We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Explore!”
Review of Fort Pickens

Fort Pickens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take a self-guided tour of this authentic fort active during the Civil War and later used as a jail to hold the infamous American Indian chief Geronimo.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
249 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Explore!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a place where you have to get out of your car and crawl around the ruins in order to really enjoy it! If you're looking for polished, multi-media exhibits, this is not the place for you. We walked around the sea-wall, crawled up and down into various rooms--even felt what it was like to be behind bars!

Besides the fort, there are fantastic beaches. Additionally, we saw several scuba divers diving right off of the seawall. According to the guy we talked to, it's pretty decent shore diving.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    988
    376
    56
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's Just Ok”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lots of history and photo ops, but not that much to do. We walked around for a little bit but didn't stay long. The best part was the drive in and out. Stop at one of the beaches, you won't regret it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank elchaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Went for the history, stayed for 3 hours”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Took the tour of the fort which pretty much covered everything about the fort. Did some exploring on our own, loved how open it was, not a gate over any door. Then drove around to the other battelments on the island, not as open, but still awesome to climb around and explore. The beach couldn't be beat, and the rolling sand dunes made the drive breathtaking.
Was hoping to see Ft Barancas and air museum on the naval base, but we didn't feel like having our car randomly searched by base security (get enough of that at the airport, don't need it when I visit a historical site). Fort Pickens was bigger and hassle free. Glad we went.

Helpful?
Thank TravelNTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunset drive”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We loved the leisurely drive and stops among the dunes. We went near sunset and saw tons of shorebirds mating, nesting, and feeding. The fort itself is mildly interesting as well. A good place to spend an hour or two before dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank barbylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really Disappointing!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had heard great things about this park, but found it to be disappointing. The spaces are all very close together with no trees or foliage to create privacy. The showers (which are unisex) were flooded and messy. We really wanted to love this park, but didn't.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Pickens also viewed

 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fort Pickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing