the Gulf Shores is gorgeous!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanaLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, AR
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Little Boy Heaven!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Ft. Pickens is not to be missed, especially if you've got kids! There is plenty of space to run & explore & be loud. My 7 year old thought the fort was fantastic & so much fun to explore. He loved getting up close to cannons, walking down dark tunnels, & climbing up on the top of the fort.

One warning: beware of the ants & cockleburs. They are everywhere at the fort & you'll likely meet up with them. Other than those issues, we had a blast.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wildlife Abounds”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent a day here at Fort Pickens and the National Seashore. We thought the fort was very interesting but we were fascinated by the local wildlife. We enjoyed watching the cranes. One of them was trying to steal a woman's fish off her line. I found this amusing. The woman with the fishing pole was a little annoyed, I believe. We also so crabs and ghost crabs. We got a first hand look at jellies in and out of the water. It was a beautiful October day and we enjoyed the beauty of God's creation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank family4fun22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
233 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,116 helpful votes
“A Step Back Into Time”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

All alone out there on that peninsula, Ft. Pickens guarded the bay from unwanted attack. One of only three forts not taken by the Confederates during the Civil War, many of the original fortifications are still present. The history of Ft. Pickens extends to the Indians of the west as it became the prison for the famous Apache Chief, Geronimo.

If you have the time, it is a worthwhile visit. There is a museum display, but I wish there was a better movie depicting the history of this famous place. Going through Ft. Pickens is taking a step back into history. And, if you catch a tour, it would be even more worthwhile visiting.

There is a beautiful view of the surrounding area on top of the fort. You can easily see why the fort was built here in 1834. If you are lucky, you may see the Naval planes flying or helicopter maneuvers in the bay with frogman. Anyone with a fascination of the Civil War, this place is a must see.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Pickens also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fort Pickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing