We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THINK TWICE, especially if you have kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel seems to want you to think that they cater to the family crowd. Things like the location and the lazy river are enticing to families with kids. However, after staying there 5 nights, it seems they are more interested in bringing in the party crowd.
At the check in desk they display a sign saying they are a 100% smoke free property. This was important to us because we have children with asthma. However, we were unable to use the pool at times because of the smoking. We even approached the front desk about it and were told that smoking is allowed in the pool area. How could they display a sign declaring themselves a smoke free property?
We paid to stay on the ocean side and had a balcony. However, they allowed groups of young people to sit in the pool area into the morning hours smoking and drinking. We couldn't even enjoy our balcony and view because we had to be breathing their smoke and listening to them party. On other nights, there were people smoking on the balconies of their '100% smoke free property' rooms which meant we got to enjoy that smoke on our balcony too!
Also, at 6 am one morning, we were awakened by the fire alarm. Apparently a water line had broken and set it off. We were evacuated and it was rough to be out in the parking lot in pajamas with kids, no shoes, cold, etc. Once we were allowed back in no one apologized, not one word was uttered to us about it. Again, it was unfortunate to be treated this way after paying so much.
The day before we left, we began having to drip our way in and out of the cold lobby in order to sign in and sign out for pool towels.
Two days of our stay we had difficulty getting our room cleaned. One of those days, it wasn't cleaned at all. Even having left specific daily requests for towels, we had to contact the front desk and request (and wait...) for more. Repeatedly. Also, our sheets were not changed properly.
It's a minor thing but the fridge in the room doesn't have a freezer section. It's just inconvenient when you want to pack snacks for kids.
The breakfast buffet was good but a little pricey. But they had excellent service.
In the end, this hotel had a lot of potential. However, the bad starts to outweigh the good after a while.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Dear BenM393,

Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was very upset to learn of the problems you encountered during your recent visit here at the Holiday Inn Resort. We pride ourselves on providing superior service and accommodations, but we failed to deliver and I sincerely apologize.

I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you and see that your comments have been addressed and taken seriously.

Please contact me on your next visit so that I can personally make sure your stay is an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,

Charlie Allen, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,662)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,469 - 1,475 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We liked it so much in June, we decided to come back and see if it was still just as great... the weather, of course was alittle chillier...but the place was still as great as ever. Negatives about going in October...the pool is too cool to swim in (outdoor pool).... but the kids swam indoors. The place was really quiet... sometimes it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Pensacola is a neat little town, but i would recommend coming in the warmer months... because alot of the restaurants and bars close down during the week in October ...and are only open on the weekends. We were able to go to our usual favorite spots...sidelines, flounders and papas pizza...they were all still open during the week. The hotel house keeper did a better job this time on coming around the same time every morning..last time it was more sporatic and unpredictable, but it was alot busier at that time too. She did a great job cleaning our messy room too. The gulf waters are great this time of year... so nice and warm... we had a problem with very big jelly fish while we were there...but they were so big...you could dodge them... and never heard of any jelly fish stings the whole time...and they were everywhere... Still, the water was crystal clear and beautiful, and we caught a few baby hermit crabs and made some great memories...We plan to be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Some restaurants and attractions are closed in Fall and Winter Months...call ahead to make sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Good afternoon vabbey,

Wow!!! Very excited to hear that you enjoyed us so much this summer that you came back for round 2 so soon! Memories are timeless for sure and we're honored to be a part of yours. Honestly, October is my favorite month here, in Pensacola. Although the pools may have cooled off some, the weather and Gulf temps are near perfect. Yeah, funny about the jellies this time of year, they're BIG but seldom ever sting. Just a minor annoyance. I do hope to see y'all again soon and be sure to check our Facebook page, as I'll be posting last minute, "off season" specials from now 'til March. Safe travels and thank you again.

Sincerely,
James E. Crowder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After reading reviews on this hotel as well as many others in the Pensacola Beach area we decided to stay here. We had booked two rooms and the two ladies at the front desk, Tracy and Mary (I think) were extremely helpful. They asked if we'd like our rooms on the same floor and worked VERY hard to get us together. Mary even showed us the Queen and King rooms so we could decide which one to take. Around 6am on the first morning there, a water pipe broke and set off the fire alarms. We evacuated the hotel and learned what had happened very quicky. We were able to return to our room within 30 minutes. The only inconvenience was that my husband was on business so he had no water for a shower! They did reduce our bill by $50 for the inconvenience. The hotel was the cleanest I have stayed at in a really long time and had a beautiful pool and beach area. The only con to our trip was eating breakfast in Riptides. No one ever came to take our drink order and when we finished eating we walked up to the front to ask how to pay our bill. Apparently we had a server but she just never came to us. Overall, this was a great trip and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Sound side rooms have a beautiful view and I would definitely recommend this if you have small child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2011

Good morning Leigh C,

I'm so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us, despite a few minor inconveniences, which I deeply apologize for. Obviously the water pipe bursting was something we weren't prepared for but the experience in Riptides will definitely be addressed and I'll make sure we're more on our toes for your next visit.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

James E. Crowder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We recently traveled as a group of 30 to Pensacola Beach and selected the Holiday Inn Resort for our stay. I would like to say that the hotel itself was lovely and the amenities were great! We enjoyed the pools, beach and the on site restaurant. We were all in agreement that their restaurant had some of the best hot wings we had ever tasted. The breakfast buffet was hot, plentiful and delicious as well. Our rooms were spacious, decorated beautifully, comfortable and spic & span. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel were helpful and courteous, especially Marie at the front desk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine H, AGM at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for your review, we have been a little busy over the last 5 years. I am so sorry it took us this long to acknowledge you. Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is just splendid. The staff is great, the room was clean and had a great view, the pools were terrific. The beach is beautiful and the hotel restaurant had a wonderful breakfast buffett. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The seventh floor view was great of pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Good evening "Mary Stew",

Thanks for your review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and our new resort. As you could probably tell, we're most proud of it. We definitely hope to see you back again soon.

Sincerely,
James Crowder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Really enjoyed our first stay at this hotel this weekend. Requested high floor on check in, only 4th available - but once we checked in realised there are no dud rooms on the Ocean side - all have nice views of pools / sea. Staff freindly and low key. Rooms very clean. Ours was also disabled access which I think made it a bit wider - it certainly felt very spacious. Also requested late check out - but none available - Sunday morning so I think the trick is to ask early. Did not detract from the stay, we spend the whole day at the beach and left around 6pm. Room rate felt a little steep, but the comfort for me of having a confirmed room with balcony / sea view made it worth it.

Room Tip: Get ocean view and high floor. Lower floors get noise from fountains etc from the pool. Higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Good evening "James B",

I do apologize for not being able to accommodate your higher floor request. I do hope, as you mentioned, your view was most definitely not a "dud" even at only the 4th floor. I agree, "there are no dud rooms". Late check-outs, we do try to honor as many as possible. This just depends on our expected arrivals, on that day and how many have already been requested. We are more than happy to hold your luggage for you and let you enjoy the beach or our amenities as long as you'd like. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
James Crowder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here as part of a business trip. The hotel is very nicely located on via de Luna right on the beach. Rooms are spacious, clean and offer great views of the bay or gulf. my only complaint is that the in room amenities (towels, toiletries etc.) seemed to be straight from a low cost motel. Internet and parking are free, breakfast is not included in room rate.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasmine H, AGM at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for your review, we have been a little busy over the last 5 years. I am so sorry it took us this long to acknowledge you. Please visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,777 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
960 reviews
3.5 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach

Address: 14 Via De Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range: £87 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort on Pensacola Beach, Florida, will make you feel happy from the moment you set your flip-flopped foot inside our door. We’re here for you, offering the amenities you need to plan the perfect vacation – or host the best business meeting. From your private balcony or the terrace of our ample 10,000 square foot event space, take in dazzling views of the sparkling waters and shimmering sands of Pensacola Beach – recently named No. 5 of all U.S. beaches by TripAdvisor. Its natural beauty is offset by our bright, modern lobby and stylish, comfortable guest rooms – including colorful Kids’ Suites designed with your family in mind. We’re all about fun here at the Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach hotel, and you’ll feel it from the front desk to the pool deck. Our pool is the best on the beach, with cascading waterfalls and a 250-foot seasonally heated Lazy River. There’s no reason to leave the resort, with Riptides Sports Grill and Beachfront Tiki Bar serving up delicious dining and crafty cocktails seven days a week. If you do decide to get out, we’re within walking distance of the beach’s best restaurants, nightlife and activities including charter fishing, paddle boarding, sailing, kayaking and biking. We’re also a quick drive to regional attractions such as the National Naval Aviation Museum, Fort Pickens, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Historic Downtown Pensacola, Pensacola Lighthouse, Blue Wahoos Baseball Stadium, Veterans Memorial Park and the Saenger Theatre. No matter what you like to do, we can point you in the right direction. When you start your day with a smile on your face, there’s no telling where it might take you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel Pensacola Beach
Beachside Resort Pensacola
Beachside Hotel Pensacola
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing