We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fort Pickens Campground
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
US$248
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$257
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Margaritaville Beach Hotel(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Pensacola Beach(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
US$283
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$360
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach(Pensacola Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
US$239
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Portofino Island Resort(Pensacola Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Inn(Pensacola Beach)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
113
75
20
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
75
20
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscamp storelangdon beachtent campingbig rigsdump stationoverflow parkingsenior passfire ringbathrooms and showerstravel trailercamp groundblue angels practicingbathroom facilitytree covercamp hostflorida trailself guided
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We checked in and someone was on our site. It is very hard to tell which site is which. Once we got that all settled, we learned that the place is teeming with poisonous snakes, so you must be careful. Also, the campground is extremely susceptible to flooding, so choose your site wisely. We were on D003 and it was a great site. When we were there, it rained several inches, and we were one of the few sites that were completely dry. We were tent camping, and our tent did not get wet. Also, make sure you keep food on hand, since the road can flood and you can get stuck there. It is 20 minutes back to civilization, so if you don't like seclusion, don't stay here. We loved that about it, because the Pensacola Beach area was too busy for our liking. The beach here at Ft. Pickens was very nice, and not crowded. Langdon Beach is a mile away and has a lifeguard and facilities and a few more visitors from the mainland. You will need to pay a park service fee to come back to Ft. Pickens, but it is very minimal. Overall, the park is minimally maintained, but then again, they don't charge much. The campground store is well stocked. You can walk to the beach and the bay side.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank snpkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I've written a review before, but we've been back and we had a much better experience this time. We stayed in our pop up camper for one night last weekend (end of July) and we really had a wonderful time. This time we stayed in A loop. We had a spot right next to the nature trail which gave us ample space and it had *some shade in the afternoon hours because there was a great tree there (kids had fun climbing it too). It was also very near the bathrooms and in this loop we were closer to the gulf beach access too. We walked to the gulf at night and had a wonderful time hunting for sand crabs. I grew up going to Ft Pickens and I'm so glad I can give these same memories to my kids. The nature trail was a very nice walk too. We saw osprey nests and lots of birds and wild life. Oh and the camp hosts were very nice. Our car battery died the next morning and they were very quick to help get us jump started and were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anjelina55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We arrived on July 6th to a soaked area from recent rains. The road to the campground and park were closed to visitors and only open to campers with reservations. We had to drive through flooded areas, but it was not impassable with our mini-van. You have to pay $8 to enter the park on top of your camingg fees. We stayed in a tent. Notable things about the campground: Facilities a bit run down (not uncommon for bathrooms to be very dirty before the cleaning crew comes in the mornings, also exect to see various bugs and frogs joining you for a shower), sites small (you feel like your on-top of your neighbors), very little shade (bring a canopy or tarps to create shade - make sure you can support your canopies/tarps as there are very few places to secure them), Security/park hosts are very on-top of making sure you follow the rules (they will issue notes to let you know if you have broken a rule) and low lying areas can flood easily and make it hard to find a dry spot for a tent. All that being said, you have great access to some beautiful beaches. The birding was excellent. We watched Ospry in their nests with young, blue birds came to our site, along with other native birds. We had only planned to stay 3 days, but extended to another 3 because it was so beautiful. Make sure to have what you need when you get to the campground as it's a bit of a drive to get off the island, and honestly there is no reason to leave. We visited the fort and the batteries near by several times. Great little museum, and well air conditioned for an afternoon break. Overall, I couldn't give it a 5 because the facilities needed work and the sites were small, but I would definately visit again.

Room Tip: Do some research before you go and try to find a shaded site. You can find pictures on the reservation website or in reviews on-line. Also note you may have to be creative in hanging towels/swim suits out to dry due to lack of trees. Loop A looked nice and less crowded. We stayed in D.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disneyhlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We camped for just one night in mid July. The campground was quite crowded. Well, it was a weekend, so not unexpected. The gulf beach is about 5 minutes walk. However, we liked Langdon beach more which is about 3 minutes drive, you can walk, too. The campground has flush toilet, showers, laundry. The store is well-equipped.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Dwaipayan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I camped here with my family for over 20 years straight, until the hurricane destroyed a lot of it and it was shut down, so when it reopened a few years ago, I was so excited. I consider this place to be one of those "hidden gems". As I was growing up, I loved coming here and making new friends each time. The campground is large and has grown and added new loops over the years. There are forts to bike to, trails to hike, and beautiful beaches to roam. The campground store always has cold treats that are nice on a hot Florida day. The campground is kept clean and you aren't allowed to park vehicles on the grass, which I think helps to keep each site clean and tidy. Campgound hosts constantly patrol and are always quick to help if needed. I will never forget the long walks out to the beach on the steaming hot boardwalks. You can hear the waves crashing about 50 feet before you top the sand dunes and it makes that long walk well worth it. Hope to have many more years of coming here.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank Clay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews