We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Tinggi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tanjung Sutera Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Johor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Weekend stay with family,two adults and 3 children.View from the dinning area is excellent.We booked a suite with 5 single bed..room are spacious and clean..a bit rustic but fine with me.Nearest village is 5km away,only one petrol station so need to go early if not it will be sold out in the evening.Food is delicious..too much for my opinion.Staff is honest,I have drop my phone in the room and checkout,only realising it when at home,called and contact receptionist..they call back few minute later that they have found it and keep for me.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank helmet0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    17
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

this is a good place for those who like to experience staying in a kampong or village. Day time, you can have activities like canoeing in a small pond, go across the pond with the ropes. At night, you can sleep earlier because the room does not has TV and telephone. Outside the room is full of darkness. There is no radio provided, at night you can enjoy the sound from the mosquitos, crickets and croaking frogs throughout the whole night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oversea_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Took the J173 coastal road instead of the usual Kota Tinggi way. Enjoyed the ride from Tj Balau, head north to Tj Sedili. Stop at certain stretch of the road to enjoy the beach view. The resort is easy to find as there is sufficient signage, together with a simple map provide by the management.

I have to thank the management and staff, first and foremost for the free upgrade to Sea-View room. Being the only guest on my first day there, I really do enjoy the view and serenity. Spent the day sitting at the window and reading and enjoying the strong breeze for almost the whole day.

Food wise is acceptable, as I am not too fussy over it. But the portion is a little too much for me. Friendly and helpful staff. The resort and the rooms are quite clean and neat.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aThng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

it is quite a challenge to find this place, from Kota Tinggi you got to head north east towards the small fishing port of Tg Sedili, from there cross the bridge to Kg Sembayong, drive slowly and you will see a sign pointing to Tg Sutera Resort, but you have to drive through a plantation and just follow the sign, many times we wondered are we on the right track !

The rooms are like chalets spread over the grounds, with decent lodging and air-conditions, it is rustic and definitely not luxury, so you may wish to adjust your expectation before coming.

One of the best things about this resort is of cos the fabulous South China Sea view, totally unblock from restaurant, swimming pool and the cliff side.

I won't say its a romantic place, but definitely more for group of friends outings, as night time can be really boring unless you are on honeymoon and plan to make best out of it.

Sadly, there isnt a decent beach down the cliff, i find it rather dirty and definitely not inviting at all. Go somewhere nearby better.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank plwh888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

As other reviews mention the sea view of the rocky coast from the pool is very nice and the extensive grounds that are gradually being renovated have some interesting structures and nice unique local features. (and my husband saw a cute wild black boar on the beach!)

But the standard room we stayed in seemed pretty overpriced for what normally we have paid a fraction at similar quality backpacker places in Tioman. An older room with a noisy little aircon that cooled worse than a fan would and sheets that did not smell washed.They had no record of my 3 day reservation even though I exchanged a few emails with the owner(away) and did not honor their original price list I was sent unless maybe I was misled into thinking the price of 75 sing dollar a night + meals per couple room was only for one person. The resort attendent, though a decent guy, seemed challenged by our unexpected appearance and having to suddenly arrange for our simple meals of noodles and pancakes catering to singaporian chinese tourist tastes which we were expected to pay for a la carte.(only other guests were a group of young singaporeans maybe staying in the dorm with their own food etc and doing elaborate wedding photos at the pool) Also be warned it is cash only and even though the address is listed as Kota Tinngi this is about 50 km from Kota Tinngi (about an hour not cheap taxi ride). My husband and I enjoyed it once for one night but would probably not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frogorchestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Read all reviews about this place from this site before arriving. Perhaps a bit over rated! No doubt the sea view from the dining hall balcony was awesome. No doubt the food served was good for the price paid. Staffs in resort were also helpful and polite.
The room that i stayed in was not to my expectation. An eerie feeling of ants crawling all over you is literally what i experienced. Over night, a small heap of sand/debris accumulated over a crack on the floor. out of this crack, came ants from all its rank and file. Right from its king, queen to foot soldiers. insecticide spray was provided to fight off this intrusion. Alas, they were not easily cowed. next target was the sink and bath tub. tooth brush left next to sink was invaded by the ants. clothes at bath tub were swarmed by ants. Again insecticide spray to the rescue. have second thoughts if i want to wear the same clothes again even after washing them thru and thru.
The area where food is served and its surrounding ie the small pond with japanese carp and fragrant pandan leaves is an ideal place to sip coffee and chit chat or read a book.
Will i come back again? yes ...if the management do some upgrading of the rooms and perhaps send the anti pest to make the room liveable. so much potential as a fantastic getaway.
by the way, the rocky beach below can do with some gotong royong to clear the rubbish strewn all over. perhaps offer a free stay to some volunteer groups in return for their cooperation to do the clearing up.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lchJohore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I chance upon this resort while looking at google map after exhausting all other options due to fully booked hotels in popular destinations during the recent long CNY weekend. Which was in fact a blessings in disguise. I stayed for a night on the 11-12 Feb 2013. I was really lucky to find they had one room left on such short notice especially since the only way to book the hotel was by emailing them straight.

We stayed in the seaview room, which was really fantastic coz it was facing the open south china sea. We left the windows open to welcome in the seabreeze and did not use the airconditioning. The swimming pool is just 5m away from the room with a nice view of the sea if you just want to read a book and suntan. Next to the pool is the restaurant where we had our dinner and breakfast. Dinner was about RM15 for a plate of fried rice, with egg and chicken wing. A tad costly but it tasted really good, especially the tomyum soup. Breakfast cost us RM10 per person for a plate of nasi lemak, free flow of tea, coffee, juice and toasts.

There are other options to find cheaper food like in the near by village. Turn left when you leave the resorts compound. It is about a 3min drive. We had some roti canai and teh tarik for only RM3.

Activities wise, you can always explore the villages (it is a fishermen's village), go fishing or walk along the volcanic rocks coastline, during low tide, to look at organism that flourish in that habitat or an eco walk (ask the reception for more info). You can also drive to Temalah beach (5mins drive) for a picnic or a swim (do note that the waves can be rather strong).

The staff there are really sincere and friendly especially one of the staff named Kanang. He was the one who checked us in at the front desk, took our order at the restaurant, became our waiter during dinner and once i saw him bringing a guest around the resort to show him around. Amazing.

From the moment we emailed the resort, through out the stay and even when we leave, the hospitality of this resort is really brilliant. A great break, away from the city life. Definitely worth more than one visit.

Room Tip: The seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank filfelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Tinggi
27.5 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
21.0 mi away
Kota Rainforest Resort
Kota Rainforest Resort
#6 of 10 in Kota Tinggi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
20.9 mi away
Mayres Hotel
Mayres Hotel
#7 of 10 in Kota Tinggi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 3 in Bandar Penawar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
20.3 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Sutera Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Sutera Resort

Property: Tanjung Sutera Resort
Address: Lot 901 Jalan Besar, Kota Tinggi 81910, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Kota Tinggi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Kota Tinggi
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tanjung Sutera Hotel Kota Tinggi
Tanjung Sutera Resort Kota Tinggi, Malaysia - Johor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing