We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you like primitive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pensacola Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Pickens Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We checked in and someone was on our site. It is very hard to tell which site is which. Once we got that all settled, we learned that the place is teeming with poisonous snakes, so you must be careful. Also, the campground is extremely susceptible to flooding, so choose your site wisely. We were on D003 and it was a great site. When we were there, it rained several inches, and we were one of the few sites that were completely dry. We were tent camping, and our tent did not get wet. Also, make sure you keep food on hand, since the road can flood and you can get stuck there. It is 20 minutes back to civilization, so if you don't like seclusion, don't stay here. We loved that about it, because the Pensacola Beach area was too busy for our liking. The beach here at Ft. Pickens was very nice, and not crowded. Langdon Beach is a mile away and has a lifeguard and facilities and a few more visitors from the mainland. You will need to pay a park service fee to come back to Ft. Pickens, but it is very minimal. Overall, the park is minimally maintained, but then again, they don't charge much. The campground store is well stocked. You can walk to the beach and the bay side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank snpkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've written a review before, but we've been back and we had a much better experience this time. We stayed in our pop up camper for one night last weekend (end of July) and we really had a wonderful time. This time we stayed in A loop. We had a spot right next to the nature trail which gave us ample space and it had *some shade in the afternoon hours because there was a great tree there (kids had fun climbing it too). It was also very near the bathrooms and in this loop we were closer to the gulf beach access too. We walked to the gulf at night and had a wonderful time hunting for sand crabs. I grew up going to Ft Pickens and I'm so glad I can give these same memories to my kids. The nature trail was a very nice walk too. We saw osprey nests and lots of birds and wild life. Oh and the camp hosts were very nice. Our car battery died the next morning and they were very quick to help get us jump started and were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anjelina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We arrived on July 6th to a soaked area from recent rains. The road to the campground and park were closed to visitors and only open to campers with reservations. We had to drive through flooded areas, but it was not impassable with our mini-van. You have to pay $8 to enter the park on top of your camingg fees. We stayed in a tent. Notable things about the campground: Facilities a bit run down (not uncommon for bathrooms to be very dirty before the cleaning crew comes in the mornings, also exect to see various bugs and frogs joining you for a shower), sites small (you feel like your on-top of your neighbors), very little shade (bring a canopy or tarps to create shade - make sure you can support your canopies/tarps as there are very few places to secure them), Security/park hosts are very on-top of making sure you follow the rules (they will issue notes to let you know if you have broken a rule) and low lying areas can flood easily and make it hard to find a dry spot for a tent. All that being said, you have great access to some beautiful beaches. The birding was excellent. We watched Ospry in their nests with young, blue birds came to our site, along with other native birds. We had only planned to stay 3 days, but extended to another 3 because it was so beautiful. Make sure to have what you need when you get to the campground as it's a bit of a drive to get off the island, and honestly there is no reason to leave. We visited the fort and the batteries near by several times. Great little museum, and well air conditioned for an afternoon break. Overall, I couldn't give it a 5 because the facilities needed work and the sites were small, but I would definately visit again.

Room Tip: Do some research before you go and try to find a shaded site. You can find pictures on the reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disneyhlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We camped for just one night in mid July. The campground was quite crowded. Well, it was a weekend, so not unexpected. The gulf beach is about 5 minutes walk. However, we liked Langdon beach more which is about 3 minutes drive, you can walk, too. The campground has flush toilet, showers, laundry. The store is well-equipped.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Dwaipayan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I camped here with my family for over 20 years straight, until the hurricane destroyed a lot of it and it was shut down, so when it reopened a few years ago, I was so excited. I consider this place to be one of those "hidden gems". As I was growing up, I loved coming here and making new friends each time. The campground is large and has grown and added new loops over the years. There are forts to bike to, trails to hike, and beautiful beaches to roam. The campground store always has cold treats that are nice on a hot Florida day. The campground is kept clean and you aren't allowed to park vehicles on the grass, which I think helps to keep each site clean and tidy. Campgound hosts constantly patrol and are always quick to help if needed. I will never forget the long walks out to the beach on the steaming hot boardwalks. You can hear the waves crashing about 50 feet before you top the sand dunes and it makes that long walk well worth it. Hope to have many more years of coming here.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights in a travel trailer and will definitley return. While the campground grounds needs some love and attention, but given the budget cuts for our National Park system funding, it is acceptable and still high on our list. The bathhouses are clean but don't expect Florida State Park quality.....again likely due to funding. The camp store is well stocked and reasonably priced so if you need something within reason, odds are they have it. You have a choice of Langdon Beach which has a pavillion area ( no grills or cooking allowed) with life guards and restrooms or the beaches that are close to the camping loops and accessible by a boardwalk. There are sites available for every camping rig...from tents to trailers to big rigs. This is by far the friendliest campground we have stayed at in a very long time. As well, as crowded as it is, it is very quiet. The beach is amazing and if you pack right, you never have to leave the park unless you want to excursion off. The minute you enter the National Seashore you will be lost in the natural beauty.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jeepluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The campsite is pretty but for rv's the set up is all wrong. They allow as many tents as can fit on each site. It is so crowded that we struggled to get the rv through the roads. The sites are very small and if your car does not fit on the pad you have to park in overflow parking (which is a decent walk away). And if you do have your car next to your rv for even a second (as we were hooking up to go) the "car police" will come to give you a note to say it can't be parked there. Try other rv parks when staying at the beach. Unless of course you are in a tent.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank alisaCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola Beach
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,696 reviews
4.4 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,187 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,235 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Pickens Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Pickens Campground

Address: 1400 Fort Pickens Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-5116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Pensacola Beach
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Fort Pickens Campground Hotel Pensacola
Fort Pickens Campground Pensacola Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing