We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Style Beach Front Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort this past weekend as a last taste of summer before heading back to school. I think because school has started or is starting it wasn't as busy as it looked a couple of weeks ago when we stayed at another local hotel which was great for us. Our kids 7 & 9 LOVED the lazy river/pool area. They also enjoyed the tiny game room. I definitely feel that the resort is geared towards families with younger children. There are kids activities throughout the day near the pool including a water balloon toss, pirate "show", and swimming with a mermaid.

The room we were assigned was ready when we arrived early so it was nice to be able to check right in. It was clean and with two queen beds and a small balcony was just enough room for our family of 4 but we didn't really spend much time in the room anyway. It was clean when we returned from our day at the pool too.

The Tiki bar is nice for walk up drinks and there are also servers that circle around the pool to see if you want to order drinks which was nice when we just wanted to lounge while the kids swam. On the beach you can rent chairs/umbrellas from Lazy Days Rentals and charge it to your room. They even rent a catamaran which my husband took out several times when the wind conditions were right. Also, when we were there they had their "dive-in" movie which is a blow up movie screen near the pool.

On the down side, Riptides, the sports bar in the lobby, was a little on the slow service side. I ordered a take out meal of a PBJ kids meal for my daughter and pulled pork tacos for myself and it took close to an hour for it to ready. We kept checking back in and at one point were told they were on a delay but it wasn't clear what was causing it since I only saw one table in use at the restaurant - maybe they had a lot of room service orders? Also, I'm not sure that a family with older teens or a couple would enjoy the hotel as much as we did.

There are some other restaurants within walking distance (within .5 mile) so if the weather is nice it would be worth it to venture off the property. We had a great breakfast at Native Cafe.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGrieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of our resort. I wanted to respond to the wait times you described about Riptides food service first. I don’t feel we do a good job explaining to our guests that we serve the entire resort from Riptides, all of the pool deck area, Tiki Bar and as you mentioned room service for 206 rooms. We treat every lounge chair as a table and serve everyone outside. Our food sales in season are 65% outside as an example. That means you may not see a table inside but there could be 30 outside. I still apologize for the wait times and we are working on that. We want to be the best at everything we do I promise.
Please come back soon because we get better every day. Exciting news for the resort is that we are currently heating our Lazy River pool and will be ready for the winter.

Warm regards,
Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

854 - 860 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The good points:
1. Staff very polite, helpful (especially Tracy). Both of my grandsons were stung by jellyfish and Tracy provided vinegar for the affected.
2. The establishment was very clean.
3. Excellent location.
4. Perfect access to the beach.
5. Very family friendly.
6. Beautiful infant/children & adult pools.

The bad:
1. Restaurant inside the hotel prices are expensive for the size of portions.
2. Quality of food is poor.

***Food is better across at the Native Cafe.***

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and also for writing your review. I appreciate that you commented on so many positive areas of our resort especially the friendly staff. We are blessed to have all of them. I’m sorry you were disappointed in Riptides but will make sure they are aware of your critique. We always try to be better.

Warm regards,
Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Dorian at the front desk was professional and courteous, and very helpful with all our questions. Others on staff were also hospitable, checking if we needed anything. We enjoyed the beach and the lazy river/pool. Peg leg Pete's and the Native Cafe turned out to be good choices for dinner and breakfast. My only reservation about the hotel was less-than-perfect cleaning job on the shower and shower head. Overall, very pleasant stay and comfortable beds.

Room Tip: We had bay rather than beach side. The view was still beautiful but realize there is no balcony. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TimVal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I apologize for housekeeping and will make sure there are conversations to improve their daily service. We hope you will come back for more fun in the sun on beautiful Pensacola Beach soon.

Warm regards,
Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Pros - Absolutely beautiful view of the ocean, great location. The pool area was excellent, the lazy river added alot of character to the pool area. The restaurant was very convenient for eating. The Best part was the attitudes of the all of the employees. They were ALWAYS friendly, and very helpful. They recommended a restaurant called Peg Leg Peats. Some of the best seafood I've ever had. They had a good activities during the day for kids, Ping Pong table, Large Jenga game, and 2 very good hot tubs. Get a room with a balcony, they are great. We were on 11. They show a great cartoon Disney style movie every night by the pool. Although we did not watch any of them, It was a fantastic Amenity. If you like wraps, they had good wraps and otherwise good food in the on site restaurant.

Cons - The breakfast, which was $13.00 per day if you did not buy in advance was nothing to write home about, it was about the same as a regular hotel along the highway. The housekeeping department vacuumed our room one time in our 6 day stay. We had to go track them down one day to ask them to clean our room. The room is very expensive, which may be pretty standard for that place. We used booking.com and the average night stay was right at 300.00 per night. The pop machines on 11,10,9 did not work and the far stairwell was absolutely filthy when I had to go from 11 to 8 to find a pop machine that worked. I did report this to them and they said they would work on it. The Milkshakes were excellent, the problem is that they were $7.11 for a 16-20 ounce cup

Although this is a family hotel, it would have been great to have a server come and get drink orders both adult and Soda type drinks rather than have to go to the Tiki Bar each time.

Room Tip: Only get a room that faces the ocean, the balconies are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing our resort. I promise you we want you to love everything we do. Therefore, we will continue to review every comment we receive and make improvements to all areas of our operation. The good news is that we have the best staff on the beach. Please come back soon.

Warm regards,
Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This a great family hotel. Traveled from Ft. Beach to Pensacola for a short 2 day vacation with my wife and 11 month old daughter. The room was spacious and clean. I was a little surprised there were no mattress or box spring encasements to protect against bed bugs, dust mites and bodily fluids Everyone was so friendly. The pool is fantastic but people start laying towels on chairs early in the morning and then leaving. After an hour or so almost all the chairs are taken, yet the pool is almost empty. They should have a rule about that. Just a little irritating but that will not stop us from returning. The onsite restaurant, Riptides, has amazing burgers!

Room Tip: All hotels rooms are loud near the door. We brought a noise machine to help drown it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DestinLocal850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business and hope you always choose our resort when coming to Pensacola Beach. The encasements you spoke about are being placed on all our bedding. Come back soon.

Warm regards,
Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel was so great, we couldn't leave! We called the front desk and requested another night. Seriously, we did! Our room was booked but we packed up and moved across the hall:-) It was the "Best Vacation Ever!" That's a quote from my kids! This hotel has it ALL! Location, Quality, Service and Value! We had a quiet, clean, spacious balcony room. The beds were comfy/cozy and the pillows were exceptional! We added the breakfast buffet for all us and it was so Yummy! I can't think of anything it was missing! You can eat inside or poolside and the staff was awesome! Fast, friendly, courteous and always smiling! The location of this hotel is... Drum roll please! PERFECTION! It was just beautiful....white sand, clear water and a clean beach. The beach access was perfect, just a short walkway across and you're there! The outside shower/rinse area was great to wash off the beach before you jump in the pool. The pool had a "splash pad" area and the Lazy River was the BEST! You can swim, float or in my case, chase your kids through it! My daughter swam with a mermaid, how cool is that?! A daily schedule was posted in the lobby for kids activities and an evening movie by the pool. The pool area was clean, well maintained and staffed. The island has lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance or you can take the trolley.(4-midnight) If your looking for more chain restaurants or a bigger grocery store, it's just a short drive over the bridge to Gulf Breeze. We traveled to downtown Pensacola and visited a Lego exhibit at the MFA and to the Naval Museum and watched the Blue Angels air show. We also took a quiet drive down the east end of the island at sunset...spectacular! Go to the visitors center and see what you want to see, there's something for everyone! Big shout out to all of the staff for making our stay the Best Service Ever! Pool: Zach, Mike C and Kaylee. Riptide: Alex, Sam, Allison, Christina, Lauren, Alexis and Paul. Special thanks to Michael, restaurant manager, for personally stopping by our table to ensure we enjoyed our visit. Front desk: Dorian, Nilla and Tracey. Housekeeping/Maintenance: Oscar. Thank you, thank you, thank you for all you do! We'll be back, you can count on it!

Room Tip: Floor seven, balcony view, two queen beds, spacious, clean, quiet, beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Wow. We love you. Thank you for mentioning the staff members because that means so much to them. They work very hard and deserve the praise. All I can say after that review is come back very soon for much more of the same. This is paradise and we look forward to you and family coming back.

Warm regards,

Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel is amazing and we enjoyed our stay. The lobby is very nice and kept clean at all times (even with folks coming in from the pool or beach). There are daily activities for the kids (of all ages) such as coloring contests, face painting, hula hoop contests, pirate party, swim with the mermaids, etc. The hotel is right on the beach and has a private walk-out. The view from our gulf front room was amazing and worth the savings (as opposed to beach front with balcony). Our mini-fridge was not working when we arrived, however, the issue was resolved within minutes of notifying the front desk. Check in was fast and friendly and Tracy was very helpful with any questions I had.

There is (1) restaurant on-site at the hotel, that I was not impressed with. After an extremely long wait to receive our order, we were disappointed with the food.
There is a Chic-Fil-A, McDonalds, and some other local seafood restaurants near by. There is also a Walmart right down the street.

Overall we were very satisfied with the hotel and would recommend staying here with children.

Room Tip: You have the option of gulf front or beach front. None of the gulf front rooms have balconies, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetotravel886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of the kid friendly tag we have earned over the years. I will be reviewing the restaurant comments with the staff as they normally do a great job. Please come back very soon for more of the good stuff.

Warm regards,
Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
722 reviews
3.4 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach

Address: 14 Via De Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range: £76 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort on Pensacola Beach, Florida, will make you feel happy from the moment you set your flip-flopped foot inside our door. We’re here for you, offering the amenities you need to plan the perfect vacation – or host the best business meeting. From your private balcony or the terrace of our ample 10,000 square foot event space, take in dazzling views of the sparkling waters and shimmering sands of Pensacola Beach – recently named No. 5 of all U.S. beaches by TripAdvisor. Its natural beauty is offset by our bright, modern lobby and stylish, comfortable guest rooms – including colorful Kids’ Suites designed with your family in mind. We’re all about fun here at the Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach hotel, and you’ll feel it from the front desk to the pool deck. Our pool is the best on the beach, with cascading waterfalls and a 250-foot seasonally heated Lazy River. There’s no reason to leave the resort, with Riptides Sports Grill and Beachfront Tiki Bar serving up delicious dining and crafty cocktails seven days a week. If you do decide to get out, we’re within walking distance of the beach’s best restaurants, nightlife and activities including charter fishing, paddle boarding, sailing, kayaking and biking. We’re also a quick drive to regional attractions such as the National Naval Aviation Museum, Fort Pickens, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Historic Downtown Pensacola, Pensacola Lighthouse, Blue Wahoos Baseball Stadium, Veterans Memorial Park and the Saenger Theatre. No matter what you like to do, we can point you in the right direction. When you start your day with a smile on your face, there’s no telling where it might take you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel Pensacola Beach
Beachside Resort Pensacola
Beachside Hotel Pensacola
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing