We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best kept secret of florida” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Pickens

Fort Pickens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can take a self-guided tour of this authentic fort active during the Civil War and later used as a jail to hold the infamous American Indian chief Geronimo.
Freeport, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best kept secret of florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have enjoyed this park for decades, and we still discover new things with every visit. the fort itself is a marvel, we've also been fortunate enough to catch a few nighttime tours. Camping area is nice. lots of places to walk and explore even with a small child.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZeeBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    925
    349
    50
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diamond, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Fort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The fort is visible but does not open early enough for us. This is still a great place to visit-just plan to go late morning.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
249 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Explore!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a place where you have to get out of your car and crawl around the ruins in order to really enjoy it! If you're looking for polished, multi-media exhibits, this is not the place for you. We walked around the sea-wall, crawled up and down into various rooms--even felt what it was like to be behind bars!

Besides the fort, there are fantastic beaches. Additionally, we saw several scuba divers diving right off of the seawall. According to the guy we talked to, it's pretty decent shore diving.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“It's Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Lots of history and photo ops, but not that much to do. We walked around for a little bit but didn't stay long. The best part was the drive in and out. Stop at one of the beaches, you won't regret it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank elchaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Went for the history, stayed for 3 hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Took the tour of the fort which pretty much covered everything about the fort. Did some exploring on our own, loved how open it was, not a gate over any door. Then drove around to the other battelments on the island, not as open, but still awesome to climb around and explore. The beach couldn't be beat, and the rolling sand dunes made the drive breathtaking.
Was hoping to see Ft Barancas and air museum on the naval base, but we didn't feel like having our car randomly searched by base security (get enough of that at the airport, don't need it when I visit a historical site). Fort Pickens was bigger and hassle free. Glad we went.

Helpful?
Thank TravelNTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Pickens also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Fort Pickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing