We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tower 5-1001”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portofino Island Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was our first time to Portofino island. We will def be back. We loved the spacious condo, how you could see water from every window, outside dining table and grill on our balcony. We had one maintenance issue (toilet running) and it was fixed within the hour. Elevators were very fast, rarely had to wait. So nice to have reserved parking spaces. Our favorite spot was the main pool area after 5pm...live music plus the sunset over the made for perfect end of our days. We never had trouble finding a chair. Esp loved the dolphin cruise and fireworks show. Our only complaint was a lumpy worn out mattress in master bedroom. We will be back to portofino island for sure!❤️

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Catinlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We cannot wait to have you back, live music on the pool deck all summer makes the evenings that much more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our experience was - "Got a problem? So sorry, too bad for you". It's a beautiful location, nice pools, and I'm sure there are nice condos. Our "luxury condo" with it's "fully equipped gourmet kitchen" was fair with lots of corners cut. Things like a broken clock were addressed slowly. Told "some owners don't keep up with their units." I asked for a discount and just like our experience in general, we found that what was promised is not what was delivered.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We strive to exceed expectations and it seems that we did not on this occasion. If you were promised a discount please contact us with whoever made the promise and we will be sure to follow up on the matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our third visit to Portofino. The condos are so dirty that you have to wear socks to even be able to walk on the floors. If not, your feet will turn black with dirt in a few minutes after walking around. The condo we stayed in is also just worn out. The main door actually could be pushed open with just a little force. Thus, anyone could go into your room when you were not there. We really had the same experience last year regarding cleanliness of condo and overall condition of condo. We gave it one more shot this but will not return. Beach s very nice! Pools are very crowded and service is not great around pools and throughout resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I'm still on vacation now but I have to write a review about this stay at Portofino Island Resort. We decided to splurge and get a Penthouse this time and the stay has been a little undesirable umm where do I start?
1. Flying roaches in Penthouse
2. Toilet stopped up twice
3. No power in the Master Bathroom
4. Maintenance slow to fix issues
5. Someone jumping off the 12th floor
6. Food and drinks are not that great bring your own items
I have two more days left hopefully they will be better then the last couple of days... I will say the Penthouse is beautiful and so is the view, but I was hoping for more this time around.

Room Tip: The photos do not do the rooms justice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank caligirl088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just returned from a two week trip to Pensacola and stayed at the Portofino. This was our first time visiting the area and we had a great time. I loved the white sand beach and the clear emerald water. Some days there were waves and some days you could just float in the ocean like a pool. We brought home a bucketful of beautiful shells that we found right where the waves break (there was a small drop when you entered the water). The kids enjoyed the inflatables at the sound. (Note: you had to be at least 18 to rent waverunners at the sound. You could rent waverunners near the Grand Marlin as young as 14 with a valid ID). We also enjoyed kayaking and paddle boarding on the beach. We saw dolphins, manta rays and even a sea turtle in the water. I was surprised that there weren't any lifeguards at the beach or the sound, though, since the Portofino had so many guests.

We stayed in Tower 5 which had a wonderful view of the beach. We never had an issue with elevators. This was the ideal location for us since we brought our own chairs and umbrellas and Tower 5 had its own beach access near the pool area. The area near the main access was very crowded since it provided 2 rows of rental chairs and umbrellas. It was still a short walk for us to get to the kayaks and paddle boards when we wanted to use them. You did need to cross a street to get to the beach from the Towers. Many cars did not stop when they saw us, but generally there was a break in traffic and we were able to cross without much issue.

The pool at the Lifestyle Center had live music every afternoon (and possibly in the evenings). Unfortunately, if you didn't get there by 10:00 a.m., it was difficult to find an "unreserved" chair (so many times I never saw a body in many of the chairs draped with towels all afternoon). After a few afternoons, we decided to stay on the beach and not deal with finding a chair. The pool was the same temperature as the air (around 90) so it was not refreshing anyway. Servers were on hand to take orders for drinks and food. After ordering a $7.50 beer, we decided to abstain. I believe their slushy drinks were over $10.

My daughter and husband went biking on the trail almost every day. They actually biked all the way to Navarre Beach one day!

The resort also had fireworks every Tuesday night in the sound which was fun. They also had other activities all through the week for children such as scavenger hunts and tie dying shirts.

We took a dolphin cruise, which was nice, but a little long (3 hours). We also visited the Naval Air Museum and saw the Blue Angels practice. That was really awesome, but extremely hot. Tip: bring an umbrella for shade until practice starts; made a huge difference while standing in a field. We went out at 10:30 for an 11:30 practice and all of the bleacher seats were already taken so I'm not sure what time to get there if you want a seat.

Some of the places we ate that we would recommend are Peg Leg Pete's, The Grand Marlin, Hemingway's and the Crabs restaurant.

I would recommend this resort. The staff, including the Adventure Team, was friendly and polite. The grounds were very pretty and clean. We had a fantastic time at the Portofino!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tsterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

It certainly sounds like you enjoyed many of our amenities! We hope you visit us again, next time you can enjoy the Blue Angels during their performance on Pensacola Beach in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Disappointed about check in, and deactivated key cards

We called beforehand and were advised early check in was available. We arrived at 10 and were advised check out was at 11 and to give them a few hours to clean. We "checked in" but would get activated keys once the cleaning was done. We returned at 2 and were told it want ready... Yet! Other family members were told flat out that it would be five pm, but we were never given that concrete of a time nor that it would take that much longer. Family who arrived after us, around 130 pm and "checked in" room became availed at around 3-330. We returned at 454 and we told again it would be ready at five. We along with several other angry guest waited til five on the clock and miraculously the room was clean.... All of them at the same time, in six minutes time????

No concessions were offered because it was ready at five......

We received five key cards and all but two were not activated. Of course the desk said that we must have touched them on a cell phone. Once they activated the bad keys the two that were working suddenly didn't in just the time it took to drive to the gate?

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moe3363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We apologize for the miscommunication on our part, early check in is available, however during the summer season our condos are promised to be ready by 5pm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom condo in Portofino. The view from our room was wonderful. The pools were all nice and clean. We stayed on the 11th floor of Tower 3. We had a beautiful view of the ocean. Our sunrise view would have been great, but the skies were overcast every day.

Helpful hints for future guests:
Each tower has it's own pool for the occupants of that tower. I believe each pool also has a hot tub. The pools and hot tubs all close at 10 P.M. You can take a cooler (no glass) to the tower pools. However you can't take a cooler to the large pool. The pools have a seat around the edge which is wonderful to sit in the pool and avoid the heat. The large pool is in the back overlooking the bay waters. There is normally a band or music playing at the large pool. We realized our last night the large pool has a band or DJ at night. We wish we would have known this early in the week. The entertainment is good and people are normally dancing around the pool. The large pool is lit up well and is a great place to hang out after dark. Keep in mind, no coolers are allowed and the drinks are very expensive. We had 2 buckets of beer and 2 mixed drinks. Our tab was $103. Ouch! The mixed drinks were $15.50 each for a small plastic cup. We didn't do that again!

The resort does have food which also seems overpriced. We cooked in the room or went out to eat. Several great places on the island to eat.

There are blow up toys in the bay water. The bay was very dirty (I assume from the recent flooding). We had no desire to get in the water.

The elevators are very fast which is great.

The kitchens in the rooms are not stocked very well for cooking. The cookie pans were not great quality (1). No skillet for cooking breakfast. It appeared they bought a cheap cookware set to say they had cookware. We asked for more and they brought us a skillet. We also asked for dish towels and dish rags. We were provided 2 dish rags. No dish towel. No pot holders. We went to Walmart and bought some for the week.

There is a cart system to take you around the resort. After we waited at the stop the first day, no one ever came. We walked and finally asked someone. He said they did do it if they had the staff and if you called and asked. He said they were short staffed and couldn't though. It was his job and he was taken off it to hold the door open in the building leading to the pool. I thought it was odd he couldn't drive guest around, but was there to hold the door open.

There is a security guard who scans you in and out every time you leave. Great for keeping others off the property.

This resort is at the end right before the state park. It is not walking distance to the pier, but there is a trolley that runs right in front of the resort very often. We didn't ride the trolley, but saw it several times.

There is a walk way to the beach. Many times the people driving would not stop in the crosswalk. I think they probably need a sign stating there would be a large fine for not stopping. Most people were courtous, but some would fly by like it would kill them to stop.

The beach is covered with rental chairs and umbrellas. Kind of frustrating to find a spot while carrying all of your beach materials. There is a booth set up with kayak rentals and large float rentals. The staff of the booths were very nice and friendly. They offered to help every day with our beach wagon. They also have staff that comes by several times a day to take drink and food orders on the beach. It was very nice although we never ordered any. If you have ever been to an all inclusive in Mexico, it will remind you of the staff of those resorts coming by to check on you. The resort does not have lifeguards at the beach. The ocean was rough most of the time while we were there. We did have a couple of days where the surf was nice and the water was crystal clear. The beach was pretty dark at night, but there were normally several sets of people out so we always felt safe and comfortable.

The condo have a grill on the balcony. We loved this! We went to Joe Patti's and picked up some fresh seafood. We cooked in the room most of the time. It was great because we work so much we do not get to do this at home too often.

We would definately stay here again. The rooms were very comfortable and we had a great family vacation!

Room Tip: The odd number towers are closer to the ocean. The even numbered towers are closer to the bay and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FrankieHawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortofinoIsland, Marketing Coordinator at Portofino Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We’re happy to hear of your pleasant vacation with us and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
4.2 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,214 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,340 reviews
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,752 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
957 reviews
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
Travelodge Pensacola Beach
#10 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Island Resort

Address: 10 Portofino Dr, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2465
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range: £194 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Portofino Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Island Hotel
Portofino Island Pensacola
Portofino Pensacola Fl
Portofino Island Resort Spa
Portofino Is Resort
Pensacola Portofino Condo
Beach Pensacola Portofino
Portofino Island Resort Pensacola Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing