We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family vaca”
Review of Peg Leg Pete's

Peg Leg Pete's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Shelbyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“family vaca”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

was a little pricey but staff was friendly & helpful. food was fantastic!!!!! will go back and cant wait to do so. atmosphere was great!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,759
    931
    291
    85
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most Excellent Seafood I have Eaten”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

If you can get over the long wait, we waited about 1 hour and 15 minutes, but it is well worth it. I had the stuffed Grouper, and it was some of the best Fish I have ever eaten.

Great Atmosphere, had a fun band playing. Its right on the water next to nice expensive boats.

We will definitely go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Misleading Menu”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Went for lunch with my wife and infant daughter. Asked the server for ice waters for the adults and a plain water to fill my daughter's sippy cup. She brought out 2 plain waters, no ice. Otherwise, she was great. Fish chowder was excellent and gumbo was OK. I got the Key West salad and my wife got the Grouper salad. Grouper salad specifies iceberg blend. Key West salad states "Fresh Greens". I expected spinach, arugula, etc. Nope. Same iceberg mix. And 5 of the 6 tomatoes between the 2 salads were rotten. Me notified the manager about the tomatoes and expressed our disappointment with the salad descriptions. The salads were still good and we ate them so we did not expect nor ask for any discount. But the manager removed the salads from our bill which was a nice gesture. So we just gave that $25 to our server who was 3 months pregnant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank DestinLocal850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Late Lunch at Peg Leg Petes”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stopped in for a late lunch mid week. We were seated after a short wait around the oyster bar and the servers were helpful in finding a place reasonably convenient for my mobility impaired mother. We had a hi-top in the covered outdoor area which was cooled by fans. We ordered the tuna dip appetizer, that was served attractively on a large plate with lettuce and tomatoes. It was delicious. My Grouper BLT was very good - a huge portion of fish very well prepared. My sister had a fish sandwich - no bacon and was equally impressed. Mother had peel and eat shrimp. Everything was very tasty and efficiently served by the wait staff. An excellent lunch!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcscrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Ate dinner with my niece and she ate everything on her plate. The food was great and the atmosphere was great too. Will eat there again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caveman7570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peg Leg Pete's also viewed

Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
Pensacola Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Peg Leg Pete's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing