We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pensacola Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fort Pickens Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed at the group campsite and had a great time! We had our own driveway with a locked gate plus our own bath facility. There is no electricity (meaning the shower water is cold) but, you are not far from the other facilities if this is important to you, you can just walk one of the many trails. There is also a camp store in case you forgot anything. Very private, very well maintained - can't beat the beautiful scenery! Next time however, I will pack earplugs. I didn't realize how loud camping this close to the ocean would be.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stacy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Fort Pickens Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed here one night in our RV with our German Shepherd. The gorgeous white sand beach access is a short walk away and there are several wonderful trails, including a national birding trail. The RV sites were a bit small and less private - fairly close together. Watch the tree limbs in some spots when backing in!

Bathroom facilities were acceptable. Showers were somewhat small so your clothing and accessories may get wet. I understand the nice new showers were ordered to be locked until they met disability/ADA standards so they were not able to be used at this time by anyone, unfortunately.

Sites had charcoal grills and picnic tables with full electric and water for a mere $26 a night. With the senior pass, $13! Restaurants, bars, amusement, touristy things were only about a four mile drive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
13  Thank Hilda0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The campground is clean and has electricity, which is a plus! There is a store on campus selling anything you could possibly need. It is within walking distance to the beach, where you can find a private spot off to yourself. The bay side of the Island is a great place to snorkel and explore the sea shore wildlife. (Hermit crabs EVERYWHERE!) It was a great and we really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank countrylady54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

December is definitely the off-season here. Weather was gorgeous one day, cold and rainy another day, with remaining days semi-comfortable. On the one gorgeous day, we had the spectacular white sand beach all to ourselves. The beach is an easy 300-m walk from Loop A, which is close enough to the beach to hear the surf. Verizon voice and MiFi worked well.

Room Tip: Our ankles quickly got chewed up by no-see-ums, so we suggest regular use of insect repellent while...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank drczap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I go to Ft. Pickens twice a year, most years. It is one of the best places we have been for relaxation. The beaches are beautiful and easy to get to from the campground. We have stayed in various campsites in section A. All were very nice. We have enjoyed exploring the fort, the walking trails, and all the wildlife. Most of all I just enjoy watching the surf and walking on the beach to pick up sea shells. A wonderful place we look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank annmca2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My hubby & I stayed here (@tent site). We had a great time... the walkways through the grounds are amazing. we seen lots of birds & beautiful plants. The fort(s) where a great history lesson, & the staff very friendly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ginspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent only one night there, but it had been better than the nights we spent in hotels. Even though the campsite was flooded, there are some areas that are higher than others and that allow you to stay dry.
Toilets and showers are clean and close from all the tent places, and the environment is incredible. The campsite is pretty calm, and you can park your car on concrete, which is useful if it starts getting muddy.
There is the start of a lovely path, in front of one of the toilet blocks, which leads you in the wild, joining the main Florida Bird Trail. An access to the beach is provided right in front of the campsite.
The only thing would be the ranger woman, who could be a little nicer...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Efw28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pensacola Beach
5.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,214 reviews
4.4 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,172 reviews
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,669 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pensacola/Gulf Breeze
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Pickens Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Pickens Campground

Address: 1400 Fort Pickens Rd, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-5116
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Pensacola Beach
Price Range: £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Fort Pickens Campground Hotel Pensacola
Fort Pickens Campground Pensacola Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing