We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel right on the beach”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband and I spent five great relaxing days at the new Holiday Inn Resort on Pensacola Beach in Sept 18th to Sept 23rd 2011. Upon arrival we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful ladies at the front desk. I had requested a high floor and told them that my husband was celebrating his birthday that week, we were giving a high floor as requested and we also got an end-room which was really nice because from the balcony you were looking directly at the beautiful white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico but if you looked off the end to your right you also had an excellent view of the Bay across the street. The hotel is brand new and very clean with a Miami Beach Art Deco look. The lazy river was wonderful and relaxing. I did not eat at the restaurant but the young male bartender was very friendly and nice and the wine selection was good and well priced. The hotels location was perfect you really did not need to drive anywhere, as there were lots of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. I wish I could remember the names of the two ladies at the front desk because every morning when I went down for coffee and got off the elevator which was directly across from the front desk they always greeted me with a big smile and a nice hello. The only negative was one morning when I went down for coffee there was a male manager who seemed to be doing something with the computerized register who although I know he saw me ignored me so I had to wait until I saw a nice waitress who got my coffee he did turn around once and glared at me. I guess he is not a morning person. Despite grumpy I still give the hotel 5 stars because the rest of the staff was very nice and the Hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: Request an end room for a view of both the Gulf and the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunatuna4574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Good afternoon Lunatuna4574,

We are most delighted that you love our beach and our new resort. We're most proud of our property and it definitely shows. I do apologize for "grumpy". Sometimes terrible how modern "convenience" can damper one's mood. Ha! I'm sure this display is not his typical disposition. We look forward to having you as our guests again and hope you bring your family and friends. Take care.

Sincerely,
James E. Crowder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,043
    355
    108
    35
    18
See reviews for
747
414
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Kids eat free at Rip Tides in the lobby. Good burgers. The Game Room is very small but the kids still had fun.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlnAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Good afternoon AlnAustin,

Thanks for the review. Sweet and to the point! Always glad to hear. We look forward to seeing y'all again.

Sincerely,
James E. Crowder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed as a group (about 10 rooms) last week-end for my parents 50th Anniversary and the Holiday Inn Resort was wonderful! You have easy access to the beach or the lazy river pool. And the lazy river pool was so much fun that people of our group who never typically get into the pool, even got in, hopped on a tube and floated around. Lots of fun for our kids, our selves and our parents - allowed for all generations to hang in the pool together. The tiki bar outside was great and the bugers there are huge and the nachos with BBQ were delicious. Every staff member we interacted with was wonderful. The rooms were very clean and the A/C blasted cold air, which my husband greatly appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Good afternoon Pam B,

Awesome to hear from you! I believe you were with the Dotter Anniversary Party? I'm so glad you chose us to be a part of your special occasion. I understand the surprise went off without a hitch. Very glad to hear you enjoyed our resort and Pensacola Beach so much. We definitely look forward to having you as our guests again.

Sincerely,
James E. Crowder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had a great vacation at this hotel. We had great service from the manager and front desk personnel. This hotel is very clean and bright - the pool area is beautiful and it is a short walk to the beach. We will definitely return here on our next Pensacola vacation!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reesie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Good afternoon reesie98,

I'd like to personally thank you for your post and choosing the Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach. Am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year, if not before. Keep checking our Facebook page for "off season" specials, we'll be running now through March. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
James E. Crowder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel seems to want you to think that they cater to the family crowd. Things like the location and the lazy river are enticing to families with kids. However, after staying there 5 nights, it seems they are more interested in bringing in the party crowd.
At the check in desk they display a sign saying they are a 100% smoke free property. This was important to us because we have children with asthma. However, we were unable to use the pool at times because of the smoking. We even approached the front desk about it and were told that smoking is allowed in the pool area. How could they display a sign declaring themselves a smoke free property?
We paid to stay on the ocean side and had a balcony. However, they allowed groups of young people to sit in the pool area into the morning hours smoking and drinking. We couldn't even enjoy our balcony and view because we had to be breathing their smoke and listening to them party. On other nights, there were people smoking on the balconies of their '100% smoke free property' rooms which meant we got to enjoy that smoke on our balcony too!
Also, at 6 am one morning, we were awakened by the fire alarm. Apparently a water line had broken and set it off. We were evacuated and it was rough to be out in the parking lot in pajamas with kids, no shoes, cold, etc. Once we were allowed back in no one apologized, not one word was uttered to us about it. Again, it was unfortunate to be treated this way after paying so much.
The day before we left, we began having to drip our way in and out of the cold lobby in order to sign in and sign out for pool towels.
Two days of our stay we had difficulty getting our room cleaned. One of those days, it wasn't cleaned at all. Even having left specific daily requests for towels, we had to contact the front desk and request (and wait...) for more. Repeatedly. Also, our sheets were not changed properly.
It's a minor thing but the fridge in the room doesn't have a freezer section. It's just inconvenient when you want to pack snacks for kids.
The breakfast buffet was good but a little pricey. But they had excellent service.
In the end, this hotel had a lot of potential. However, the bad starts to outweigh the good after a while.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear BenM393,

Thank You for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I was very upset to learn of the problems you encountered during your recent visit here at the Holiday Inn Resort. We pride ourselves on providing superior service and accommodations, but we failed to deliver and I sincerely apologize.

I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you and see that your comments have been addressed and taken seriously.

Please contact me on your next visit so that I can personally make sure your stay is an enjoyable one.

Sincerely,

Charlie Allen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We liked it so much in June, we decided to come back and see if it was still just as great... the weather, of course was alittle chillier...but the place was still as great as ever. Negatives about going in October...the pool is too cool to swim in (outdoor pool).... but the kids swam indoors. The place was really quiet... sometimes it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Pensacola is a neat little town, but i would recommend coming in the warmer months... because alot of the restaurants and bars close down during the week in October ...and are only open on the weekends. We were able to go to our usual favorite spots...sidelines, flounders and papas pizza...they were all still open during the week. The hotel house keeper did a better job this time on coming around the same time every morning..last time it was more sporatic and unpredictable, but it was alot busier at that time too. She did a great job cleaning our messy room too. The gulf waters are great this time of year... so nice and warm... we had a problem with very big jelly fish while we were there...but they were so big...you could dodge them... and never heard of any jelly fish stings the whole time...and they were everywhere... Still, the water was crystal clear and beautiful, and we caught a few baby hermit crabs and made some great memories...We plan to be back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Some restaurants and attractions are closed in Fall and Winter Months...call ahead to make sure they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Good afternoon vabbey,

Wow!!! Very excited to hear that you enjoyed us so much this summer that you came back for round 2 so soon! Memories are timeless for sure and we're honored to be a part of yours. Honestly, October is my favorite month here, in Pensacola. Although the pools may have cooled off some, the weather and Gulf temps are near perfect. Yeah, funny about the jellies this time of year, they're BIG but seldom ever sting. Just a minor annoyance. I do hope to see y'all again soon and be sure to check our Facebook page, as I'll be posting last minute, "off season" specials from now 'til March. Safe travels and thank you again.

Sincerely,
James E. Crowder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2011

After reading reviews on this hotel as well as many others in the Pensacola Beach area we decided to stay here. We had booked two rooms and the two ladies at the front desk, Tracy and Mary (I think) were extremely helpful. They asked if we'd like our rooms on the same floor and worked VERY hard to get us together. Mary even showed us the Queen and King rooms so we could decide which one to take. Around 6am on the first morning there, a water pipe broke and set off the fire alarms. We evacuated the hotel and learned what had happened very quicky. We were able to return to our room within 30 minutes. The only inconvenience was that my husband was on business so he had no water for a shower! They did reduce our bill by $50 for the inconvenience. The hotel was the cleanest I have stayed at in a really long time and had a beautiful pool and beach area. The only con to our trip was eating breakfast in Riptides. No one ever came to take our drink order and when we finished eating we walked up to the front to ask how to pay our bill. Apparently we had a server but she just never came to us. Overall, this was a great trip and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Sound side rooms have a beautiful view and I would definitely recommend this if you have small child...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIRPB, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Good morning Leigh C,

I'm so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip with us, despite a few minor inconveniences, which I deeply apologize for. Obviously the water pipe bursting was something we weren't prepared for but the experience in Riptides will definitely be addressed and I'll make sure we're more on our toes for your next visit.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

James E. Crowder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,611 reviews
3.4 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
Address: 14 Via De Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort on Pensacola Beach, Florida, will make you feel happy from the moment you set your flip-flopped foot inside our door. We’re here for you, offering the amenities you need to plan the perfect vacation – or host the best business meeting. From your private balcony or the terrace of our ample 10,000 square foot event space, take in dazzling views of the sparkling waters and shimmering sands of Pensacola Beach – recently named No. 5 of all U.S. beaches by TripAdvisor. Its natural beauty is offset by our bright, modern lobby and stylish, comfortable guest rooms – including colorful Kids’ Suites designed with your family in mind. We’re all about fun here at the Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach hotel, and you’ll feel it from the front desk to the pool deck. Our pool is the best on the beach, with cascading waterfalls and a 250-foot seasonally heated Lazy River. There’s no reason to leave the resort, with Riptides Sports Grill and Beachfront Tiki Bar serving up delicious dining and crafty cocktails seven days a week. If you do decide to get out, we’re within walking distance of the beach’s best restaurants, nightlife and activities including charter fishing, paddle boarding, sailing, kayaking and biking. We’re also a quick drive to regional attractions such as the National Naval Aviation Museum, Fort Pickens, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Historic Downtown Pensacola, Pensacola Lighthouse, Blue Wahoos Baseball Stadium, Veterans Memorial Park and the Saenger Theatre. No matter what you like to do, we can point you in the right direction. When you start your day with a smile on your face, there’s no telling where it might take you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel Pensacola Beach
Beachside Resort Pensacola
Beachside Hotel Pensacola
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing